Customer Reviews for

Crank (Crank Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(988)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

simply stunning.

it was written so beautifully,and as soon as i read this book,
i couldnt help but finish the other one following this book-glass.
her stories are beautiful and loosely based around her real life,
which makes this read all the more compelling. if you liked go ask alic...
it was written so beautifully,and as soon as i read this book,
i couldnt help but finish the other one following this book-glass.
her stories are beautiful and loosely based around her real life,
which makes this read all the more compelling. if you liked go ask alice this is a must have read.ever since i have read this book i have been hooked to her writting style.a great great great book.

posted by woootwootla on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Umm?

i didnt like it i tried and i just got bored with it.

posted by BrOwN15 on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 988 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 50
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    simply stunning.

    it was written so beautifully,and as soon as i read this book,
    i couldnt help but finish the other one following this book-glass.
    her stories are beautiful and loosely based around her real life,
    which makes this read all the more compelling. if you liked go ask alice this is a must have read.ever since i have read this book i have been hooked to her writting style.a great great great book.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart.

    It's what it grabs when you hear the story of a wonderful girl who trudges down hill thanks to the likes of meth.

    The story is fantastic and I may only be a sixteen year old, but when it comes to reading I am extremely picky. I read this book in less then a day. I couldn't put it down. I read it in class, through the halls, on the bus. It followed me everywhere the day I got it from my library.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    AMAZING!

    There are no words to describe this book.
    I think every teenager should read this. It's honest and brutal and really describes the horrors of the addiction without straight up describing it. Through Crank, Ellen Hopkins has created this astoundingly true world that exists right outside my door or yours; almost in a way regardless of age, and there is just no way to truly describe what this book did for me. Even though I've never touched drugs or wanted to, it just seemed to hit. I found myself deeply relating to Kristina, feeling the issues with parents but never saying a word, working to keep that A average, etc. But I also understood the allure of Bree because, no matter how smart a person is, sometimes the desire to just let everything go can start to overpower a person. Even not knowing the feelings and effects in which the drugs instill in Bree, the way Hopkins goes about describing her highs and lows, fall outs and blow ups it makes you feel as if your right in the same state of mind she is in. I also believe that the way in which she actually composed the book, through the short stories/ poems the thickness of the book dissolves much like you do into the pages. The way Hopkins writes about serious subjects like drug abuse and suicide, which make her a frequent target of book banners. One of her most popular books, Crank is based on her own daughter's struggle with drug addiction which leaves more doors open to the thought of "don't drag myself into something like that", rather than opening a door to experimenting.
    If nothing else, I will continue reading the sequels and every other book by Ellen Hopkins I can get my hands on. Especially since they're not only wondrous, but very quick reads.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Crank - Couldn't put it down.

    This book was simply amazing. I couldn't put it down till I was finished with it. I was extremely pulled into the book because I felt for what Kristina was going through. Each thing that happened made we want to read more. I started to feel for her and realize the struggles she was going through were far worse than what words can describe. Crank is about a teenage girl that falls into substance addiction. The main character's name is Kristina. She heads over to Albuquerque to visit her dad and meets new friends that show her the wrong path. She becomes more and more addicted to crank. She had a great life during this time but it eventually caught up to her. She struggles to try to go without crank but the not having it eats her alive. This path lead her to a relationship that gave her an unwanted child. When the baby is born she sees how much she really does want her child. Kristina is a seventeen year old girl who is very shy and wasn't all that great with boys. She was a perfect and gifted student, straight A's and everything any parent wants from their child. At first the most important things to Kristina were good grades and perfection, but after her trip to Albuquerque she had some new things that are important to her. The most important thing to her after going to Albuquerque was drugs. Anything that she could use to get high was important to her. Drugs are also the thing that motivated her to do the things she did. While going through all these things she learned a lot. Kristina learned about the "dark side" and changed. Afterwards she tried to get rid of her addiction and tried to get better. She learned a lot of things through this experience and one of the most important things was that drugs affect your life and the lives of the people you know. The book is actually based on a true story. Ellen Hopkins' daughter was addicted to crystal meth and this book portrays the point of view of a teenager addicted to these types of drugs. These drugs not only affect the user but affect everyone around them. Everyone from family, friends, relatives, and just kids you know. This path can lead to serious injury or death in some cases. The theme of this book is that the choices you make not only affect you, but affect everyone around you. Kristina's parents knew what she was going through and it caused them to make different choices as well. The biggest things that Kristina did was having her child. That completely changed her life and her entire family's life. Her parents had to take care of her son because Kristina isn't old enough to know how to. Kristina's story is worth telling to prevent these sorts of things happening to more and more teenagers. Kristina is the perfect example of what happens when you continue down the wrong path and continue to do things that hurt yourself. This book definitely deserved its spot on the bestseller list because of how amazing it is. I could really feel what was happening to Kristina as if I was her. Ellen Hopkins did an amazing job portraying the life of a substance abusing teenager. Crank is beyond words. It tells a touching story, pulls you in, and you can't stop reading it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whoa.

    It was so good.<BR/>I couldn't stop still I finished.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BESTEST BOOK SINCE FRIGGIN TWILIGHT, BUT WWAAYY EDGYER (:

    I loved this book. One of those types of books where at some parts you find ur mouth friggin drop. its awesome but i certinely wudnt let a lil kid read it lol (:

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must read

    Reviewed for Monster Librarian as part of Banned Books Week

    Crank is Ellen Hopkins' quite controversial, but sorely needed poem-form novel about Kristina Snow, whose life changes forever when her father and the boy she's crushing introduce her to meth. Unlike Impulse, which is raw and shredding in its emotion, Crank is almost cold at times, brutally showing a girl on the edge of being a woman who should by all means have the kind of life that discourages drug use, time after time choosing to ride with the monster. Likewise the people in her life who should be able to step in, fail, leaving Kristina alone to fight a beast most adult are defeated by.
    Crank is a difficult book to handle, but it's far closer to reality than any drug awareness program I went through in school. Hopkins books are strongly positioned to be of great value as fiction, as poetry, and for their education value, boldly stripping away pretenses and sensitivities to show addiction as the cruel master it is. Highly recommended for public collections as well as recommended reading material for those whose lives have been scarred by the real life monsters on our streets.

    Contains: sex, drug use, rape, language

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Not jist for young adults

    Every parent should read this! Hopkins provides insight into the temptation and addiction this generation of kids faces. This story hit close to home and is a must read! I wish I would have read it years ago when my family went through a similar struggle with another "monster". Thank you Ellen for sharing your family's story with the world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Highly recommend it!

    This book is captivating! I am not going to lie to you, when I started reading it and noticed it was written in verse not prose I was kind of disappointed. The reason: I have never read poems with such "matter-of-fact" power and depth. As I got into the story, I realized why it needed to be written in verse! Understanding Kristina's psyche and why would she turn into "Bree" to justify what Kristina "knew", was wrong, was screaming for verses! Excellent book! I think schools should include this in their curriculum for students to read. Maybe this would help with the problem of drugs in adolescents for them to "see" what experimenting with drugs is not a good choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Amazing

    You connect to kristina so much and once you read crank you have to read glass because you feel as if you know kristina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    One of those reads you can't put down, one that I could not stan

    One of those reads you can't put down, one that I could not stand to put down. It shows you the side that addicts want you to see, and the side that really is. Definitely one of the best books I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Just plain good!

    My sister had read these books when i was younger so i thouht id try one. From the moment i first started i was hooked. Hopkins has a way of portraing her characters and event sin the most descriptive way. I just started readin git and im already half way throuh. It looks like a semi thick book but because of the layout its probably only half the size. I deffiently reccomend this book or any by this author Identical was also awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Very Addicting! No Pun Intended...

    I rarely ever give 5 star ratings but this book was awesome! It was so hard to stop reading this book once you start. I read this book in 4 days! Drug addiction stories always strike my interest and this story was very interesting. Its sad how such a straight edge girl ended up having a rebellious alter ego that caused her to get hooked on meth. While your reading, you keep wondering what awful things are gonna happen next.

    I got the sample first and I was close to not buying this book. The writing style is different than what I am used to. But I got over it quick and really enjoyed reading something different. I am definitely gonna read the next two in the series! Onto the next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Wow!

    I totally was blown away by this!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for 'TEENS'

    this book was very intense and grabbing from the very first pages, do not be intimidated by the thickness of the book it is written i poem format and i read the book within a week. Very good book with real life situations

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Crank

    Crank details the story of Kristina Georgia Snow, a typical 16 year old girl who lives in Reno, Nevada. When she asks her mother to visit her absent father, Kristina is thrown into a rollercoaster of a trip. She meets Adam, christens her new self as 'Bree' and becomes addicted to Methamphetamine also known as 'crank' or even by the nickname, 'the monster.' Once Kristina comes back home, she works hard to keep her addiction a secret from her family and tries to score more crank with her new friends, Chase and Brendan. While her new persona is more promiscuous and troublesome, Kristina's new life may finally catch up with her as she strives to get more crank. With terrible consequences that will come to play, Kristina's personal life spirals out of control as she tries to live with her addiction to the monster and letting Bree have full control over her life. The novel is written in verse form and flows very nicely with each situation in which the author is writing about. Ellen Hopkins writing is very unique to many other books, but the style helps depict a more personal connection with Kristina. With many examples of drugs, sex, underage drinking and rape, Crank may hit close to home for some of its readers. I thoroughly enjoyed the novel and loved just how vivid Kristina's crashes were and how she viewed life while she was high. It is a very quick read and will become addicting to the reader. Overall, it is a great book to read and may be helpful to some who seriously consider doing illicit activities by showing them the real life effects that may happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crank by Ellen Hopkins

    I'm not sure what I thought Crank was going to be about, but it wasn't what I expected. The description on the back of the book isn't too detailed, and I guess you could say that I assumed what "monster" meant. I was wrong though. Crank is about Kristina battling her drug addition and the fight going on within herself.

    Kristina was just like any other teenager: good grades, good kid, and followed the rules. Then one day, she just got mixed up with the wrong kind of people, which led to her trying and getting hooked on crystal meth. The more she used it, the more she wanted it.

    I love the idea of this being written in verses because it seemed to add more emotion to the story. Not that there isn't already enough emotion going on when it comes to drugs, because there is. But not only does drugs effect the user, but it also effects the user's loved ones, just in a different kind of way. I haven't ever been involved in drugs but I know some people that have, and no one wants to sit back and watch someone they care about slip farther and farther from reality - relying solely on their next high to get them through the day.

    Crank is a very raw, and terrifyingly real story. It shows what someone's life will become like when addicted to drugs. Crank is just an amazing and so full of truth read that I recommend this to both teenagers and adults. Also, there is a sequel, Glass, which I will definitely be reading. And a third book, Fallout, which is due to release in 2010.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CRANK by Ellen Hopkins is a great book~

    I think Ellen Hopkins is an outstanding writer of poetry. I like the way she writes, but a lot of people say her writing is a waste of paper because of how little is on a page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    Awesome Book

    This book is great. Crank and Glass are just marvelous. Can't wait for Fallout. In Crank, I was a bit mad that Kristina/ Bree chose to do Meth. Her life really did spiral down. And, in Glass I was incredibly frustrated with the fact that she practically abandoned her Son, Family, and Old Friends. She was also a bit of a whore. She chose to have Sex with Brendan (Even though he Raped her), Chase, Brad, and Trey. Quite honestly I don't think she cared about her baby. But above all, great book. Looking forward to Fallout in 2010!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    A real eye-opener

    Crank has definitly opened my eyes to a lot more now. Hopkins really discribes the struggles and addictions that come with drugs. She illustatres what it can do to your life and your body. Even your personality. For any teenager or aduly curious about drugs, i am sure that is book will give you more than one reason to say "No". Like i said before, Hopkins really tells how drugs can change a person and get them into a lot of trouble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 988 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 50