Customer Reviews for

A Cowboy's Touch

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "A Cowboy's Touch"

    Abigail is a reporter who needs time off due to health problems, but she doesn't want to let her story go. Her mother and sister (her doctor) force her to take three months off and go Montana to visit her Aunt Lucy, maker of dolls. Montana holds a lot more for Abigail than her zany Aunt Lucy. Rest and relaxation seem to be the order of the day when she meets Maddy and Wade, but is that true? Maddy is an eleven year old girl whose mother died when she was five. Her father, Wade, is a very good looking cowboy hiding from something in Montana. Abigail becomes Maddy's summer nanny and the interesting sparks between Wade and Abigail begin to fly. Then Abigail find out that there are problems with "Viewpoint," the magazine she writes for. Is there anything she can do to help? What really happened to Wade's wife? What is he hiding/running from? Will Abigail fall in love with him, or will she keep digging for a story until she "out's" him? Is Aunt Lucy just an eccentric old lady, or does she have Alzheimers? "A Cowboy's Touch" has a lot to offer a reader. It has an interesting story to keep you reading and characters that seem like friends. This wonderful story will have individuals and groups alike discussing topics like: high blood pressure, learning to rest, letting God have control, "running," Alzheimer's Disease vs. quirkiness, and more. Thank you, BookSneeze Program, for the opportunity to read this book and give it an unbiased review!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Unforgettable Love Story with An Untouchable Cowboy!

    Abigail Jones is what most people would consider a work alcoholic, spending way to many hours working as an investigative reporter for her mother's magazine Viewpoint. Compromising her health with hypertension which also took the life of her father, Abigail's mom insistent she take a long leave of absence. A three month leave!

    Her mother worries that her Aunt Lucy who lives in Moose Creek, Montana may be ready for convalescent care talking about people living with her that don't exist. Abigail is asked to spend her three months learning to relax and evaluate the health of her aunt.

    What she doesn't expect is to take on a summer job as a nanny for Madison, a 12 year old whose father Wade Ryan runs a busy cattle ranch. Will Abigail heal more than just one broken heart during her summer in Montana?

    I received the latest book, A Cowboy's Touch by Denise Hunter, compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review. This one captured my heart in a span of an evening. I love the character of Abigail who I can relate to that has a tendency to stay busy even at the risk to her own health. This is a story of hope and restoration in the lives of all the characters that are touched by Abigail's presence during a summer leave on a Montana ranch.

    This book is available in paperback, hardcover, and eBook formats.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ethics Conflict Makes Great Story

    The title of A Cowboy's Touch by Denise Hunter sounds like it would be an old-fashioned western. Instead, it is a contemporary romance set in Montana. Abigail, who is used to the big city of Chicago, is sent out to Montana to de-stress and check on her elderly great-aunt. Wade, the cowboy in the title, is a widower who has run from his past, and is caring for his young daughter, Maddy.

    Through an unlikely set of coincidences, Abigail volunteers to serve as a nanny for Maddy over the summer. Anyone who has read Denise Hunter's other books knows that this will not be a typical widower/nanny romance. Ultimately, Abigail must face a difficult ethical choice involving Wade and the family business.

    This story does a fine job of illustrating how Christians and non-Christians wrestle with ethical issues in our daily lives. It is enjoyable and easy to read, yet thought-provoking and insightful. I highly recommend it.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Denise Hunter's Best Yet!

    Cowboy stories....I LOVE them! Steamy ones, and good ol' fashioned sweet, clean ones like this. Any book with a hunky cowboy in it is one that will win my heart in a heartbeat! Plus, I LOVE Denise Hunter's work. She has a knack for creating tenderly written stories filled with fun loving characters to keep her readers hooked. And, like with her others, this one hit home.

    This sweet story is one of her best yet. It is filled with sweet characters like Abigail and Wade, Abigail's Aunt Lucy-bless her heart, and Wade's adorable fun loving daughter Maddy. When Maddy's bike is stolen, Abigail vows to help the sweetheart find it. Then Wade, Maddy's dad, hires Abigail as a live in Nanny.....and the fireworks start. It's obvious that these two can connect....for everyone but them! I really loved watching these two grow to know each other and to fall in love. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple touch of a cowboy to see what God has planned.

    God's love, forgiveness and redeeming grace are strong in this 5 star novel. I loved it and I highly recommend it to all. It will leave you laughing at times, smiling at others, and just simply happy to have found another FANTASTIC Denise Hunter novel to add to your collection. Well done Denise! I can't wait for another one like this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Excellent Read!

    A few hours is all it took to read my through this book once I received it in the mail today! I have eagerly been anticipating it's arrival, I love reading about cowboys, ranches and Montana! "Abigail is just in Moose Creek, Montana for the summer to temporarily care for her great aunt. But a tender-hearted cowboy beckons her to stay." In the beginning, we learn of Abigail's life in the big city, she is truly a city girl at heart. Imagine her surprise when her mother demands she takes a leave of absence from her job, and sends her off to Montana for 3 months to assess her great aunt's sanity! Circumstances soon have Abigail working as a nanny to little Maddie, who is in desperate need of a mother figure. It doesn't hurt that her dad, Wade, is a celebrity in hiding! Through out the 3 short summer months, we follow along as Abigail soon becomes Abby, and she winds her way in to the heart of those she has come to love. Through miscommunication, truth seeking, and false misgivings, can love conquer all? A Cowboy's Touch, a Big Sky Romance, is a fast read and will leave you wanting to know when the next book will be available! Denise Hunter paints vivid pictures through her word usage, and you almost feel like you are riding the range on one of the horses from the ranch...the wind blowing through your hair, laughter surrounding you, and maybe, even a cowboy close on your heels! I give this book 5 stars and highly recommend it! **I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    This is the best romance book ever!

    This is the best romance book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book! Can't wait for the next in the series. Enjoy Denise Hunter's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Amazing

    I love romance and a cowboy in it makes it 3 times better.I love the book i wish the authur would make another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Wonderful love story!

    The love scenes in the book are so clean, but yet passionatley in the real love since. I am becoming a big fan of Denise Hunter very quickley. Read this book in about 2 days. Could not put it down! Great book for romantics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great buy and read!

    Lovin it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I am loving this book - it is a true pleasure to read. Such a fun premise with lots of questions and heavy issues underneath it all - I really enjoyed this book to the last page. I am glad that this is the beginning of a new series for Denise, it looks like it will be a great one!
    Abigail takes a forced trip to Montana to visit her Aunt Lucy for the summer because she is supposed to be relaxing and taking a break from her job as an investigative reporter. And just when she isn't looking for it, the biggest story of her career lands in her lap and she doesn't know what to do with it when her heart gets tangled in the middle. This book had me turning the pages, and fast, and I was sad when it was over - definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A Sweet Romance

    A Cowboy's Touch by Denise Hunter is the latest novel from this award-winning and best-selling author. Get ready to travel to the wide open spaces of Moose Creek, Montana with Abigail Jones, an investigative reporter, also known as Truthseeker. Her mother, the editor for Viewpoint Magazine in Chicago, sends her daughter on a personal assignment for three months to care for her great-aunt.

    Abby quickly discovers her neighbor, J.W. Wade Ryan, a handsome, single, cowboy, raising his young daughter Maddy. When he suddenly is in need of a nanny, Abby accepts the position. But Abby's journalistic skills go into motion when she learns that Wade has a secret that forced him into isolation. Abby has a secret, too, tucked away since childhood. Will love unveil the truth?

    You will not want to miss reading this book. If you love the country, the rodeo, or just a great romance, you will enjoy this book. I love all three and give this Woman of Faith novel for 2011 two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    As the first book in the Big Sky Romance series, A Cowboy's Touch is the story about a truthseeker who ends up discovering the real truth and a cowboy who learns to let go of his past. Hunter shines as she draws her readers into an intriguing world of boots, chaps and cowboy hats. This heartwarming romance is a story of love, pain and forgiveness. It has also been named a Women of Faith novel for 2011.

    My Thoughts:
    Abigail Jones is considered a work alcoholic, she has lost her Dad at a young age from Hypertension and now she is having the same symptoms.
    When word comes that concerns her Mom about her Aunt Lucy's health, she convinces Abby to take a break and check her out. So Abby ends up in Montana!
    When she arrives she finds her Aunt a bit eccentric and a little forgetful, but really doing ok. What she doesn't expect to do, but ends up doing is becoming a Nanny for Madison, a 12 yr old whose Dad Wade Ryan runs the cattle ranch.
    You will have a hard time putting this book down, it is a really good read. Love how the Character's need to trust the Lord and forgive themselves.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from of B & B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    you need to check this book out if you love cowboys

    Abigale Jones lives in Chicago and is a reporter for her mom's magazine "Viewpoint". She works way too much as has high blood pressure and a lot of headaches. Her sister is a doctor and she tells Abigale that she need to slow down, but her mom had to just make her take a leave from the magazine and to go to Moose Creek, Montana to check on her great aunt. Her dad had died because of high blood pressure and they were trying to take care that she did everything she was suppose to do in order for that not to happen to her.

    When she gets to her great aunt's house there is not place for her to sleep except on an old sofa, so when the opportunity comes alone for her to be a nanny for the summer to a little girl just up the road she takes that. As she and Maddy grows close, Abigale begins to really like the "Big Sky Country". Maddy had lost her mother before she and her cowboy dad moved from Texas to try to leave old memories. She needed a woman figure in her life as every summer she had a new nanny and that was very upsetting for her. Maddy's dad Wade Ryan owned a large ranch and was busy all the time so he couldn't spend the time with her as she needed.

    Everything was going alone great until Abigale's reporter nose found a story that she could not turn down as the future of "Viewpoint" was in trouble, so even though she was suppose to be resting she was still trying to save the magazine. Then everything begin to fall apart, with her and the new friends she had made in Montanna.

    I loved this book, it has everything in it that a reader like myself loves. Denise really did a great job with writing it.



    Thanks so much to The B and B Media group for sending me this book for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    You can't put this book down. Get this book it is as good!!

    A Cowboy's Touch I love this book! I got the book on Friday and just finished it. I had a real hard time putting it down. The book is about a famous rodeo star (Wade Ryan) hiding on a ranch in Montana (I even love the name of the ranch it is called Moose Creek.) to have peace from fame. He lives with his daughter Maddy and is a widower. The main character Abigail Jones is sent by her mother and boss for three months to check on her dad's favorite aunt Lucy (who happened to live on the ranch). Her mother really wants her to relax because she is a workaholic. Her sister who happens to be Abigail's doctor let the cat out of the bag to Abigail's mom that she was having health issues. So it is off to Big Sky Country for Abigail. While there she meets Maddy when Maddy's bike is missing. Maddy needs a nanny so Abigail decides to take the position when it comes available mostly for the fact Aunt Lucy's house has no internet and Aunt Lucy mentioned internet was in the big house on the ranch. The chemistry between Wade and Abigail is a bit romantic but neither wants to go there for different reasons. I have never read any of Denise Hunter's books before. I can't wait to read more of her books. This book is also a Women of Faith book and has a reading group guide in the back. I enjoyed that as well. Denise Hunter makes me want to move to Moose Creek. I recommend this book. I will say that if you get this book be prepared you might find your self staying up to read past your bed time. You really have a hard time putting it down.I give it five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    A Great Cowboy Love Story

    Who doesn't love a good cowboy story? I know I certainly do, especially when it's a love story! This novel by Denise Hunter is no exception.

    When the stress of her job as an investigative reporter threatens her health, Abigail Jones is forced to take a leave of absence. Her mom, who is also her boss, sends her to visit her great-aunt who lives in a small town in Montana. Moose Creek, Montana is quite a change from Abigail's fast paced life back in Chicago. Though she initially thinks she will be bored out her mind and that her time in Montana will be miserable, Abigail begins to fall in love with the town and its people. One of these people is a little girl named Maddy, whose father just happens to be one of the most handsome cowboys Abigail has ever met, Wade Ryan. As Abigail begins to develop a relationship with Maddy and Wade, she discovers that he is running from his past. Will she ever get to know the real Wade Ryan? Can he ever let himself get over the past and love another woman? The pages of this novel answer these questions and more.

    When I finally got the time to sit down and read this book, I was wrapped up in the story. From the descriptions of the characters to the descriptions of the setting, I wanted to be in Moose Creek, Montana and be a part of the story of Abigail, Wade and Maddy. This book combines a love story with a bit of mystery regarding Wade's past. I stayed up way too late turning the pages of this book so that I could finish reading this beautiful love story; I just couldn't tear myself away.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2