Customer Reviews for

Crater

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    I was about to review this novel when I saw the "lots of re

    I was about to review this novel when I saw the "lots of religious tripe" comment below. I am puzzled why someone would submit a completely erroneous review. As far as I read, there's nothing about "how God will save you" in this novel or anything about magical thinking instead of science. What gives? Hickam is a scientist & engineer and Crater is scientifically accurate as far as I can tell while also just another really good Homer Hickam novel. Religious drive? None except a prayer the miners say before they go to work. That's about it.

    Anyway, with that said, I really enjoyed this, the first of the Helium-3 trilogy. I liked Crater, the main character in the novel, the gillie that rides around on his shoulder (intelligent slime mold!), Petro, Crater's brother (a card shark), Maria (his boss's granddaughter) and the whole concept of a convoy creeping across a thousand miles of the moon, then the battle in space aboard the Cycler, a ship that continually orbits the Earth and moon, and a vicious battle cruiser. Great, easy reading that YA's will love and this adult did as well.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I am a fan of Homer Hickham, this sci-fi tale draws on Hickham's

    I am a fan of Homer Hickham, this sci-fi tale draws on Hickham's experience in mining and the space program, fun story, think of it as Coalwood on the moon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    I don't usually read a lot of science fiction. Something abut th

    I don't usually read a lot of science fiction. Something abut this book caught my eye though and I'm so glad I decided to read it. The subject of space travel and living on the moon has always fascinated me so I devoured this book very quickly. The characters in the story are so real you can almost hear their voices in your head. I fell in love with Crater almost immediately. He has a little "sidekick" called a gillie that I was just absolutely bewitched by and the interaction between Crater and the gillie make for some really cute dialog in the book. The emotions of fear, love, jealousy and friendship are entwined perfectly with some great suspense and adventure. This was a wonderful futuristic coming of age story that I would recommend for anyone of any age. I think it has a little bit of something that everyone can enjoy. I will definitely be searching out Homer Hickam's other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Moon science fiction for teens? Sweet!

    Crater is a Helium-3 miner on the moon. He’s also one of the few decent guys left on the natural satellite. When he saves the life of a coworker, he earns a promotion he’s not certain he wants that sends him on a dangerous adventure across the moon to pick up a package that many will do anything to keep him from obtaining.

    Moon science fiction for teens? Sweet! This book was sort of a high-tech future meets the Old West on the moon. Many of the characters who live there had never been to earth. I loved Crater’s character and his voice. He was a lot of fun. This type of science fiction is a much needed genre for Christian boy readers, so I’m excited to see it available. Girls who love science fiction will like it too. There is a little romance thread in there, as well, but it’s not mushy enough to bother boys. If you like science fiction or adventure stories, you’ll like Crater.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Cool!!!

    Very awesome.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Leave it to Homer Hickam to combine his love of Coal Mining with

    Leave it to Homer Hickam to combine his love of Coal Mining with his love of Space and come up with a futuristic space mining adventure.

    I only wish he had been a bit more Christ-like in his research and his writing - which is ironic because I see one person has already complained about the "religious drivel" in the book...

    Anyway, here’s my opinion:

    I could easily overlook the stiff prose, the lack of natural speech and language progression and the sometimes stilted answers of a main character who is supposed to be highly intelligent… but the presentation of biological evolution as “truth” was just too much for me.

    The book would be so much more enjoyable, in my humble opinion, without the patent nonsense that “scientists” like to try and pass off as truth.

    It’s too bad really…

    The story itself isn’t a bad one. It’s a great idea and I’m certain more than a few mainstream readers have greatly enjoyed it but anyone who actually believes the Bible, knows that the story is also filled with nonsense.

    It doesn’t really matter if everything on earth looks 6,000 years old or 6 Billions years old. We weren’t there so we’ll never really know anyway and I don’t understand what people think they’re going to accomplish by arguing about it constantly .

    If you believe that God created the Earth and the stars and the heavens, you have to believe that evolution is nonsense.

    I’ve never understood how so many people have been so easily taken in by this theory of evolution. I truly do not understand how people would rather believe the fallacy of such a theory rather than believe in God. And for those who claim to believe in God, it is so much more disturbing that they would then take this theory as truth as well. That is most likely the source of my greatest disappointment. Here is a writer who I have admired for years and I discover that, not only does he believe this ridiculous idea, but he goes about claiming to be a “Christian” while spouting it as “truth”.

    Now, you have two choices from here. You can take the entire book as fiction – including the nonsense that is presented as “science”. Or, you can enjoy the fast-paced, danger-filled adventure and try to ignore the nonsense. It’s up to you.

    PARENTS… A WARNING:  

    If you chose to introduce this book to your teens or pre-teens - be aware that, as they read about the thrilling adventure and the extreme danger that faces our two main characters, it will be far too easy for them to be caught up in the story and confused by the false concepts presented. If you are a strong believer in the bible, keep that in mind when considering these novels for your young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    ..... To Edme

    Dont.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Edme

    She smiles. "What i dis? It tastes good." (........)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Striking

    Sits dejectedly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good sci-fi thriller. I cant wait to read the rest of the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: I did!  Once I got past the li

    3.5 stars

    Did I enjoy this book: I did!  Once I got past the lingo (which seemed a bit extreme for a novel that’s supposed to take place in the near future), I was hooked.  I liked Crater from the start, and I’ve been searching the internet for days trying to find out where to get my own Gillie.  A few important plot points happened rather rapidly (mainly Crater’s interview with Nurse Soichi), but I’m confident Hickam has plans to expand these topics in the later books of the series.




    Crater is part Harry Potter, part Indiana Jones, part Alice in Wonderland.  He’s got an illegal side-kick, a techno-tricked out horse, a frenemy and a complicated love interest, and it all works.  Hickam knows what he’s doing, and although he might do well to ease up on the kitschy language (“Mooncrete”?  “do4u”?  Really?), he tells a great story, and I can’t wait to read the next installment!




    I’d say this book is awesome, but…  “It knows that, Sir.”




    Would I recommend it: Yep!  If you’re into sci-fi (or Westerns, for that matter), you’ll love it.  You’ll also want a Gillie.  Trust me.




    Will I read it again: No, but I can’t wait for the next book in the Helium-3 series!




    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)
    *As reviewed by Melissa on Every Free Chance Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Wow...

    Who ever insulted God like that is pure EVIL, you are going to the lake of fire my non-friend, and if you don't know what that means... LOOK IT UP IN THE BIBLE and if you're mad, why not cry me a river, build me a bridge, and... GET OVER IT!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    I’m not much for reading science fiction, but this book ap

    I’m not much for reading science fiction, but this book appealed to me because it’s about a celestial object I’m quite familiar with. And the way this novel portrays the moon with the miners, mutants and all else in between (a highly intelligent slime mold for one) is pretty fascinating for me.

    It is the 22nd century and as is the case in many such books the fate of the world is left in the hands of a sixteen-year-old kid, here named Crater Trueblood, a seasone Helium-3 miner. He makes the mistake of doing something one day and thus puts himself up to a life of heroic adventures for the sake of many. His mission in this first book is to recover a powerful object that apparently has the capacity to affect life on the moon as they know it.

    This is a novel for kids, but is also something an adult might enjoy reading. The plot is engaging enough, the characters interesting enough and the loose ends compelling enough to make a reader want to watch out for the next books in the series. The only thing that could probably turn off some sentimental readers is the stinger at the ending. :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    lots of religious tripe

    really really was looking forward to this-- extremely disappointed that Hickam randomly decides there will be no terrorists in the future, that what's basically unregulated "coal mining" on the moon is okay cuz, you know, it's on the moon, continual tripe about how God will save you blah, blah, magical thinking is the way to go instead of science, blah, blah. Seriously, I expected *way* more in the plot development. I *may* check out the next one in the library...no way I'm paying for religious drivel.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1