Customer Reviews for

Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A TRUE ADVENTURE OF THE MIND AND HEART

    This was my first Robert Kurson book but will definitely not be my last. He takes you into the world of Mike May, a man filled with the curiosity and a willingness to take opportunities that come his way, even when some dangers may be looming. Kurson tells this true story with such skill, you will believe you are right there with Mike. If you are afraid of books with some science in them, dont be. This book is so well written, it is neither dry or hard to understand at all. The story of Mike and his family, reads like a wonderful love story too. Don't miss out on this amazing book about courage and some of the most fascinating things about sight that you will ever learn, just as Mike did and just as Kurson did. Thank goodness for men like Mike May and Robert Kurson, who both share their curiosity of the world with us. This book is a must!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    LOVED this book!!!

    I tell everyone I know to read this fantastic story. An easy read and so very interesting. One of my favorites!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great read!!!!

    this is by far one of the best books ever......mike may is one of the most fasinating men i have ever heard of!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read!

    I can't tell you how many people I've personally recommended this book to. It's a quick read, and I just couldn't put it down. The main character is so intriguing and well rounded. If not for all the technical information on stem cell research and other scientific explanations the author gives as background, you would think the main character is straight out of a hollywood movie. What an inspiring life he has lived! READ THIS BOOK!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    Can't forget this; have told many others about it

    The book has a lot of purple prose and is not particularly well written (in my opinion) but the personality of Mike and the facts of his story are incredible. I keep rememebering it -- and am on the website today to buy another copy because I foolishly gave mine away. This book is a testimonial to a truly unique, adventurous and indomitable spirit -- who is also a good reporter of the facts from the user's perspective at the frontiers of visual science. One of the things I found the hardest to stomach was the incredible STUPIDITY of the ophthalmologist who did the stem celll transplant that helped him regain his vision. The doctor's failure to tell Mike about the possiblly devastating emotional consequences and his failure to refer Mike to an occupational therapist to assist with his rehabilitation were just stunning to me. . . . and I'm a doctor. What an indictment. For an insight into another mystery of the human brain, I suggest you also read My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor, a neuroanatomy professor who suffered a stroke and is able to describe what it was like to have only one half of her brain working!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Fascinating look into the brain -- and life.

    I suppose every seeing person has thought at one time or another what it would be like to be blind. This book flips that idea -- it tells the story of a real person who regained his sight after being blinded as a little boy. I can't think of another memoir that has made such an impression on me. This man's courage is unbelievable. And finding out how the brain handles sight -- or doesn't handle it -- after recovering it is fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    I never knew

    I could not imagine the ramifications of being blind then having your sight returned. I thought it would be simple, I don't see then I see. But the author explains why it is not so. He is a successful blind man that risks much to see and risks even more to continue to see. The 'needles' procedure to stem the loss will make you cringe. I have come away with a new respect for the physical gifts I have as well as an admiration for those that don't have as many but still get by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Not just an incredible story, but an instruction manual on life...

    I listened to this book on cd while taking the train every day. There i am, sitting in a public place and -at moments, crying uncontrollably with tears streaming down my face other times, laughing out loud - now that tells you all you need to know about this book. This book should be mandatory reading for everyone who is embarking on 'life!' You will never look at seeing in the same light again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    PAGE TURNER

    I just finished 'Crashing Through' and while I couldn't put it down and read it faster than any other book I was sad to have it end. What a wonderful story! The writting keeps you on the edge of your seat. I laughed, cried and felt happy througout the whole book. Great, great, great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    ¿It was this stumbling that gave May a sense of the world¿s potential¿it was all so big and fascinating if one was willing to get lost. When friends asked if he wasn¿t scared to lose his way, he confessed that sometimes he was, but he felt it was worth it, that some of the best things seemed to happen when you didn¿t know for sure where you¿d end up.¿ This description of Mike May, from chapter four of Robert Kurson¿s Crashing Through, encapsulates the story of a man blinded since age 3 who charges forward, despite his fears of the unknown. He falls, runs into or over things and frequently becomes badly bruised, but in the end, he¿s mesmerized by his discoveries of what¿s there, but more importantly, of what he can do. What a metaphor for all of us! Regaining his sight was as fearful as losing it. As his case has shown the world, seeing isn¿t nearly as easy as sighted people think it is and sight is based as much in the mind as in the eyes. I found several other parallels in my own life to May¿s story and I¿m sure you will as well, if only you take the chance to ¿crash through¿ Kurson¿s book. It¿s one I¿ll definitely read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1