Customer Reviews for

Coyote's Mate (Breeds Series #18)

Average Rating 4.5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Coyote's Mate by Lora Leigh

Lora Leigh's latest Breed book will singe your fingers and leave you begging for the next story set in her world of hybrid human-animals and the women (and men) they love. "Coyote's Mate" gives readers their first deep look at the Coyote breeds and their similarities a...
Lora Leigh's latest Breed book will singe your fingers and leave you begging for the next story set in her world of hybrid human-animals and the women (and men) they love. "Coyote's Mate" gives readers their first deep look at the Coyote breeds and their similarities and differences from the other Breed groups.

Del-Ray is the Coyote Alpha who survived hell, refused to bend to his human 'creators', and fought his way to freedom taking as many of his kind with him as he could manage. When a young sixteen year old human approaches him with information on a Council coyote lab, he's intrigued by her fire and lack of fear. For six years, he and the human work together to weed out traitors and plot a careful raid and Del-Ray becomes enamored and finally possessive of his human. But when he injures her family in the raid and becomes lost to the mating heat, she turns her back on everything he offers.

Anya is in love with Del-Ray and has been for several years now. But when she realizes he's been lying to her for six years, she's beyond furious...and hurt. Then the mating heat ambushes both of them and her virginity is lost in the fierce haze of mating lust and she panics. Once her fears subside, she quickly realizes there's nothing she won't do to keep her coyote safe...even if that means breaking his trust in her.

Anya intrigued and infuriated me (a lot like she did Del-Ray!) through most of this book. But she does manage to 'put on her big girl panties' and begin acting like a woman and not a child a little less than halfway through the book. Del-Ray is typical of the Alpha breeds, arrogant and clueless about humans...especially human women. Which means that he manages to do just about everything wrong! But it certainly makes for a smoking story.

Seriously hot Alpha coyote sex, murder plots, hilarious 'women things' discussions, and a wonderful happily ever after. If you like Lora Leigh, don't miss this one. If you haven't read her yet...you really don't know what you're missing!

posted by jjmachshev on February 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Lora's best in her breed series

The plot is good but all over the place. The characters are typical. Same eroticism which is good. Unfortunately, Lora's writing in this story is everywhere - did Lora write this or someone else did? I skipped many pages in between because the plot is predictable an...
The plot is good but all over the place. The characters are typical. Same eroticism which is good. Unfortunately, Lora's writing in this story is everywhere - did Lora write this or someone else did? I skipped many pages in between because the plot is predictable and oftern confusing enough that it did not warrant my time to digestion the information.

posted by 366733 on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Lora Leigh is the Hottest author I do believe I have ever read.. Her Breed series is the best. I wish she could come out with 1 a week…Coyote’s Mate is one of my favorites..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Awesome book

    This is one my favorite lora leigh books. I read my paperback so many times I had to replace it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awesome!

    This was one of my favorites in this series! Lots of action, love, steam, etc! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Top breed pick. Loved this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Best so far!

    I'm reading all the breed books in order as listed on Lora Leigh's website. I really thought this one was the best so far. This book dealing with the coyote breed and the unknowns that go with the mating heat adds to the suspense of the story. I found it tough to put this book down. The story grabs you and keeps you eager to find out how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    best of the breed series

    this books is amazing. It's got your romance adventure and action. it's go everything a romantic would want in a book. Lora Leigh is an amazing author and i highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    one of my favorites

    this book is one of the best in the series. It is well written in that not only does it have the erotic portion, it also has a lot of intrigue. Filled with surprises, it kept me on my toes. I laughed, I cried, and didn't put it down until it was through! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Here Come the Coyotes - Breed Fans will Lust After This One!

    Coyote's Mate is my favorite Breed book. I read all the Breed books, one immediately after the other, over the span of six weeks. I started in order (always recommend you do that with a series!!) with the Ellora's Cave books which were steamy, had a basic premise that held me but the story was woven around sex scenes as opposed to the sex scenes being integrated into the story. Still, yummy reads - I can't deny I didn't eat them up. But then came a change in the publishing company and Lora Leigh's Breed books focused more on the story of the Breeds, their pasts, their struggles, their need to build a community and be accepted. I really liked this shift since it draws the reader more into the characters.
    The story of Del-Ray and Anya gives readers their first look at the Coyote Breeds with their similarities and differences from the other Breed groups. Finally the Coyote Breeds are taking their place beside the Feline & Wolf Breeds at Haven, one of the protected Breed communities. Yummy coyotes - starting with the strong Alpha Hero, Del-Ray who is far from my favorite of Lora Leigh's heroes. Though his arrogance is like other Breed males, his disregard for his mate's needs at times is unprecedented. I was often angry with him but assumed his struggles with assimilating into a loving relationship are because of his early life in the Council lab. Still, Del-Ray defines "stupid male".
    Del-Ray survived Council captivity and now rescues others. When Anya approaches him with information on a Council coyote lab, he works with her to eliminate any traitors and plan a raid while steadily growing attached and possessive of her. But as a typical Alpha Breed, Del-Ray's arrogance and cluelessness about women leads him to do just about everything wrong. Herein lies the premise of the entire book.
    How stupid is he? Let me count the ways. first, he lies to her, then he mates with her so forcefully that she is terrified, injures her father, kidnaps her and steals her virginity. Then he leaves her with his pack only to return and claim her, denounces her as his mate and Coya, but expects her to act as his mate in private. This is the part of the story when I threw the book across the room only to quickly pick it up again because the book has great action and mystery which I love. I can't help myself; I want action, mystery and suspense. Coyote's Mate has it all. The story moved fast and every page was a turn in their love story.
    Despite everything they go through, the reader can sense the connection and love between Del-Ray and Anya. Anya is similar to many of Leigh's heroines... young, beautiful, and of course, she's overwhelmed by the loss of control brought on by the mating heat. But here's what I loved about her: Anya was the first heroine to stand up to the hero and walk away to stay true to herself. Her strength was amazing; helping to free the Breeds, stepping into the role of Coya and fighting for her mate while still doing what is right. I found myself wondering if I could've been as strong as she was. Anya intrigued me. And I figured if any woman can deal with a man like Del-Ray it would be her.
    Hot alpha sex, murder plots, suspense, good secondary characters, quick action, the full emotional spectrum and a happily ever after - it's all here. This book is an indulgence. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WELL WORTH READING

    I LUV LUV LORA LEIGH AND THIS IS ANOTHER HIT FOR ME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    another hit for lora leigh

    I truly enjoyed Coyote's Mate it is another hit in the Breed Series for Lora Leigh. The story dives into the charactestics of the Coyote breed that the others do not. I can not wait until she writes Brim story, it is sure to be another hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Breed Rocks!

    The Breed are interesting, sexy, thrilling and thought provoking. How far can DNA research go? Can it's future be controlled? I love the Breed series. The writing is compelling. I could not put the book down until I had finished. I want the next one ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best so far!

    I thought Dawn's Awakening was great but this beat it, I can't wait for Lora Leigh to come out with the next one, she's one of the greatest writers I have ever read. This book keep me on the edge I just couldn't put it down once I started reading it. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    More Breed testosterone and trouble.

    The latest adventure of the Breeds, animal-DNA-created men and women in Lora Leigh's long-running series brings another one of the supposedly souless Coyotes out of the shadows. Del-Rey Delgado finds his mate, but she's only sixteen and years away from being his. But, after gaining Del-Ray's help, Anya Kobrin sees to it that a group of Coyotes are rescued from the Breed labs in Russia, even after seeing her father and cousins killed or injured in the escape.

    Now, the years have passed and Del-Rey and Anya are together, but past betrayals continue to haunt them. Del-Ray makes mistake after mistake in dealing with Anya, yet she continues to be drawn to him, both by the mating heat and her real admiration for his capabilities. But, his need to see to her safety in the violent and dangerous world of the Breeds, pushes him to make a decision which puts her into danger from the both the Coyotes and the hatefilled anti-Breed hunters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    great

    love all her paranormal stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    addicting

    Lora Leigh is a great writer and addicting. I can't get enough of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Coyote's Mate by Lora Leigh

    Lora Leigh has done it again! Another wonderful book
    to add to anyone's Breed library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A sultry book. Lora Leigh can write!

    Her novels are sexy, thrilling and erotic. I know that many people are disturbed by typos but I did not note any in my reading. The story is a continuation of her Breed series. It can be read as a stand alone, however, I really feel that the other stories about breeds adds a lot to the understanding of what is happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good read, very entertaining

    I love this whole breed series , and this one did not disappoint. It ties in well with the others and yet will still stand on it's own if you have never read a book in the series before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9