BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cracked up to Be

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

Parker Fadley was captain of the varsity cheerleading squad. She'd been on the honor roll for the first three years of high school, and Chris, the most popular guy at school, was in love with her, the most popular girl in school. Now, no matter how awful she is to him, ...
Parker Fadley was captain of the varsity cheerleading squad. She'd been on the honor roll for the first three years of high school, and Chris, the most popular guy at school, was in love with her, the most popular girl in school. Now, no matter how awful she is to him, she knows he still loves her, but she's not worth it.

Not since the party. Not since her life took a radical one-hundred-and-eighty degree turn.

Her parents have her on a tight leash. Early curfews. Weekly meetings with the guidance counselor. Dinners with sad, yet hopeful eyes turned her way, yearning for a glimpse of the Parker they used to know. Everyone has her on a suicide watch, but nobody knows why. What could have caused Parker Fadley to turn away from everything and everyone?

It's Jake who begins to get under her skin with his unnerving presence and constant questions. How can she possibly be that interesting to him? When Evan comes back to school, she can no longer keep the memories of the events of that night at bay. Whether she wants to or not, she's going to have to find the real Parker Fadley, or risk losing her forever.

The restful cover of CRACKED UP TO BE belies the unrest and turmoil that is Parker. The voice is incredible, similar to that of SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson. Courtney Summers doles out the secrets in small portions, teasing the reader, and when the events of the party are finally revealed with nothing held back, the tension is palpable.

And no matter how many hints Ms. Summers drops, you'll never be able to guess Parker's terrible secret. This debut author is just that good.

posted by TeensReadToo on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not that amazing.

This book like I said wasn't that amazing. I found it hard to get through, and now its currently sitting on my bookshelf, half-read. I dont know what I didn't like about it. I think it was that fact that I found Parker alot different then myself, and ready to argue abou...
This book like I said wasn't that amazing. I found it hard to get through, and now its currently sitting on my bookshelf, half-read. I dont know what I didn't like about it. I think it was that fact that I found Parker alot different then myself, and ready to argue about anything. Or say something nasty to anyone.

Most teens might like this book. But like myself others might find it hard to relate to.

posted by bre-z on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Not that amazing.

    This book like I said wasn't that amazing. I found it hard to get through, and now its currently sitting on my bookshelf, half-read. I dont know what I didn't like about it. I think it was that fact that I found Parker alot different then myself, and ready to argue about anything. Or say something nasty to anyone.

    Most teens might like this book. But like myself others might find it hard to relate to.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    This was a strange book

    The message was unclear to me in the book. I know books don't need messages but this stills seems to need one. It starts out with a girl holding a huge load of guilt on her shoulders. She really wants to kill herself but wants to graduate first. I read this because it was in my teachers classroom. The charectors all have clear intentions but I am still depressed days after I have read this. Not for young minds, or middle school minds even. I shouldnt have read it in 7th grade.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great power brings great responsibility

    This is definitely not a light-hearted read, and perhaps that is why I did not fall too hard in love with it. After reading so many fun and fuzzy YA books, I was probably unprepared for the different change of pace in cracked up to be.

    The main character Parker is brutal, and quite frankly I don't think I could be friends with her. She scares me - to be fair, she scares the other characters as well! However, as the story progresses, I saw that her hard exterior masked a very broken interior. I could appreciate her obsession with perfection (being a haphazard perfectionist that I am) and how hard she is on herself.

    Courtney Summers does an amazing job with teasing us with bits and pieces of why Parker is trying to remove herself from everybody's lives. With each new piece of information - both useful yet still vague - I found myself with a new theory each time and a whole lot of second-guessing. When all the puzzle pieces fell into place, I cannot say that I had a OMG moment, but it definitely explains Parker's path to self-destruction a whole lot better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good characters and dialog

    I really enjoyed the dialog and character interactions. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    OK

    The begging of this book was to die for. I mean incredibly amazing. But the ending totally killed the book unfortunately. I really did love the book, but the whole reason behind Parker giving all of it up was just really. . . boring. I think that if Courtney Summers had come up with a better ending this book would be worth 5 stars and more. Right idea, wrong ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    an okay book....

    this book was pretty good. i would recommend it as a book to pass the time with. it took me about 3 days to read. overall i would give this book a 6 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    good book but terrible ending

    I liked the book the whole way through but then when it got to the ending it just ended so abruptly. I was left with so many questions it made me kind of hate the book in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just okay.

    I didn't find this book all that fascinating or thrilling but it had a good story line and the main character was very realistic. But it was just okay. The main character was a very interesting person who had alot of demons in her closet but with all her problems and attitudes, she wasn't that emotional and I didn't feel much connection to the characters whoes. And when I started to get to the end of the book I expected a huge break through or at least some kind of emotional impact to me, but I didn't. But that might of been the whole point of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    i dont know what to say...

    this is the kind of book that when your done reading it you can't put your finger on how you feel about it. This doesnt happen often to me and i read all the time! i think the reason i am unsure about it is because the charecter,Parker, is so unlike anyone i know or have ever met...ever and that i dont like her. she is very dark, lies compusivley, treats everyone around her horribly and literally curses on every page. i dont like poeple who only care about themselves and what they want and that is Parker exactly, she doesnt care about her parents, school, her teachers who are desperatly trying to help her, or the people who love her Jake and Chris. she intentionally hurts the people close to her and it makes me so mad at her throughout the whole book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2