BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cowboys & Aliens

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

AWSOME

its just AWSOME o.k.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gud

Not good movie worst

posted by 8904920 on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    AWSOME

    its just AWSOME o.k.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    recommend

    worth reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    A decent read.

    I hope the movie does a better job with the book than the book does fo itself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Gud

    Not good movie worst

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Click on

    U guys r my kind if u like dese kind of books.so hose 11 years old,a girl and wants a girlfriend?whoevee does,call dis number 347 813 6674

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sci-fi Western? Interesting variation on well travelled sci-fi r

    Sci-fi Western? Interesting variation on well travelled sci-fi road of the War of Worlds. In it, the techno-advanced vicious alien invadors are opposed by the standard crew of Wild-West caracters : cowboys, outlaws, Indians. sheriffs, gunfighters etc. The Well's original work of the genre to me is still by far the best and most powerful, but this book is not bad : thrilling, intense, romantic, heroic, everything your 13 yr old nephew will want for his bithday. Not much sci in this fi, but give it a try! I grade the books as Buy and Keep (BK), Read Library book and Return ( RLR) and Once I Put it Down I Couldn't Pick it Up ( OIPD-ICPU). This one is a RLR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    awesome

    ?....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Decent reag

    The book is worth your money if you like this kind of stuff. But if you dont dont buy this. The book kept me wanting to read more about what is going to happen next. Iwached the movie but in my opion i thought that the book was WAY better. But yes worth buying and reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    People are a crazy

    The movie was the best!!!!!!!!!
    The book i have not read yet but i will

    And i bet its better then the book because it has more details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exactly like the Movie

    Cowboys and Aliens by Joan D. Vinge is a novelization of the movie that came out in theaters in July 2011. If it hadn¿t been space month on the blog, I don¿t know if I would have normally picked out this book as I don¿t generally like seeing a movie before I read the book. However, I gave Cowboys and Aliens a try because I really enjoyed the movie and thought for sure I would enjoy the book. So for this review, I¿m going to do a book vs. movie comparison.
    The Movie

    Cowboys and Aliens the movie stars Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, Olivia Wilde, and many other great actors. I love all three of these actors and felt they all played their part exceptionally. I was particularly impressed with the transformation of Daniel Craig¿s British accent to a Western accent. He also fits in seamlessly to the Western setting and the cowboy look. Harrison Ford is awesome as usual. He pulls off the grumpy old cowboy persona very well. His character¿s voice is grizzled, well weathered, and fantastic and in many scenes he steals the show.

    Olivia Wilde¿s character is also great but I wish the movie had gone more in depth with her. Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford¿s characters were clearly defined and unfortunately her character was not, which is at no fault to Olivia Wilde. Her character, as it was written, is the one that I felt made the movie a little hokey. If they had given her a little more background, I might have accepted or understood her character better.

    The movie combines the Western and Science Fiction genres well to create a completely original storyline. Overall, the movie is a fun ride that is unlike anything else in Hollywood at this time.
    The Book

    As indicated above, I listened to the audiobook and I highly recommend it. The narrator, Fred Berman, is phenomenal and does amazing voices for every character, and I really do mean every character. The author, Joan D. Vinge, is also talented and she does a wonderful job painting the settings, describing the action scenes, and putting the reader in the characters¿ shoes.

    With that said, the book is pretty much exactly the same as the movie. The book does provide more details than the movie and the reader gets a little more information on the characters¿ backgrounds. Since I felt the movie lacked a little on the character backgrounds, I was glad to learn more about them and to see things from their perspective. However, there is not a lot of extra detail that the movie doesn¿t generally cover. I particularly wanted to learn more about Ella¿s character as she has a lot of mystery surrounding her. Unfortunately, the book did not deliver what I wanted. I understood her character better from the book but not a whole lot more.
    The Winner

    If you are trying to decide between reading the book or watching the movie, I recommend watching the movie over reading the book. Gasp! This is probably the first time that I thought a movie was better than the book. My reason for the recommending the movie is mainly because they are one in the same. Only the movie tells the story with great actors and tons of special effects and explosions. The story is also written for the big screen and I think that¿s where it should stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Lame

    This movie sucked i would never recommend it the plot is slow and lame and i just hot lost:(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Next to thor best movie of the summer

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2