Customer Reviews for

Crash Proof: How to Profit From the Coming Economic Collapse

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Needed Advice for These Strange Times

    I read this very interesting book a couple of months ago and was surprised to see it climbing the charts again. The topic is certainly timely and much needed however... <BR/><BR/>While I agree with the Lion's share of the advice (and the author is more competent in these matters than I) contained therein, I struggle with accepting his advice in precious metals and foreign markets. As I believe, the foreign markets still reflect the good `ole USA at this time, I just cannot trust them. In addition, gold is too volatile for my needs at the age of 52. Of course, the book speaks loudly about age and options. <BR/><BR/>Everything else I believed was right on target therefore I give it a 4 star rating. I hope you found this review helpful. Michael L. Gooch, SPHR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    I plug this in due dilagence. Get this book it is a great educational prospeftive reveiw of how the US Econo works. Peter really does make alot of pure sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm a Forex Price Action trader. I make money when global currencies move. From that point of veiw I notice things in the last few years concerning the global markets. But Peter's no nonsense way of layng it all out there in a clear and common sense manner is fantastic, and he makes sense of it all. This is by far the best investor's book I've EVER READ....EVER. Unless you enjoy paying almost $5/gal for gas then I'd say this book is for everone that currently is tied to the US Dollar. Buy it, read it, and FOLLOW the advice given! This is the TIP you've been looking for!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Written for a wide audience

    Very good book. Lots of simple explanations of the problems facing our country and curreny. A must read for anyone concerned about our economy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Financial Life Saving

    I am so grateful to have found this book. It says all the things I was feeling,but didn't know where to find the research and proof. Everyone should read Crash Proof not matter what their needs are. It could help them save their assets and learn what to do and what not to do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Eye opening book!

    An absolute must read for every American interested in preserving his wealth. Peter Schiff is one of the very few economists today not afraid to question fake government numbers and Wall Street ¿experts¿. All facts and recommendations are backed by tons of facts and easy to understand examples. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Thought provoking

    Peter will get you thinking about what is lurking in the shadows. With the knowledge from this book you'll get a better understanding of how to navigate the treacherous course ahead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    This book is a foundation text for the current market environment

    A number of books in the finance section of the chain bookstores are foolish or tend to churn the same material with a different tag line. I read this book on a recomendation from a friend and i was impressed. A number of the topics were related to issues that I had considered, had concerns about but had never truly addressed in my investments. This book got me to put my money where my mouth was and I have slept better for it. I have given copies to friends and acted on the recomendations, it is the best money I have spent this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have been watching Peter Schiff on TV for a while. This book explains in detail without the interruptions that (MSM and CNBC in particular like to create) in an attempt to ridicule Peter's point of view. I found in particular the bold type scattered throughout the book to be very helpful to remember main points of interest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    You Must Read Crashproof

    For those who think that the bull market will never end...keep moving on. For those of you, who are beginning to wake up, and realize the housing bubble is more than a hiccup, then read this book. You'll start seeing what George Soros and Warren Buffet have been warning about for years...This books connects all the dot in the world economy...Peter's predictions are coming to reality...the sooner you get on board Peter's arc, the sooner you start conserving your weath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this book tell u about the biggest finanical crisis ever.

    From both an economic and monetary perspective, the United States is a house of cards-impressive on the outside, but a disaster waiting to happen beneath the surface. In a relatively short period of time, the country has gone from the world's largest creditor to its greatest debtor; the value of the dollar has declined; and manufacturing has given way to non-exportable services. While these and other issues could spell disaster for your financial well-being, the situation could also present unique opportunities-if one is prepared.

    For more than a decade, seasoned Wall Street prognosticator Peter Schiff has not only observed the U.S. economy, but has helped his clients restructure their portfolios to reflect his outlook. What he sees today is a nation facing an economic storm brought on by growing federal, personal, and corporate debt; too little savings; a declining dollar; and lack of domestic manufacturing.

    Here, Schiff provides listeners with an insightful examination of the structural weaknesses underlying this impending economic meltdown, and discusses how they can protect themselves-and profit-during the difficult times that lie ahead. Using common-sense analysis, creative analogies, and easy-to-understand language, Schiff entertains as well as educates, and outlines a specific three-step plan that will allow listeners to preserve wealth and protect the purchasing power of their savings.

    #1: Rethinking Your Stock Portfolio: shows how to replace endangered U.S. dollar holdings with a portfolio of foreign securities that are safer, significantly higher yielding, and appropriate for any investment objectives

    #2: Gold Rush:examines the various ways to capitalize on the bull market in gold, and silver, and explains how they can add both safety and exciting growth potential to a conservative foreign stock portfolio

    #3: Stay Liquid: discusses the importance of liquidity in times of financial uncertainty-from having enough money for living expenses to keeping a reserve of uncommitted cash that can be used to acquire assets at bargain prices

    Investing using conventional wisdom will not work during times of financial distress. That's why Crash Proof has taken the reality of today's economic situation into account as it offers guidance. Filled with in-depth insights and expert advice, Crash Proof will help listeners survive and thrive during the coming years of economic uncertainty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Schiff Makes Sense (Unless You're a Wall Street Propagandist)

    I'm one of those small investors who over the last 20 years has fallen prey to the propaganda Wall Street spins to move the masses (while insiders bet the opposite play). Schiff was been routinely labelled a crazy bear over the last decade and I was starting to believe it...until his vision was validated in the current "Great Recession". Check out YouTube for Schiff's 2006 video at the Mirage in Las Vegas, where 3/4 of his predictions have come true.

    Only now does WS reluctantly begin to embrace his way of thinking.
    I am a convert to most of his thinking and prudent investors should read his book - but get the updated version, "Crash Proof 2.0" which just went on sale - I am ordering mine right now. Get out of US Dollar denominated securities and preserve your purchasing power! Ignore Schiff at your own peril. Small investors without institutional clout, major client status or insider knowledge beware WS corruption, which now has the funding (and blessing) of the US Government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Great book for investment!

    I've opened my eyes on how to understand economy and make good use of my money. Thank you, Mr. Schiff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Crash Proof

    Crash Proof: How to Profit from the Coming Economic Collapse
    Interesting book in regards to these financial times. What I like about it was that it wasn't just more of the same "diversify.blah..blah. blah." He gave lots of specifics. The Author presents both out-of-the-box and common sense ideas to not only survive, but even thrive in a financial crisis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A must read book for Americans!

    I have listened to Peter Schiff for many years on his interviews and internet radio show forecasting the crash of the USA economy. His message is coming true. The book tells of the housing/credit bust, government debt, and how inflation is a great threat to Americans, the dollar, and their assets. I'm taking his advice and placing my money in precious metals, commodities, and high foreign dividend paying companies. I'm trying to get my immediate family protected as well. Americans need to heed his warning. It's real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Common-sense insightful examination and analysis, creative analogies, and easy-to-understand language. Entertains & educates. Gives specific plans to preserve wealth and protect the purchasing power of your savings. Expert advice that will help you not only survive, but thrive. The piggy bank on the cover is your savings being protected by Schiff's Crash Proof. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Mere words are not enough. A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Fascinating read

    Like Mr. Schiff, I am a pessimist when it comes to the future of the American economy. I found his analyses fascinating and was impressed by the presentation of his data.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2