Customer Reviews for

Coyote (Coyote Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

After a lifetime of reading Sci-Fi, I have found a gem among so few out there...

Allen Steele's Coyote not only combines space exploration with the right amount of hard science, fact, and fiction; he develops rich characters that stay with you in your mind long after you've shut the book.

The book combines politics on a small scale (the books cha...
Allen Steele's Coyote not only combines space exploration with the right amount of hard science, fact, and fiction; he develops rich characters that stay with you in your mind long after you've shut the book.

The book combines politics on a small scale (the books characters flee from political tyranny and oppression to start a new world light years away; a space version of our very own forefathers who struck out on the Mayflower and hit Plymouth Rock) with the determination of people trying to survive. It isn't chock full of happy endings, nor is it tragic throughout...it is a slice of life. One thing that can be said about the politics they run away from (the kind that round people who disagree with the administration and put them in detainment camps); it was written during the time when our constitution was being dragged through the mud after 9/11; but the author shows you both sides of the coin; how tyranny can come from either end of the political spectrum...which you find later on in the book.

There are so many sub-stories within stories...points of view switched, but without confusion. It is startling how amazing and entertaining this novel is. There is one character, early on after flight begins, that although tragic, is a testament to the writer's work itself.

As a writer and one who works in acting, reading plays and developing characters (and publishing, as a day job), I found it to be seamless in its imagery and dedication to simplicity while telling a wonderful tale.

I wrote the author from his email at his website (just google him, it will come up; dunno if I put a website if they will delete this review) to let him know that his book was amazing (even if he'd written it 7 or 8 years ago) and within a day he wrote me back; a kind man who was happy to have a fan's appreciation.

Please read this book no matter what your preferred genre...it's worth it.

posted by Billychic on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good to see "harder" SF emerge again

It's always good to see new authors who can still achieve success in the SF genre. We see entirely too much fantasy masquerading as science fiction. A series like Steele's Coyote novels gives me hope that SF still lives.

Having said all that, I hesitate to offer cr...
It's always good to see new authors who can still achieve success in the SF genre. We see entirely too much fantasy masquerading as science fiction. A series like Steele's Coyote novels gives me hope that SF still lives.

Having said all that, I hesitate to offer criticism. However, potential readers deserve honest reviews. My first criticisms are concerning the lack of research in 3 critical areas: Military, Science, and Planetary Ecology. While Mr. Steele makes some efforts in these areas, they fall short. Scientific story lines are abbreviated and just plain wrong, in some instances. In addition, the military scenarios are not well thought out or developed. The same may be said for the scenarios based on the moon Coyote's ecology. Mr. Steele could benefit from collaboration with experts in those fields. I was glad to see that his bibliography of sources has expanded with each novel published. It's definitely a step in the right direction.

Those of you reading this will probably call these criticisms "nit-picking"...and to a certain extent, you would be correct. However, those types of details are what really make a book more entertaining and aid readers in that Holy Grail of authors: the suspension of disbelief.

My only other comment is regarding the author's political views. I would not mention this had he not purposely injected them into the story line. Mr. Steele has rather aggressively incorporated into this series a political theme of secular liberal progressivism. There is no mention of religion travelling to the stars with his colonists. Marriages are performed by Justices of the Peace. Spouses are never referred to as "husbands" or "wives", but rather as "mates". Additionally, gay marriage is inserted into the storyline, beginning in "Coyote Frontiers". So-called "Green" philosophies are also incorporated in this series. Global Warming on Earth is in the process of rendering the colonists' homeworld inhabitable.

All of these political views would be of no moment, were it not that Mr. Steele has made them a central part of his fiction. To his credit, he has fictionalized both radical conservatism and radical socialism as equally flawed when taken to their extremes. As a confirmed agnostic and a political independent, I make no judgement on his political viewpoint. However, the fact that he felt the need to inject them detracts from the storyline, and is worthy of mention to prospective buyers/readers.

I have only read the first 3 books of the Coyote series. However, I would still recommend them to science fiction fans. Even though the series seems to be trending into more fantastical areas (advanced technology acquired through a miraculous "chance" encounter with alien species, as one example), these 3 novels represent real value to SF readers.

posted by Degas on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Good to see "harder" SF emerge again

    It's always good to see new authors who can still achieve success in the SF genre. We see entirely too much fantasy masquerading as science fiction. A series like Steele's Coyote novels gives me hope that SF still lives.

    Having said all that, I hesitate to offer criticism. However, potential readers deserve honest reviews. My first criticisms are concerning the lack of research in 3 critical areas: Military, Science, and Planetary Ecology. While Mr. Steele makes some efforts in these areas, they fall short. Scientific story lines are abbreviated and just plain wrong, in some instances. In addition, the military scenarios are not well thought out or developed. The same may be said for the scenarios based on the moon Coyote's ecology. Mr. Steele could benefit from collaboration with experts in those fields. I was glad to see that his bibliography of sources has expanded with each novel published. It's definitely a step in the right direction.

    Those of you reading this will probably call these criticisms "nit-picking"...and to a certain extent, you would be correct. However, those types of details are what really make a book more entertaining and aid readers in that Holy Grail of authors: the suspension of disbelief.

    My only other comment is regarding the author's political views. I would not mention this had he not purposely injected them into the story line. Mr. Steele has rather aggressively incorporated into this series a political theme of secular liberal progressivism. There is no mention of religion travelling to the stars with his colonists. Marriages are performed by Justices of the Peace. Spouses are never referred to as "husbands" or "wives", but rather as "mates". Additionally, gay marriage is inserted into the storyline, beginning in "Coyote Frontiers". So-called "Green" philosophies are also incorporated in this series. Global Warming on Earth is in the process of rendering the colonists' homeworld inhabitable.

    All of these political views would be of no moment, were it not that Mr. Steele has made them a central part of his fiction. To his credit, he has fictionalized both radical conservatism and radical socialism as equally flawed when taken to their extremes. As a confirmed agnostic and a political independent, I make no judgement on his political viewpoint. However, the fact that he felt the need to inject them detracts from the storyline, and is worthy of mention to prospective buyers/readers.

    I have only read the first 3 books of the Coyote series. However, I would still recommend them to science fiction fans. Even though the series seems to be trending into more fantastical areas (advanced technology acquired through a miraculous "chance" encounter with alien species, as one example), these 3 novels represent real value to SF readers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    After a lifetime of reading Sci-Fi, I have found a gem among so few out there...

    Allen Steele's Coyote not only combines space exploration with the right amount of hard science, fact, and fiction; he develops rich characters that stay with you in your mind long after you've shut the book.

    The book combines politics on a small scale (the books characters flee from political tyranny and oppression to start a new world light years away; a space version of our very own forefathers who struck out on the Mayflower and hit Plymouth Rock) with the determination of people trying to survive. It isn't chock full of happy endings, nor is it tragic throughout...it is a slice of life. One thing that can be said about the politics they run away from (the kind that round people who disagree with the administration and put them in detainment camps); it was written during the time when our constitution was being dragged through the mud after 9/11; but the author shows you both sides of the coin; how tyranny can come from either end of the political spectrum...which you find later on in the book.

    There are so many sub-stories within stories...points of view switched, but without confusion. It is startling how amazing and entertaining this novel is. There is one character, early on after flight begins, that although tragic, is a testament to the writer's work itself.

    As a writer and one who works in acting, reading plays and developing characters (and publishing, as a day job), I found it to be seamless in its imagery and dedication to simplicity while telling a wonderful tale.

    I wrote the author from his email at his website (just google him, it will come up; dunno if I put a website if they will delete this review) to let him know that his book was amazing (even if he'd written it 7 or 8 years ago) and within a day he wrote me back; a kind man who was happy to have a fan's appreciation.

    Please read this book no matter what your preferred genre...it's worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Space Travel is Back!!!

    I realize this book and its companions have been out for quite some time now and I am just beginning to appreciate Allen Steele. The first book , Coyote, is fantastic. The writing is good, the imagination is better and the storyline is the best. I have both of the companions coming and can't wait to read them both.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    I liked it very much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Realistic!

    I like all kinds of science fiction but this is the kind if sci-fi I really like. In many books space travel is 'POOF'! and you are in another galaxy thanks to gates, wormholes, etc. In Coyote the colonists traveled in biostasis at 20% the speed of light. Realistic! I enjoy books where people from our planet travel elsewhere, colonize another planet, and what they discover and have to endure once they get there. Coyote is an excellent example of that. I will definitely be buying the next two books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome

    Easily one of the best Sci-fi books I have ever read. If you like this genre, get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Recommended!

    If you like hard scifi, not too technical, and a really good story, read this one, and others by Steele. The man can really write!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    Nearly Perfect

    One of best books I've read in a long time. There definitely needs to be a part two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    SF THAT'S VERY BELIEVABLE

    I HAVE BECOME VERY ENGROSSED IN THIS AUTHOR. "COYOTE" IS HIS FIRST WORK THAT I HAVE READ. I AM NOW READING "CHRONOSPACE" WHICH IS JUST AS CUTTING EDGE.HOWEVER "COYOTE" IS LIKE ONE DAY ASIMOV AND HEINLIN DECIDED TO GET TOGETHER SO THEY COULD CHILL W/ HEMINGWAY.THIS AUTHOR PACKS SUCH A STORY INTO CLOSE TO 400 PAGES. THIS IS A SPACE EPIC THAT DRAWS FROM HISTORIC DETAILS. THE STORY UNFOLDS IN THE YEAR 2070A.D. THE COUNTRY THAT WE AT PRESENT KNOW AS "AMERICA" W/ A DEMOCRACY FOUNDED BY BLOOD AND GUTS IS NO LONGER. THE COUNTRY HAS BEEN RESHAPED INTO A SORT OF TOTALITARIAN NATION, NOW THE UNITED REPUBLIC OF AMERICA. THIS NEW REPUBLC HAS PRETTY MUCH BANKRUPTED THE ECONOMY BY CREATING AN INTERSTELLER CRAFT KNOWN AS THE ALABAMA. CHOSEN TO PILOT THIS CRAFT AND ITS PILGRAMS TO A STAR SYSTEM (47 URSAE MAJORIS WHERE COYOTE A MOON W/ AN OXYGEN ENRICHED ATMOSHPERE ORBITS A JOVIAN LIKE WORLD SIMILAR TO SATURN 2.1 A.U.'S FROM THE AFORMENTIONED STAR) 47 LIGHT YRS FROM EARTH IS CAPT. ROBERT E. LEE. OH YEAH AND THE CREW WILL SPEND AROUND 230 YRS IN BIOSTASIS, W/ THE SHIP MOVING AT 20% LIGHT SPEED. HOWEVER LITTLE DOES THE REPUBLIC REALISE THAT LEE WILL HIJACK THE ALABAMA IN ORDER TO BRING ABOARD SOME OF THE MOST BRILLIANT MINDS IN SCIENCE NOW KNOWN AS D.I.'S (DISSIDENT INTELLECTUALS) THESE D.I'S ARE ROUTINLY ROUNDED UP BY THE NEW GOVERENMENT AND SENT TO RE-EDUCATIONCAMPS ONE OF THEM KNOWN AS THE PAT BUCHANAN CAMP. FINALLY, LEE W/ THE AID OF JORGE MONTERO THE SHIPS ELECTRICAL ENGNEER, IS ABLE TO ESCAPE THE TYRANY OF THE NEW WORLD ORDER W/ THE D.I.'S NOW ON BOARD. AND THIS IS THANKS TO A COMPUTER CHIP MONTERO DESIGNED TO OVER-RIDE A PRESIDENTIAL ENCRYPTON CODE NEEDED FOR THE FINAL LAUNCH SEQUENCE. HOWEVER THE "REPUBLIC" HAS NOT YET HAD ITS LAST SAY IN THE MATTER.THREE MONTHS INTO THE MISSION ONE OF THE CREW IS ACIDENTALY REVIVED OUT OF BIOSTASIS THINKING THEY HAVE ARIVED. HOWEVER WHEN LES GILLIS SEE'S THAT THE OTHERS HAVE NOT YET BEEN REVIVED, THIS SHIPS SENIOR COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER NOW REALISES SOMETHING DUBIOUS IS AFOOT.W/OUT ANY FURTHER SPILLNG OF THE BEANS, THIS NOVEL EMBODIES MANY IDEAS OF HISTORIES GREAT MOMMENTS. EVERYTHING FROM PLYMOUTH ROCK, TO LOUIS AND CLARK, TO JUST TRYING TO ESCAPE OPPRESSION. STEELE HAS DONE A CLEVER JOB WEAVING INTO ALMOST 400 PAGES A STORY THAT WILL KEEP YOU TURNING THE PAGES. EVEN ROBERT JOHNSON (THE GREAT DELTA BLUES GUITARIST) IS RANDOMLY THROWN INTO THE MIX, AS IF THIS BOOK WASN'T COOL ALREADY.IN ESSENCE, THIS IS THE S.F. GENRE WITH A TOTAL HUMAN TOUCH, AND BELIEVABLE TECHNOLOGICAL ADVANCES IN THE LATTER 21ST CENTURY THAT COULD MAKE A VOYAGE OF THIS MAGNITUDE VERY PLAUSIBLE IN THE VERY NEAR FUTURE.FINALLY, IN CLOSING; I'M BEING SPECULATIVE, HOWEVER, I SMELL A SEQUAL IN THE MAKING, SO PLEASE MR. STEELE, WE YOUR ADORING READERS BESEECH YOU TO START WRITING BOOK II, COYOTE IS NOWHERE NEAR DONE. OH AND ALLEN YOU ROCK!!!!! THANKS FOR ALLOWING ME MY SAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Interstellar thriller

    In the twenty-third century, the United States is no longer the home of the free. In fact it is no longer the United States since Pacifica and the New England states are separate nations. What is left of the once proud country is the United Republic of America, a fascist right wing country ruled by the Liberty Party. It is a nation where dissidents are placed in reeducation camps and the party¿s young are encouraged to enroll in youth hostels where they are indoctrinated to believe the propaganda as gospel truth. <P>As a testament to it¿s glory, the party has funded the starship Alabama, a one hundred billion dollar space ship that is to send one hundred supporters to colonize a habitable planet. Thanks to the bravery of key personnel the ship is successfully skyjacked by dissidents who plan to form a colony based on the radical concept of democracy. So begins the story of the Founding fathers and mothers. <P>COYOTE is a rousing tale of revolutionaries starting over on a new planet much the way the pilgrims started over in the New World. The characters are well drawn, complex and totally believable as they escape a police state to pioneer an uncharted planet. Allen Steele has written a fine work that appeals to the patriotic spirit. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2