Customer Reviews for

Cradle and All

Average Rating 3.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must read!!

I have read several of Mr. Pattersons' books and this book is my new favorite, I could not stop reading! It absolutely delivered everything it promised, suspense, chills, and a shocking ending. I loved it and I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a ...
I have read several of Mr. Pattersons' books and this book is my new favorite, I could not stop reading! It absolutely delivered everything it promised, suspense, chills, and a shocking ending. I loved it and I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a great read with lots of thrills. 'Cradle and All' will have the tiny hairs on the back of your neck standing at attention!

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love all of Patterson, but not my favorite!

This book was smooth and quick, i read it in like two days however this is not one of my favorite Patterson books. If you like to read about religion, the evil spirit and God you will like this read. Not sure it was one of my interest because i already have a lot of q...
This book was smooth and quick, i read it in like two days however this is not one of my favorite Patterson books. If you like to read about religion, the evil spirit and God you will like this read. Not sure it was one of my interest because i already have a lot of questions about religion. But if you want a quick and suspenful read this book will deliver!

posted by Calebsmumma on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great book, but....

    ...what happened to the ending?! Is there a sequel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    One of Patterson's best!

    This book will grab your attention from the 1st page to the end. It has everything that a reader wants--mystery(of course!), suspense, wonderful characters and a surprise ending. A must read for Patterson fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    The ending needs work

    This is the second book I've read by James Patterson and it's the second time I wasn't thrilled by the ending (the other one was Sunday's at Tiffany's). I would write more specifically what bothered me but I don't want to spoil anything for future readers. I also wish it was more focused on some battle between good and evil rather on trying to decide which girl was gonna give birth to which side, just think that would've made it more interesting. Overall I really liked the book and would read another one by Patterson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A TWIST AND TURN NOVEL FOR JAMES PATTERSON LOVERS

    Although I dont think this is James patterson's best its still a great novel. It has many twists and turns and is kind of slow but the ending is worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    This Is No Pop Goes The Weasel

    Twisted and unforeseenable actions. Who knew such horror could come from religion, similar to current events just in a deep twisited sense of demonic undertones. Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Looking for the sequel

    Enjoyed the storyline very much. This book kept me on my toes wondering what the ultimate outcome was going to be. It ended with a hint of more to come. Hope this to be the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Good book

    I read this book more than a year ago, and I still ask people if they've read it. It's a very intersting book. I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    An unexpected, but not so bad, Patterson book

    This book was quite different from the rest of the books I've read by him, but not entirely. While maintaining the suspense and intrigue, he went off the path to write a book based on the literal birth of good and evil. I found it hard to put down and didn't find it hard to follow at all. i can see why many Patterson readers found it a shock, although I throughly enjoyed it. I noticed myself becoming lost in the book and it seemed like I was actually there! Take caution that this book is very different and it takes an open mind to read it since it deals with a sensitive subject. (Birth of a savior and birth of satan)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Page turner

    It started off a bit confusing, but when I got into the story I couldn't put it down. It had me pondering on the situation that exists in our current world and on the coming of the anti-Christ. The ending had a great twist that I really did not expect. I would recommend this book to any James Patterson fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    my first James Patterson book

    This was my first James Patterson book, and it was actually pretty good. As some of the others said it was a bit confusing and not a lot happened in the book, but the simple fact that he kept your attention was amazing considering... I really enjoy the way that he writes his books. The first page grabs you and makes you want to continue to read. The chapters are short but full of the stuff that makes you NOT want to put it down... I will continue to read patterson after reading this book. My sister in law passed it down to me and after i read it i passed it down to my mother and we all loved it...so i guess i'd say i would recomend it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2002

    Actually I want to put 3 stars and a half...

    This book was actually pretty good - it kept my interest and I liked the writing style. However, it was definitely not his best. His best would be either JACK & JILL or SUZZANE'S DIARY FOR NICHOLAS. The story was good, the ending was sort of a surprise, not much happened in the book but it kept my interest. I have read more than 10 books by this author and he could do better, but there's always that one book that an author writes that's not as good as his other work, but I suggest you read this anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2001

    Good holiday reading

    I read this book in a day on holiday! Although it's different from Patterson's other books, it's still an excellent read, with a surprising ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Give me the End to top it off

    A very good page turner. I am however, looking for the rest,like the end.I finished it in five hours flat and kept my toes curled throughout. I am waiting............for the climax.........don't leave me hanging for very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Patterson keeps me guessing

    I thought Cradle & All was great. Sure it's not Patterson's usual storyline, but I still could not put it down. And besides, variety is the spice of life! Although I would feel a little weird recommending it to my mom, I thought it was a great book and I hope he comes out with a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Wasn't that Scary, but still good.

    My mother bought this book the other day, and it looked interesting to me so I thought I would read it. I had never read the author before, but was open to it. I read the book in about three hours. It was engaging, and a good book I thought, but the only really scary parts are at the end. It was a bit confusing at some points, but overall I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    Excellent Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It had an intensity that kept me on edge and constantly wanting to turn the pages. I strongly recommend this book and eagerly await the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2000

    James Patterson at his best again

    He did it again. In Cradle and All, he takes you on the unforgetable roller-coaster ride through every emotion you have, as he does with all of his other masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    James Patterson Fan

    Although Dr. Alex Cross was not the 'star' of this book, I very much enjoyed it! I've read all JP's books and love his tales of Alex Cross, but I still found this book a great read! Scary and fast-paced I was unable to put it down! Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2000

    A Page Turner for Me

    I have to admit this book really pulled me in. I couldn't wait to get to the next page. But, I'm not completely sure I understand why. It certainly wasn't what I am accustomed to reading from James Patterson or any of the other authors I read regularly but there was something about it that I found intriguing. I don't know if this book may be offensive to someone who is very rigid in their religious beliefs. I consider myself spirtual but was not bothered at all by the story line. I think I looked at it as just that, a story. Well written, and I will be there for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2000

    a reviewer

    I was reading all of the other reviews and they all basically said it sucked and that all his other books were better. If this is true I can't wait to read his other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3