BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crash the Chatterbox: Hearing God's Voice Above All Others

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    Crash The Chatterbox blew me away. Steven Furtick's willingness

    Crash The Chatterbox blew me away. Steven Furtick's willingness to share his own moments of weakness is refreshing to see in a pastor. In this book I was challenged in my very thought process to quit ending the sentence at 'What if?' He shows that by listening to the promises of God and who God says we are, we have the ability to conquer our fears and self-perceived limitations. This isn't a one time victory we can accomplish, but a practice we must work at continually. I am very thankful God has used Pastor Furtick to show me how even my past failures that may have made me felt too ashamed to try again, can actually be used as tools to sow seed! If you've ever had self-doubts or had trouble dealing with the voices that say you can't do something, this is definitely the book for you!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    As we continue to seek truth in Christ in discovering who we tru

    As we continue to seek truth in Christ in discovering who we truly are in Him, we will begin to discover we are unstoppable ecause of the All konwing and All powerful Lord who lives on the inside of us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    This book sounds really good to read for teachings......

    I really believe this book could guide me even though I haven't read this yet, based on the other reviews and that I have been struggling yet learning whose voice is speaking in my head: mine, Satan, God, or the Holy Spirit. Even if I'm a believer for about half a year now. And this book looks good to read to guide me to hear God's voice the most and during loud events and such. I hope I can purchase this book soon so I can really review this book truely!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Steven Furtick is the Lead Pastor of Elevation Church in Charlot

    Steven Furtick is the Lead Pastor of Elevation Church in Charlotte, North Carolina and is the author of two books, Sun Stand Still and the New York Times bestselling release, Greater, which debuted at #4 on The New York Times Best Seller list. His latest book "Crash the Chatterbox" from Multnomah press is about "silencing the voices" (a more familiar phrase) that keep us from realizing our full potential.

    At it's core, "Chatterbox" is about the negativity that we sometimes poison ourselves with. We allow the voices of panic, opposition, blame and anxiety to speak to us instead of being shaped by the true voice of God. Most of us don't have to wait for the devil to attack us - because we do a fine job of self-abuse on our own. Chatterbox addresses how to switch from listening to the lies your mind tells you to listening to the voice of God.

    Jesus says plainly in John 10 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.

    Through 4 affirming truths, Furtick tackles each lie one at a time

    1. God says "I am." (insecurity)
    2. God says "He will." (fear)
    3. God says "He has." (condemnation)
    4. God says "I can." (discouragement) 

    Furtick writes a very easy to read book that contains plenty of real life examples from his own life as well as questions in the back for group studies.

    Thank you to Multnomah press for this preview copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    One Real Voice Matters I decided to review ¿Crash The Chatt


    One Real Voice Matters




    I decided to review “Crash The Chatterbox” by Steven Furtick. When looking at the title of the book, I did not know what to expect in reading this book, but it all makes perfect sense now. The author gave some profound trinkets to aid in discerning whose voice is whose. The author details the slick talking, full of lies, and the sneaky handed way the enemy works. Although the author understands and knows that God also speaks to us as well, but when fully observing who is talking to you, as you grow spiritually you will recognize the voices. I truly grasp the title Crash The Chatterbox because that is exactly what the enemy is and will constantly try to throw you off course to move you out of position. This book is an inspiration and really speaks on issues that we deal with in life. It is the Satan job to appeal to our fleshly nature, but it is God that desires our spiritual man and to be with Him. The enemy does not want us to have a tight relationship with the Heavenly Father and shows it. I encourage everyone to read this book and to share with the church ministries. 




    “I received this book for free from the publisher’s Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    Another amazing read by Pastor Steven Furtick!  After reading Cr

    Another amazing read by Pastor Steven Furtick!  After reading Crash the Chatterbox I feel like I've just stepped out of the cage of a UFC title fight! This book will help you to confront the enemies constant whispers of discouragement, defeat and delusion and lies. Furtick doesn't give the reader a quick fix or proven formula to quieting the opposing voice but he fuels the reader a fighting strategy that will assist you in slugging out your victory.
    This book is about hearing God's voice above all others and cranking up the volume of His victorious voice while violently crashing the chatterbox that never shuts up. If you are constantly in a battle with your mind, you are living with condemnation, like to throw pity parties or you are just weary in the day to day fight this book will inspire you to go at it with everything you've got.
    Don't let a battle you are afraid to fight keep you from a victory that already been won!
    I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my review, but this is a book that I would definitely purchase for my personal library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Peace. Be Still. Silencing the Inner Voice. The book is wri

    Peace. Be Still. Silencing the Inner Voice.

    The book is written to inspire those who are new the Christian journey as well as those who are further along. The book is broken into four main sections giving personal examples as well as examples from the Bible. While the book dragged in some sections for me I came away with the four confessions (God says I am, God says He will, God says He has, and God says I can) and practical ways to quite the chatterbox which keeps me from hearing God and being all He desires me to be.
    My overall rating for this book is a 3.5 out of 5. While it inspired me it was more of a reminder of what I already know based on my relationship with God.

    Please note: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you struggle with a stream of negative thoughts (and who does

    If you struggle with a stream of negative thoughts (and who doesn't?), you may want to read Crash the Chatterbox by Steven Furtick. I don't think it's an overstatement to call "Crash the Chatterbox" a life-changing book. Pastor Furtcik explains how three areas of our lives leave us vulnerable to lies from the enemy: insecurity, fear, condemnation and discouragement. As he shares his own experiences with the chatterbox, Furtick explains how we can drown out these lies and hear God's truth for our lives.
    Furtick explains that negative self-talk is annoying, but more importantly, it blocks us from God's purpose for our lives. The author teaches us four truths that defeat the chatterbox: God says I am, God says He will, God says He has, God says I can. We can replace the lies from the enemy with God's love and purpose for us. 
    The author writes with transparency, humor and encouragement. I highly recommend this book; you may want to read it more than once! 

    I received my copy of this book free of charge from the publisher, Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review; all opinions in this review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    If we are all honest with ourselves, there are times that we dea

    If we are all honest with ourselves, there are times that we deal with the little voice in our heads that strives to fill us up with junk.  Right?

    Steve Furtick teaches the reader how to deal with that “little voice” in Crash the Chatterbox.  My viewpoint is that everyone is dealing with the chatter, has dealt with the chatter, or will deal with it in the near future.  So, be prepared. The reality is that Satan (the one whose job is to kill, steal, and destroy)  feeds us the chatter to distract us.  So, I believe it would be fair to say that this is a must read for just everyone…mature or immature, young or old. and anywhere in between.
    Here are some of my favorite lines from the book.  I hope they will whet your appetite to the point you jump into the fight against the chatterbox. 
    -The voice you believe will determine the future you experience.
    -In some ways insecurity is the ultimate insult to God.  Because when we allow insecurity to override God’s purpose in our lives, we’re implying that He didn’t quite get the job done when He put us together.
    -One of the main reasons we struggle with insecurity:  we’re comparing our behind-the-scenes with everybody else’s highlight reel.
    -The serpent gets nervous when we start challenging the doubts, dysfunctions, and insecurities his questions have propagated in our lives.  When we discover what God has really said, we experience a liberation that leads to fulfillment.

    I could give you many more quotes, but I will stop.  

    I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Wonderfully written! Mr. Furtick writes not only from His word,

    Wonderfully written! Mr. Furtick writes not only from His word, but from his own personal heart and experiences. This book provides great tools that are refreshing for the soul. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Thought Provoking and Challenging

    I have read Steve Furtick's previous books and was blessed, this one has not disappointed. The tone is somewhat different but definitely worth the read and challenging as well. I appreciate his common sense, down-to-earth approach to the Word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1