BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cracked

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great read

    This book was honestly wonderful. You fall in love with both of the characters within the first few chapters. Very well-written without any boring spots. Recommend for high school age and up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    I read this novel as a part of my senior thesis on bullying awar

    I read this novel as a part of my senior thesis on bullying awareness and prevention and Walton does an amazing job chronicling this horrifying bullying epidemic. She shows both sides of the story, bringing each character to life in a genuine manner. I finished it quite quickly because it was hard to put it down. It's simple, but intimate. You get to know Bull. You get to know Victor. Anyone who's interested in learning more about the causes and effects of bullying should take this fiction chronicle and READ IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone Should Be Reading This...

    This book matters.

    It's a simple as that.

    Bullying is a pervasive issue in our society today and more people need to be reading a book like this. Why? What makes this one special? I have a few reasons why I think this is a stand out. But first, I'll be honest with you... K. M. Walton is a friend, an Apocalypsie and a fellow author at Simon Pulse. I sort of wish this wasn't true because there will be many people that assume that my respect and love for CRACKED is influenced by those connections. I'd like to take a moment to convince you why this isn't true.

    In the past I've been a special education teacher that specialized in children with emotional and behavioral issues. My father was a counselor in a maximum security prison. The first year I taught I can remember coming home and asking my dad..."Where is the line?" He looked at me funny, wanting to know what line I was talking about. Then I explained that the children I worked with were obviously victims. Their issues were clearly connected to the things that had happened to them in their lives. But what I wanted to know was if they couldn't be helped, what day would they stop being victims and what day would they start to be bullies, offenders, abusers, prisoners? Suddenly everything was a blur to me. When might these children go from being someone I loved and wanted to help to being someone who might turn around to someone else and do the same things that were done to them? This thought and these children have weighed heavy on my heart all my life.

    K.M. Walton doesn't give me the ultimate answer to this bigger than life problem, but she throws ropes to her readers--giving them something to hold on to. More important, she raises question and she does it will great skill. I don't think any one book or one person can give us the answers to such a large hole in humanity, but this is the kind of book that asks us to dig deeper as readers. It is a book that crakes creates sparks--the hope of illumination. It renews the fire within me to make the world a better, safer place--to stand up and have a voice. It helps me to put the people around me into perspective, so I can better navigate those who hurt. Because bullying doesn't happen to just children. It reminds me that the world is not black and white--but grey--full of shades of truth that blur the lines between right and wrong, good and bad and ultimately life or death.

    I highly recommend CRACKED by K.M. Walton and if you're moved by the writing of John Green, Laurie Halse Anderson and K.L. Going, then I think you have a new hero to add to your bookshelves. If you read CRACKED I would love to hear what you thought. <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        My mini review--I hope that once I am done recovering from D

        My mini review--I hope that once I am done recovering from Disney and the resulting cold, I hope to more thoroughly review this one.  
        I love how gritty and real Walton writes. The characters are so realistic, flawed and in this case, has serious problems. 
        The bullying is so hard to swallow. I hate it, and I have been on the side of getting picked on, but luckily for me, never severely. I think that especially with boys, it is true to life and could really have happened in a school setting. It is sad to have to live in that fear and the object of hatred and you can tell how that coupled with distant parents who are requiring perfection, and he hopes if he reaches it, they will finally show him affection, leads him to want to end his life. 
       In Cracked, we also get the perspective of the bullyer, although we never really see what is going through his mind when he was being his cruelest, we do see his messed up home life, and see that it is a cycle. Feeling out of control at home, he finds an easy target and has control over something, much like a girl with an eating disorder. There is so much more to his character though, and some surprising twists. I def felt for him, but it was hard to get past what he did to Victor. 
        A good portion of the book is in the mental hospital, and I think that also gives a look into the world of mental illness that is slowly being broached in the world of YA. I don't know how realistic it is, since I have only been in individual therapy, but I did tear through the pages at their realizations, unexpected friendship, healing and ultimately having the unexpected people to stand up on their side. 
        The ending was fitting, and left me satisfied while still sad to leave my character. 
        I loved getting the dual perspective from two guys, with no romantic connection between the two. 
        
    Bottom Line: Emotional look into what leads to suicidal thoughts/actions and then healing. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully written, vividly told I find myself drawn to novels

    Wonderfully written, vividly told
    I find myself drawn to novels about young adults in mental institutions. In fact, I did a whole project on the subject while working on my master’s degree in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Chatham College. Though I never spent time in a mental hospital while a teenager, I have struggled with depression and anxiety since high school and relate to the stories of people who have reached the point of suicidal behavior. Reading stories of others, even fictional others, who have suffered make me feel more normal. There are many good books on the subject, and I have just discovered another one. I recently attended a young adult author panel at my local independent bookstore (Doylestown Bookshop) where I chatted for a while with author K.M. Walton. She told me about her book Cracked, in which a bully nicknamed “Bull” and his victim, Victor, both end up in a mental institution at the same time. The book is told in dual perspective, jumping from Bull to Victor every other chapter. This is an excellent way to tell this story, and perhaps the only way that would be effective. By being in both boys’ heads, we can understand each of them and see the similarities in their lives before they do. We see Bull’s miserable home life that has lead him to bullying Victor. We see Victor’s uncaring parents that lead him to attempt suicide. When the boys end up roommates at the hospital, we know why each of them is there, but we get to watch as they slowly figure each other’s stories out.

    What I find most amazing in this book is Walton’s ability to make Bull’s character so sympathetic right away. His story is arguably the more tragic of the two, and I found myself torn between wanting him to find happiness and protection and wanting to slap him for taking his sucky life out on someone else. The author writes each character in such a way that we can feel like we know and understand them. Though the story progresses in a somewhat predictable way (the boys find a peace between each other in the end and have a better life waiting for them), I enjoyed the whole read. I don’t know how Walton managed to write the voices of troubled teenage boys so well, but they seemed liked real teens you could find at a local high school. Whether you have had personal experience or not with mental illness, bullying, or abuse, you should read this book to remind yourself that people who seem fine are often crying out for someone to listen. Maybe you can help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    I really liked Cracked. How at the beginning of the story Victor

    I really liked Cracked. How at the beginning of the story Victor and
    Bull had only two things in common and then a series of coincidences
    occurred. Bull is a bully and Victor is the bullied. The story is told
    from both the voices of Bull and Victor, and they both have distinct and
    strong male voices and personalities. In this book Walton explores
    family and social issues in a different tone, giving it a unique voice
    that made it powerful. The story doesn’t cover bullying within the
    school environment but rather at a personal and individual level. This
    is not a book about how bullying affects the school and what the faculty
    does to deal with it. No; it addresses bullying solely from the point of
    view of the bully and one person being bullied. What I liked most is
    that at the end these two do not end being best friends. Life kept its
    course with natural changes but nothing major to make this book end like
    a totally happy love story. I also like that Victor stood up for himself
    – if just a little – and faced Bull. What I didn’t like: Well, notice
    that I said that the book didn’t end like a totally happy love story.
    Totally, but it almost did at the end and that is why I didn’t give it a
    full 5-stars. I understand that at the end the story had to wrap up but
    it also could’ve been a little bit more realistic because in real life
    things don’t get fixed that quick and you don’t get a guardian angel out
    of the blue. I also didn’t like that Bull never stood up for himself to
    confront his pop which was something I was looking forward to seeing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I LOVED this book. Absolutely loved it! It dealt with suicide and troubled teens, messed up families and pain. It did touch me on a personal level, it did make me cry but it also made me smile and feel hopeful for these two boys. I liked how in the end Walton shows us what has happened and what has changed for Victor and William 4 months after their incidents. It is clear that the psych ward in which they had to spend 5 days proved to be a life-changing experience for them. Also, this book just seemed so real. It was simple an a good way. The characters and situations presented were all realistic and believable. The main characters were extremely likeable and I desperately wanted to hug them and be their friend the whole time. Yes, I even wanted to hug the bully becasue it wasn't his fault he never knew love and violence was all he was ever taught.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Must Read!

    What a great read for teens and parents alike. The best books are those that teach us something or inspire us in some way and this book has surely done that for me. I was engrossed from chapter one! I walked away from this book reminded that I should always be looking for that person who needs a kind word or encouragement. Sometimes it is the smallest gestures that make the biggest impact. The characters are diverse and so well developed. Selfish and brokens characters are starkly contrasted by loving, warm and generous ones. You will follow Victor and Bull as they experience pain and sorrow as well and joy and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Over all I loved this book and have read it about 4 times. I wis

    Over all I loved this book and have read it about 4 times. I wish that there was a sequel. It gives a great demonstration of perspective. And it is also very realistic because like in the real world they may not make up at the end but things still turn out better for both of them. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I liked it. Honestly. As a person with mental health issues an

    I liked it. Honestly.

    As a person with mental health issues and who has been in and out of psych wards, I didn't know what I was 
    expecting, but I have to say I enjoyed the book. Some inconsistencies to what group therapy and psych wards 
    are actually like, at least in my experiences, but overall it was a good read. You really felt  for and with the characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Kara

    Think you can tame me m'am?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I Loved This Book !!!! It Was So Deep And It Was A Page Turner ,

    I Loved This Book !!!! It Was So Deep And It Was A Page Turner , There Was So Much Details That I Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutley adored this book. The plot and characters went hand

    I absolutley adored this book.
    The plot and characters went hand in hand and it was so heartbreaking.
    The ending fit the story perfectly, I reccomend this to anybody who likes mental hospital books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    I thought that this book really touched on the subjects of bully

    I thought that this book really touched on the subjects of bullying, abuse &amp; psychiatric facilities. The subject of abuse was seen in two ways &amp; from two different perspectives. It gave the readers a look @ what goes in a teenager’s world. I really liked the author and would recommend this book &amp; other books by the author to all reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    N

    Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved it!

    This book i could really relate to. It gives you a whole new outlook on life and how important it is. Also it shows, even if yoi think you want to die you can over come that and start to be happy. All you need is a little push in the right direction and some help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    i loved all of it , The book was amazing and some of it i could

    i loved all of it , The book was amazing and some of it i could kind of relate not all but i would recommend this to ANY one my age 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Read

    I know this author, she came to my camp today and i have het autograph. Plus this is a really good book. And she has a new one coming out called empty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Love

    Such a great book. Really is motivation. Tells everyone that they are worth somthing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Easy Read

    Easy read about two high school boys, one is the bully the other is the victim. They have different and unfortunate home lives, but they end up at the same psych ward in the same room for 5 days.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2