Customer Reviews for

Crash (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

I Love this book! You have to read it!!

I read this book on the way back from a family vacation to the beach, it was so entertaining it made the 6 hour trip feel like 5 min.! As a middle school student myself I could really relate to all the characters. When you're reading this book, you become attached to al...
I read this book on the way back from a family vacation to the beach, it was so entertaining it made the 6 hour trip feel like 5 min.! As a middle school student myself I could really relate to all the characters. When you're reading this book, you become attached to all the characters wanting to laugh with them, cry with them, and you sometimes even get mad at them. In this book the main character Crash Coogan and his best friend Mike are the school's star football players, and don't forget bullies. They think they're really something special if they're only in 7th grade and they're already a household name. Other then being show offs, one of their favorite activities are making Penn Webbs life miserable, but being a football sensation isn't all it's cracked up to be, when Crash starts to figure out that Webb has something that he will never have, and it doesn't matter how many games they win. Crash starts to learn the hard life lesson of who your true friends really are.

posted by MeganJo on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

English

I had to read this book for english,it is really boring.Happy valentines day.bye

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    I Love this book! You have to read it!!

    I read this book on the way back from a family vacation to the beach, it was so entertaining it made the 6 hour trip feel like 5 min.! As a middle school student myself I could really relate to all the characters. When you're reading this book, you become attached to all the characters wanting to laugh with them, cry with them, and you sometimes even get mad at them. In this book the main character Crash Coogan and his best friend Mike are the school's star football players, and don't forget bullies. They think they're really something special if they're only in 7th grade and they're already a household name. Other then being show offs, one of their favorite activities are making Penn Webbs life miserable, but being a football sensation isn't all it's cracked up to be, when Crash starts to figure out that Webb has something that he will never have, and it doesn't matter how many games they win. Crash starts to learn the hard life lesson of who your true friends really are.

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Pappydap

    This book is sooo hilarious. It is made for both boys and girls and is a must-read. I think the funniest part was when Crash got the idea that his grandpa would die if he didn't get a gift for him, so he gets a pair of red high heels. Even a 6 year old would find a more reasonable gift. The overall story teaches a good and enjoyable moral and would be great to recommend to preteens and teens.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Book review for Ms. Castle

    This book I can relate to a lot. The main character, Crash, is like me in most ways. We both like football and are good at it. We have friends who are good at it too. The only thing we don't have in common is that I don't have any grandfathers and he does. His grandfather was a sailor and my grandfather was a drunkard. He has one sister and i have two but they get on our nerves. There's this boy that just moved in a couple of years back and he's kind of geekish. They always do bad things to him but he doesn't really care. This geekish guy is slowly tearing his life apart. He wants to do bad things to him but not as bad as his friend wants him to. That's tearing him away from his friend. It's tearing the girl he likes away from him because she likes the geek and not him. He's tearing his sister away from Crash by protesting against a mall. And he's about to take his spot on the track team.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Crash

    The book was funny.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Love this book

    Jerry spinelli is a genius! Wonderfuly writen fantastic way of telling how crash evolves through the storie. Great book on bullying. I've reas this book gazillions of times. Never gets old

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Crash is a great book! I loved reading it because it was so ente

    Crash is a great book! I loved reading it because it was so entertaining and relatable, it also contained alot of humor which added to the fun of reading it. The main characters are Crash Coogan, Mike and Penn. Crash and Mike are both star football players at their school. But they are both a bit self centered, bossy and sometimes they can be bullies. Crash also is ungrateful and sometimes doesn't understand or respect life and what really counts. But when Crash's grandfather becomes sick and has a stroke, he begins to understand how to respect other people and be thankful for what he has. I would definatlety reccomend this book to everyone but particularly people who like humor but also heart felt moments. I think some people would also enjoy because they could be able to learn a really important life lesson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Nice

    Read at school for teacher litachure circles it was good

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Best book ever!

    I loved how the author shows how even the toughest of kids have a soft spot. Literally from the first page, I was interested in the book. The way that the author uses an surprisingly accurate kid's point of view is hilarious! I would give it 10 stars if I could! Very touching!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Crash is one of those books that I've seen included on recommend

    Crash is one of those books that I've seen included on recommendation lists for years, and I've always thought, "yeah, I should read that so that I can recommend it to boys," but I never did. I saw it included on a list last week as one of the 50 Best Books for Boys and had a lady come into the book store looking for it, and I thought, "that's it...that's just too much of a sign for me to ignore it any longer." So I read it this afternoon...yeah, it's that quick of a read and I really enjoyed it. Most of the readers talked about how funny it was, but I was more struck at the subtlety of the writing.

    John "Crash" Coogan is not that likable; he's a typical nascent jock, thinks he's got to be the best, the fastest, the toughest. He's not that bright, but doesn't seem to care although when the new dorky guy, Penn, named after some race Crash has never heard of, he finds himself both fascinated and repelled by him. I don't know if younger readers get the mix of those feelings. Crash seems to just be making fun of Penn, but really he's so deeply envious of Penn's caring and involved parents, his security in speaking up for or acting on his beliefs, his total comfort in the core of what makes him Penn that Crash just has to punish him. Eventually though it is both the boys' love for their grandfathers that makes them the same, and also it's where Crash is redeemed as a character. Jerry Spinelli wrote a lovely little book that boys and girls can learn something from...and adult readers can enjoy it, too.

    As for me, yep, I've got another boy-centric book that I can recommend to my customers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Crash

    Love this book! It's about John Coogan also known as Crash. It starts out as a memory when he is six years old, and how he met Penn Webb. Penn is the only kid that doesn't call him Crash. After the memory, it comes back to the present. Crash and Mike (Crash's best friend) go to the same school. They just started middle school, so did Penn. When Mike and Crash tryout for football they see Penn Webb trying out for cheerleading...



    Find out what happens in Jerry Spinelli's, Crash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Awesome

    After reading just the first few pages i couldnt put the book down. Personally, i dislike reading but this book really stuck out to me. My friend knew i didnt like reading so she recommended this book to me because it doesnt have too many pages and the author did a great job with how dramatic the boys live is when others pick on him. Honestly i recommend this novel to all children and teenagers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    A MUST READ!!!

    I had to read this for my sixth grade summer reading...it is REALLY good! I read this in three hours!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Its awesome

    Its a real good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Looks cool

    Looks funny and cool. Im about to read it for school. I hate school

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I'm reading this book now and please read my comment

    I love this book when I have spare time I read the book I read it on the bus on my way to school I really recomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Reviwer101*

    Good book for 4 grade and up

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Best book

    My faviret dook ever

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    thanks it sounds like a good book for a 6th grader that thinks h

    thanks it sounds like a good book for a 6th grader that thinks hes tough
    ljso 5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    This is an awesome book!

    This book is so awesome! When I was reading this, I couldn't pull myself away. Jerry Spinelli did a great job making the story of Crash( the main character) and all the other charcters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Awsome book

    I had to read this book for part of my sixth grade summer reading. I love it! I bought it this afternoon and finished it at 8:37. Im probably going to read it again in august to refresh my memory. Someone i know had a stroke so when Crash grandfather had a stroke i was so upset.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15