BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cracker!: The Best Dog in Vietnam

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best book

BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was very disappointed with the language in this book. It was rated for a 9-12 year old and my 11 year old has been reading it out loud to me. I felt like the cuss words were unnecessary and inappropriate. The story is good, but at certain points I wasn't sure if I ...
I was very disappointed with the language in this book. It was rated for a 9-12 year old and my 11 year old has been reading it out loud to me. I felt like the cuss words were unnecessary and inappropriate. The story is good, but at certain points I wasn't sure if I was going to continue or stop reading the book. I understand that sometimes words like that are needed for emphasis, but I didn't see that in this book. For example, they described a girl as "pretty as Hell" I didn't think that was necessary, they could have just said she was pretty. Overall, I was not impressed.

posted by 359241 on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    Disappointed

    I was very disappointed with the language in this book. It was rated for a 9-12 year old and my 11 year old has been reading it out loud to me. I felt like the cuss words were unnecessary and inappropriate. The story is good, but at certain points I wasn't sure if I was going to continue or stop reading the book. I understand that sometimes words like that are needed for emphasis, but I didn't see that in this book. For example, they described a girl as "pretty as Hell" I didn't think that was necessary, they could have just said she was pretty. Overall, I was not impressed.

    8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Best book

    BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Great Book! A must read.

    I really enjoyed this book. If you love dogs, you'll love this. One minute your sad, the next your happy, and before you know it you can't put the book down. I read it and now, both my mom and grandma have read it. My mom really liked it and my grandma just started reading it, and she likes it too. It also teaches about the Vietnam war. My grandpa had a scout dog in Vietnam, I think that is what me interested in reading this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    A 6th grade review of Cracker

    Cracker, a report by William Hosea<BR/> <BR/><BR/> Cracker was written by Cynthia Kadohata.<BR/><BR/> Cracker is about a dog named Cracker and a boy named Willie. Cracker is a German Shepherd who can tell if you're sad or happy. She also has a great sense of smell and is very smart. The first main character is Willie, a boy in school who plays with Cracker everyday before dinner. The second main character is Rick, a soldier in the Army. <BR/><BR/> The plot is about a boy who has a dog and lives in an apartment. The apartment doesn't allow any dogs so Willie gives Cracker to the Army to use in Vietnam. When Cracker is in Vietnam, she becomes a hero by saving lives. She does this by sniffing out bombs, traps, and the enemy. Her actions allowed her platoon to return safely from their patrols.<BR/><BR/> The setting of Cracker is in Chicago, and in Vietnam during the Vietnam War. The theme of the story is about the relationship and trust that develops between Cracker and Rick, her handler in Vietnam. Rick and Cracker have to learn to work together as a team if they want to get out of Vietnam alive.<BR/><BR/> I love this book because I like dogs and I also like reading about the Vietnam War, so I thought this would be a great book for me. I was able to connect to the story because I have pet dogs myself, and I know what it means to trust them. When I go camping, my dog Spots helps me find the way back if I get lost in the woods. Also, last summer I read a book about the Vietnam War, so this story helped me understand what it was like to be there. Books related to Cracker that I've read are A Dogs Life by Ann Martin and Eyewitness to Vietnam by George Esper.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    this is the best book ever

    The book is a good book because if you¿re into the war books and if you like dogs then this book is for you. The book starts with a boy and the boy is living in an apartment. He has to give up his dog to the military because they don¿t allow dogs in the apartment. In the military the dog is assigned to a man named Rick and they go to Vietnam and ¿whip the world.¿ I liked this book because it is a good story about a man and his dog in the war.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Bestb Best book

    Great

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Great Book!

    I got this book in the paper version and it was by far one of the best books ever! It also has a good twist near the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Best

    This book is really great for dog lovers! This is probably my favorite book so far that kadohata, cynthia wrote! ;) the beginning was kinda sad and the end was happy it was sooooo good that i had to read it again. I havent read this book in a long long time.....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Love it sooooo muchhhhh

    My sister read it and said thats it was the best book she had ever read!!!! The book is mostly about a dog named cracker and the dog cracker helps fight the war in Vietnam!!! And im going to read it because my sister loves it so much!!!! Im going to read it like 10 times!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    OMG I loved this book

    I got it from the library and cryed for the first chapters but very exciting!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Annomus

    I was in thrid grade when i read this book it was one of the best books i have read. This book made me sad one moment then you would be happy. I would recomend this book to anyone. This book was amazingly awesome i loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Best!

    I am a person who hates reading but yet when finds a good book I cant stop reading i will reccomend this book to 12 and older cursing is inside of this book otherwise best book ever :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Awsome Book!

    I read it at my school library and when I started I couldent stop!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    Ps does anyone want to rp with me? Btw this book is really good but sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Love it

    Tye book us full of saddness but has happiness in it to
    Age range is 10-15

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Very awesome book.lots of action

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    .

    BEST BOOK EVEE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Best book EVER

    i didn't actually buy the book on my nook but i read it and i loved it. i liked it alot because i have a german shepard and it had details and it had to do with the army obiously. by the way there is quite a bit of dying in this book but none of the maim characters die

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Cracker the most heroic dog ever

    Introduction
    "Cracker" is about a heroic dog and her best friend in the Vietnam War. The dogs name is Cracker. She is an intelligent dog that is trained to sniff out dangerous deadly things. She makes a great addition to the army.

    Description and summary of main points
    This story takes place in Vietnam the United States Army is at war with them. I'm judging this book in how well it stays to the story, what's it based on and if it just a good book in general. I think this book stays to the topic well and meets all the criteria.

    Evaluation
    This book is based on a German shepherd that is trained to smell out bombs, traps and other stuff. The safety of everyone around this amazing dog depends on intelligence if this dog.

    Conclusion
    This was a good example why dogs are man's best friend. Also this book also shows a valiant, dedicated, and vary intelligent dog in the Vietnam War.

    Your final review

    I think this dog was a great ally to the United State's army in this book. If this dog wasn't in it so many more people would have died. This amazing dog saved many lives while it was serving our great content of America. I feel when I am reading this book that I am right there with the army. Because of this way, I feel it makes me want to read more so I can find out what happens next in the story. When I finely finished the story, I felt like I knew this fantastic dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    A girl's 6th Grade Review of Cracker!Best Dog in Vietnam!

    Book Review

    Title: Cracker! The best dog in Vietnam!
    Author: Cynthia Kadohata


    3 Things I liked about the story:
    . Heart warming
    . The story had a lot of action.
    . The way Willie loves Cracker and the way Rick loves Cracker stays with you for the rest of the story.



    3 Things I didn't like about the story:
    I loved everything.

    My Book Review:
    Cracker! The Best Dog in Vietnam! is an amazing heartwarming adventure that is a little sad. A young boy named Willie has a German Shepherd named Cracker. When he moves to a different apartment he has to get rid of her FAST! Cracker gets shipped to the army. She is paired with a man named Rick Hanski an American Viking. He wants to "WHIP THE WORLD"! When they get paired together they have to learn to get along or they will both get killed in Vietnam.
    If you love adventures, dogs, life lessons, and a bit of history you're in for a TREAT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8