Customer Reviews for

Crank (Crank Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(992)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

simply stunning.

it was written so beautifully,and as soon as i read this book,
i couldnt help but finish the other one following this book-glass.
her stories are beautiful and loosely based around her real life,
which makes this read all the more compelling. if you liked go ask alic...
it was written so beautifully,and as soon as i read this book,
i couldnt help but finish the other one following this book-glass.
her stories are beautiful and loosely based around her real life,
which makes this read all the more compelling. if you liked go ask alice this is a must have read.ever since i have read this book i have been hooked to her writting style.a great great great book.

posted by woootwootla on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Umm?

i didnt like it i tried and i just got bored with it.

posted by BrOwN15 on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Warning! Sexual content and drug use through the book.

    Kristina is visiting her drug addicted dad's home for three weeks in the summer, when she meets the man of her dreams. His name is Adam, but he calls himself Buddy.Buddy is very similar to the Bree persona. Adam and Kristina go out for a little while, they are already deep in love. Soon, Buddy shows Kristina his secret life of snorting crank, or better known as "meth". Kristina tries some and it turns her entire life upside down once she becomes an addict. Before she leaves, Adam gives Kristina a tattoo on her thigh. when she comes home, her mother sees the tattoo and grounds her. But during the punishment, Bree takes over and meets two new guys for Kristina. Their names are Brendan and Chase. Brendan is the Bree of the two boys. All he wants is sex, but Chase loves Kristina up and down. Brendan eventually manages to sexually defile Kristina, which ends up in Kristna dumping him. Chase and Kristina then fall in a deep romance and Kristina ends up Pregnant. The baby however, is not Chase's son but Brendan's. Kristina's story was not finished because she was still a crank addict but she didn't end the story sorrowfully. She ends up with a healthy baby boy, and a marriage proposal from chase. Crank is a story that i found both suspenseful and somewhat impulsive. I highly suggest this book to those who like fast paced, yet complex reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    This book is, well.... Ironically addicting. I just couldn't sto

    This book is, well.... Ironically addicting. I just couldn't stop, no matter how hard I tried. I gobbled down the whole series in less than four days. It's heart pounding, captivating, and beautiful in many ways. However, some parts are a bit over-dramatized, as well as under-dramatized. For example, every turn of a page resulted in suspenseful love affairs and close-to-getting-caught events. But at the same time, it was kind of hard to believe. I mean, a seventeen year old girl, who used to be so enraptured in her career and school, just suddenly goes downhill like that? And by the third book, Fallout, she has like five kids and several boys who would kill to have her for themselves. I don't know. It just seemed a bit far fetched. Other than that, Hopkins writes brilliantly. Elegantly. Hauntingly. This series, and this first book, are wonderful reads. Just make sure you're mature enough to handle them; sex, drugs, and rape are prominent and sort of described in detail. Reader discretion is advised. But, if you enjoy picking up unique pieces of literature, please read this. You won't be sorry. I have mixed feelings about this book and the series, but it's fantastic once you make the commitment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CRANK

    crank is the story of a teenage girl, kristina snow, who in the begining seems to be the perfect daughter; the type of girl that every parent dreams of having. but one summer she goes to visit with her father who she rarely sees and goes down the most destructive path. she meets a boy, falls in love and catches on to his bad habbits. she tries the "monster". throughout the books she is dealing with everyday high and it shows how normal everyday things become more difficult to focus on. when kristina takes the monster she becomes bre. bre is a free spirit and does whatever she pleases. bre is nothing like kristina. bre has guys falling in love with her left and right but kristina has neve had a boyfriend. bre ends up getting hurt,... in more ways then one. she gets her heart broken, she get rapped and she gets abandoned. this is one of the best books i have read in a very long time. Ellen hopkins is a brilliant writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Grade 9 and up. Kristina, an honor roll student, decides to live

    Grade 9 and up. Kristina, an honor roll student, decides to live with her father for three weeks. In the time she spent there she finds her trying “the monster” (a drug) and meeting some interesting characters. After she returns home, her life is forever changed. 
    The author writes in verse (poetry). This makes you think harder and deeper into any text you’ve ever read. The text is written beautifully even though the story is very dark. The story can be tough to read, based on the events. You may find yourself staying up all night reading, each page bringing you a new feeling. The story is based off of the author’s daughter who also had a drug addiction, which makes it even more interesting. Some of the events are a little extreme, but that’s what makes it an engaging story.
    Readers of this book may find themselves relating to the story whether they have dealt with someone with a drug addiction or not. Readers will most likely be able to picture themselves in situations like Kristina gets into easily. Teens will more enjoy this book based on the ages of the characters but that doesn’t mean adults won’t enjoy it as well. Overall, this book was very well written with prior knowledge to the subject and exquisite use of words. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Meeeeeee

    This book is very good. When you read it, you learn from Kristina's mistakes,without you having to make the mistakes and learn from it. This book is good for people from ages12-19. These are most of the time the ages where they would most likely make these mistakes. Ellen Hopkins is a talented writer, I hope other people feel the same and she makes more books. I WOULD recommend this book to a friend. I hope this was helpful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Great book

    I really liked it and I like a lot of Ellen Hopkins books. One thing I disliked was the e-book itself. It had times where it glitched out and times where it would show the actual page from the book instead of the normal text. There where also some typos. Other than that it was great but they definetely need to revise the e-book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I havent read it yet

    I havent read it yet but seems like a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    To haters

    The style may be unorthadox, but personaly, i liked it better. Seriously i saw a review say that the author "isn't a poet" that made me facepalm. It says in the book she is a famous poet! Also anyone who hates it because of the content, well yeah it has inapropriate content, but since when are books only for young people. I enjoy this book very much and it gives you a perspective on what drugs can do to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Crank bad

    I like how this book is cus there is alot of people that does this stuff and they do stubued stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    An Insight Into The World of Drugs and Bad Decisions

    Crank by Ellen Hopkins, was the first installment of the Crank series. It is a series of several poems about a young girl's life, as she tries to make some very hard decisions. All the while with these different decisions, there is one thing controlling her: The monster. She lives, breathes, and thinks the monster. This book was very interesting, and unlike anything else I had ever read. It also had an ending that I did not expect. I can tell you that I will be reading the others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Loved it!

    I've only read the sample of this on my nook and didn't want it to end. I continued the trilogy hung on Ellen's every word. Before I knew it I read the other samples of, Identical, Burned, Impulse and Tricks. I'm gonna purchase them I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Get it

    Grabbed my attention from the begining and books dont usually do that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazing!

    I love this book! I wasn't sure if I would enjoy it at first but when I started to read it I fell in love. It will capture you from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Easy read

    I did enjoy this book found it very interesting and after a while I found it hard to book the book down. This book is very easy to read considering the fact that its written reminds me how a poem is written in stanzas but its very thick and bulk. Only thing I disliked about the book was the fact that it isn¿t written in chapter form and have always disliked stopping in-between chapter. Story line is good but you have to be patient the beginning is a bit slow to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Hmm..I can't decide

    I enjoyed this book very much because it was a topic that i had never read about before. It also scared me. I liked reading it once, but i cant decide if i want to rrad any more in the series. I thiught this book was a simple read,with a complex story and idea behind it. I may or may not reccomend this, it all depends on taste. I wiuld definetly not recomend it to anyone in a grade lower than high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    The Addiction

    Crank, the intriguing story of a gifted girl tells the story of herself, Kristina a.k.a Bree, battle the addiction to crank. The addiction began with her first visit in a long time to her dad¿s apartment in Albuquerque, New Mexico. When unpacking to settle into her first night of the long three weeks ahead, she meets a boy. He introduces himself as Buddy. As they talk, she realizes that he and her dad are ¿co-cranks¿. The three of them end up high, almost as any bird could wish, nearly every night at the bowling alley in which her dad is employed. Only then did she come to understand that leaving the crank-filled city would leave her going to desperate measures to find the forbidden monster on the Avenue. This began her journey, more of a struggle, with the monster. This book will entertain you with somber heartbreak, unforgettable love, and hateful fear. Any girl, or boy, interested in intense emotion of a sophisticatedly-written novel will end up attached (or addicted) to Ellen¿s books. I for one was, and am, completely in love with them. Kristina, or Bree, pushes through many hardships and consequences of bad ideas and influences to end up with only a small bundle of love to hold on to. When the final three weeks at her dad¿s ends, Bree opens up to some new fellows at her step-dad¿s work picnic at a water park. Brendan, the first of the two, is a lifeguard who is looking to party with a new crank partner. He becomes just one of the few resources to crank that Kristina ends up with. Chase, the football player also met at the water park, becomes another chapter in her love story. He uses the monster as a reward. Together, they share love, highs, lows, and, of course, crank. When her addiction finally becomes apparent to Scott and her mom, they play the game, acting as if they believe the excuses, one after the other. The way that this book is written, along with many of Ellen Hopkins¿s books, make you feel as though you are peering into the broken heart of the narrator. It gives you the sense of responsibility to keep reading and eventually heal them and put the pieces back together. Ellen starts off in one part of the story only to move quickly, steadily, into a new realm of emotions. Similes, metaphors, allusions, suspense, and foreshadowing are only some of the figurative language used to put you into the book to live the drama. These books throw you into the plot so harshly that the addiction will be such a fierce pleasure, leaving you unable to deny it. The tone or the mood of the book depends on the scene. They are painted so clearly for you in your mind it makes it feel as if you are watching a movie. You won¿t be able to move off of your couch until you complete the last words on the last page. Ellen entertains with incredible strength. Yet, there are always downfalls to all perfection. As a young reader, it is most definitely written for older readers, therefore making it a little bit hard to understand. But this is nothing that context clues can¿t help. Whether it¿s the way it is written or the broadness due to avoid explicit details, some parts ended up foggy. Other books such as Wake, Gone, and Fade, the series by Lisa McMann, are almost as intriguing as Ellen Hopkins¿s books. If you have read the series and were the even the least bit interested, then you will like these as well. The comparison between the two is very similar considering how they are written. This series is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sad

    The writing style was different and got used to. The book is sad and kind a depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Very Good

    The type of writing is different and you have to get used to it at first. But once you do, it makes sense and gives Hopkins a sense of individuality. The story of the book was very good, and I am now reading the "threequel"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Awsome Read!

    This is a must read series. You wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Who can compare?

    Very well written, I found myself reading later at night than normal because 'I just wanted to get to a slow part.' But slow parts were very rare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10