BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crackback

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    Crackback By: John Coy

    Crack Back<BR/>By: John Coy<BR/>In football there are a lot of terms that are associated with the game, however, there¿s only one thing that comes from the outside and obliterates you if you don¿t see it in time, a crack back block. The book Crackback is written by John Coy and is centered on the main character, Miles Manning. Miles isn¿t the most intelligent person in his grade, yet alone the most stud-knockout boy either, but there is one special talent that pertains to him. He is 5 foot 8 and weighs 155lbs, and did I forget to mention this boy is really good at football which is why he is a starting junior WR at Confluence High School. This is not an ordinary high school football team, it is an extraordinary one that is the favorite to win their division, conference, and go to State¿s and win them too. Now from being a junior and to have those credentials everyone especially his coaches and his dad are pushing him to get to the top of the mountain and reach his full potential by getting bigger, faster, stronger, and tougher. This boy isn¿t finished there, he is then faced with even bigger and tougher decisions from girls to his friends and best one to his family. The type of theme that best fits this book is overcoming challenges, without a doubt. Miles is faced with football, peer pressure, family issues, girl issues, and friend issues. Yet with all these surrounding issues Miles overcome each challenge that he was faced with and each one he overcame was through choosing the right path. The book showed by not being afraid and not giving in you can overcome. Finally, an appropriate age group for this book would be from grades 6 to 9 because they could relate the most to it and really gain wisdom and knowledge from one he was faced with and what to do when these problems occur.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Everything a teenage boy loves sports and girls

    Great quick easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Crav Ctackbak

    Fresh bruhhhhhhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Heading

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Crackback

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Crack Back

    The book I chose to do a review on is called Crack Back by John Coy. It is a book about a boy named Miles Manning that plays football for his high school. There is a Homecoming dance coming up and he has no date to go with.
    Miles Manning is a high school football player looking to go to college for a football scholarship. His dad is very hard on him and tries to make him a great player. Their head coach announced to the team during practice one day that he has lung cancer and will be sitting out this season. All of the players were in shock and could not believe the terrible news. Coach Stahl, their assistant coach, will be finishing the season as the high schools head coach.
    Lucia, a girl that came from Mexico, caught Miles¿s eye the first day she walked in the door at the high school. Miles talks o her a lot and wants her to go to the Homecoming dance with him. He follows her around to the library because he wants to see her. Miles dreams about Lucia while her sleeps. He had never seen such a beautiful girl in his life.
    Miles doesn¿t ask Lucia to the dance and decides to go out with a friend to the park and block cars in with road barriers. He has so much fun until a guy comes out of his car and beats Miles up. He eventually found out that Miles played for the high school and couldn¿t wait to see him there. Miles was really scared to see him out because he would get beaten again.
    Miles found Lucia at the library and asked her if she would want to go on a date with him? She thought for a second before answering with a yes. Miles was so happy to finally overcome his fears and ask her out. They go to the park and sit by the lake to watch the water flow. Miles leans forward, and ¿ kisses Lucia.
    I thought it was a great story for me to read because I am interested in football. Overall, the book was written clearly and painted a clear picture in my mind. I thought that it had a lot of detail to it and never got boring. The climax of the story was great with a lot of detail and felt exciting. I would personally suggest this book to anyone that enjoys sports and how to pick up girls. I LOVED the book and would read it again for the enjoyment.
    This book is great and any sports lover would like this book. I enjoyed the book because of the sports. It was full of suspense and scary moments. At the end, it turned out to be a romantic story. I liked the book all the way through it and never gave up on it. I think that I could read different books by John Coy. He is a great author and I hope he never stops writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Sports fans must read this

    This was a great book!!!!!!!!!!! it really shows the life of a teen and the problems they go through. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    great book

    the book was so much like real life, I finished it in one day, Im probably going to read it a few more times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    For the people who hate to read!

    This book crackback was a really good book in my opinion and i cant stand reading. When i read this book i really got into it and just couldnt stop. I like how this book can relate to alot of youg athletes who are considering the use of steroids and i think they need to read this book because it might make them reconsider ther descision on the matter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Crackback

    If you love sports this is your kind of book. This book is very good for student athletes for young men. This story has the typical teenage boys conflicts such as father son relationships, girls, steroids, and realizing that there is more to life than just the game. Me being a senior in high school i really know how it is to deal with peer pressure and dealing with girls, and playing the game trying to get stronger. Also dealing with homework it's so much, and it is tempting to use muscle enhancements. Every reader is going to love Miles for his humor, his talent, and intelligence. Miles Manning is first team again this year, and he looks forward to a winning season. Little things conspire to make his season less than satisfactory. There's Coach Stahl who never seems satisfied with his plays, rather like Miles' dad who seldom has a kind word. Then, his best friend encourages him to use steroids to build muscle. When Miles doesn't, his friend abandons him. A blown play lands Miles on the second team. But, an interesting assignment on immigration and family genealogy brings Miles back to a sense of himself and to a new relationship with Sam and the lovely Lucia. This was a really great book so i RECOMMEND it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    MUST READ

    Crackback is a awesome novel. Read it. If you don't you'll be sorry. I will personally come to your house and say read this book. That would not be good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Crackback

    Crackback written by John Coy is a realistic fiction book. Crackback was a fantastic book. It was definitely the best book I¿ve ever read. It will make you keep wanting to read it and when its done you¿ll be begging for more. The story of Crackback takes place present day, New York. Most of the time though, the setting is on the football field. Miles Manning, the main character, is pressured into taking steroids from his long time friend Zach. Miles doesn¿t want to take them, but everyone else is so they can get stronger for football. Miles also doesn¿t want to ruin his friendship with Zach because Zach is on a lot of steroids. Miles, who¿s has been getting suckered into taking steroids, meets the girl of his dreams named Lucy who helps get his mind off of the roids. Miles father, who is a very big football fan and player, only wants hard workers and not cheaters and steroids are cheating and Miles knows that. A negative though is Miles favorite coach has cancer and Coach Stahl has to take over. Stahl pulls Miles from the starting lineup and this makes Miles angry and even makes him think about the steroids. John Coy, the author of Crackback, doesn¿t use strong vocab, but easily captures the readers attention. His point of view on sports is defiantly what many people think toady. The author has sentences that flow smoothly and don¿t get you confused. John Coy is a simple, but sweet author. This book is perfect for all football fans. It could be fun for people who like to read and don¿t. You will see how some kids work very hard, but don¿t get what they want. It will also teach you the right thing to do in this kind of situation. This is my favorite book and is an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    This is the best football book ever!!!!!

    Crackback was the best book I ever read. It has everything. It shows you the peer pressure in sports of how you are pressured to become the best you can be. Also it has relationship problems between a kid and his Dad. If you are a sports fan this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    'Marvelous'

    This book was amazing! Crackback shows the reality of what some students are willing to do to win one game and impress people.A great read,I would recommend to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2