BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cows, Pigs, Wars, and Witches: The Riddles of Culture

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Lost

    Gets great concepts, but gets lost in his own subjective reasoning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Q

    It was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple and Engrossing

    Cows, Pigs, War and Witches is a simple read for any beginner to cultural anthropology while being utterly engrossing at the same time! Marvin Harris explains cultural riddles in a very succinct and easily understandable manner, and in a way that captivates one's interest! I particularly love how he discusses Jesus and allows you to read an account of his life/crucifixion that is not readily available elsewhere. The way one chapter continues to support the next also makes for a fun read, however, you can read each chapter individually (out of sequential order) and it is just as enjoyable. This is a book to own and re-read over the years. It is full of interesting facts that explain historical questions and thoroughly fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    If you are interested in cultural anthropology...this book by Marvin Harris is an excellent introduction to why things are the way they are. The explanations are succint - results: become more well-rounded and informed re the world around us.

    Whether you are a college student who is in an anthropology major or an idividual who is interested in why things are the way they are...this book by Marvin Harris is a great way to get started. I highly recommend this book and if reading it makes you want to learn more...give The Choking Doberman, The Vanishing Hitchhiker etc. a read...urban legends are an integral part of our cultural. Find out what a FOAF is and their importance in keeping urban legends alive. If you are tired of novels that have a paticular theme and the same type characters...read something that is not fiction and will educate, enlighten and entertain at the same time. A new world of interest is easily opened by starting out with Cows, Pigs, Wars and Witches!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    Comprehensive Anthropology

    A good place to initiate oneself with the study of human behaviour is with Marvin Harris. Easy to read and understand, as well as possessing a wonderful story-teller attitude, Marvin Harris may not always be correct yet is always well researched and logical to a fault. Sometimes the author's personal opinions get in the way towards the end. Great for all levels of interest, from novice to expert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2000

    Buy this book.

    I was assigned this book in my cultural anthropology course when I was at Penn State and I'm mighty glad I was. Harris makes a lot of sense, more sense than the old ways of thinking about culture, about who we are and why we do the things we do. He does not claim that his views are the 'be-all/end-all,' just that they are more logical than previous explanations of cultural standards, values, and ways of doing things. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1