Customer Reviews for

Cranford (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ah, Cranford

Cranford is a charming book about a small English village. It is more of a survey of the people who inhabit the town than it is a plot driven story. The characters are so full of life and are so charming and oftentimes hilarious that you may feel like you are reading ...
Cranford is a charming book about a small English village. It is more of a survey of the people who inhabit the town than it is a plot driven story. The characters are so full of life and are so charming and oftentimes hilarious that you may feel like you are reading a letter from dear friends from home. They have issues to overcome and problems to solve an the ways they go about doing this are circuitous and very entertaining. I laughed at loud and indeed, cried a bit. It's a very short little novel and as the price is more than reasonable, I feel it's essential to the library of anyone wanting the call themselves well read. Their was a delightful movie made about this book which has it's own merits.

posted by lesslie on July 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My opinion

Well it moves kinda slow, but I do applaude Elizabeth Gaskell's fee flow of mannerly gossip and phrasing.One can definitely picture the characters of this story through the way they respond to each other in conversation.

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ah, Cranford

    Cranford is a charming book about a small English village. It is more of a survey of the people who inhabit the town than it is a plot driven story. The characters are so full of life and are so charming and oftentimes hilarious that you may feel like you are reading a letter from dear friends from home. They have issues to overcome and problems to solve an the ways they go about doing this are circuitous and very entertaining. I laughed at loud and indeed, cried a bit. It's a very short little novel and as the price is more than reasonable, I feel it's essential to the library of anyone wanting the call themselves well read. Their was a delightful movie made about this book which has it's own merits.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    My favorite Gaskell

    Out of all the E. Gaskell books I've read, Cranford is now my favorite. This publication of the book is deceptively small; there are a lot of words on each page, so it takes longer to read than one would assume at first glance. However, this is a book to be savored and read slowly and, when finished, leaves the reader wanting to return to Cranford. I want to live in the Shire, Narnia, and Cranford.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    One Of My Favorite Books

    Cranford is a wonderful story. I fell in love with all the characters, their personalities, and their charming little town. Gaskell does a great job weaving the story of the daily lives of the town's folk, as well as breaking off crumbs of their history to us as the story moves along. This is a book that you can read more than once and always walk away with a good feeling, like spending time with dear old friends. Highly recommended to anyone who hasn't read it or hasn't read it in a while.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Very Interesting...

    Has anyone else noticed that the reviews above mine are posted for at least four different versions of this book? Do they automatically do that? Because some versions are actually formatted more nicely than others... If I were you, I'd go for the cheap one; it has the same reviews as the others!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I love her work

    I love this time period in England and though this seams like going against the gods she's better at capturing peoples charter than jane austen. Austen is amazing and her chaters are true to themselves but almost to a point of not taking in reality at times. while Gaskells charters true to themselves also but change with the story more. they are lovely acounts of small town life for a upper middle class women of the day. wives and daughters is still my favorite work of hers but this brought a smile to my face.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a truly remarkable book, similar to Jewett's 'Country of the Painted Firs' and Jan Neruda's 'Prague Tales.' It's an episodic account of the idiosyncratic world of genteely poor women in a tiny village, portrayed with warmth, sadness, and pride. You can't help but love these women and, like the narrator from a nearby city, to be part of their world for at least a while. Gaskell is magnficent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A mirror of modern life

    This Elizabeth Gaskell book was an interesting study of village life ... the importantce of appearance and pride, and the distortion of gossip. Very much like life today. Things haven't changed that much, and that is what struck me most about this book. I admit, I enjoyed Wives and Daughters much more than Cranford. Cranford was more a book of vignettes, so it was difficult to attach myself to an individual character, other than the naive, sweet, and delightful Miss Matty. She brought both tears and smiles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    My opinion

    Well it moves kinda slow, but I do applaude Elizabeth Gaskell's fee flow of mannerly gossip and phrasing.One can definitely picture the characters of this story through the way they respond to each other in conversation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Delightful Classic

    Cranford is a wonderful light hearted classic. The story is narraited by Mary Smith as she relates the adventures of the residents of the small country village of Cranford in England during the late 1830's to the early 1840's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    I love Cranford. It is a funny, light-hearted look at some very

    I love Cranford. It is a funny, light-hearted look at some very memorable ladies' lives. The language used may be hard for those not used to older English writing, and if you want a plot driven story than you may not like this book as it is more character driven. The plot lines of the various people are more like anecdotes strung together by the narrator over the course of years. I found this format quite enjoyable though, and somewhat unusual for a book written by a woman in that era.Overall it is just lovely light reading for  a fan of old novels looking for a few laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Goldensoul

    The gathering will be at 'wings of fire the brightest night'. Dont even think about bloodshed because wolves trained to kill the first to cause bloodshed will be hiding here and there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Goldenheart

    What tasks?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Goldenheart

    "I am expecting kits and as a qieen in waiting he told me he wouldnt do anything until the kits are gone. Tell Kos not to mess with me. Crystalkit, come now!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Dark

    He growls. "You have a fierce kit there."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    To Burning Cinder

    Go to cave res 2, it is called longarm and the death cave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Diciplus Red Wing

    See ya' *gazes up at the clouds*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Fang correction

    *orginial classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Catalus Flame

    She padded around, her kits following her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Diciplus Red Wing

    *turns to crystalkit* what do want? Why are you avoiding her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Supernova ( StarClan)

    The giant winged ocelot exploded from the storm cloud and roared: " I may not be THE Fatespeaker, but I can still tell u guys one thing: prepare for the war of your life 'coase y'alls gonna die and StaryStar ain't gonna accept y'all cause y'all break his code every other day." He bellowed. "And don't even think about harmin' Bushfire or StarClan'll join the war, too." The giant ocelot finished then leaped up into the stormy darkness with a drum of thunder and a flash of lightning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6