Customer Reviews for

Crave

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended!

    First let me get the minor complaints off my chest. One I really wish they would tell you ahead of time how many pages these books were on nooks.Granted I loved the book but it was 187 pages on my nook. I read it in one night.Two I don't like how Shay uses the Sick Girl Excuse only when it benefits her. And Three I would have liked to hear from Gabriel a little more.
    Alright moving on So Shay is this "Sick Girl" with some rare blood disorder that nobody knows what it is and basically is counting down the days until she dies. Then her Doctor/Famous Step Father, Martin, "tweaks" her blood transfusion. This is when Shay first gets a Glimpse of Gabriel who is in fact a Vampire and down the path we go to another hot Vampire Love story! This book, for being as short as it was, kept my attention because of all the twist and the love story. This book is one I will be reading again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Craving More!

    4 1/2 *
    After a slow start, this book takes off at a speed that will not allow you to put it down. The only thing that annoyed me was I went into it thinking it was a stand alone. About 3/4 of the way through it - way before I got to the cliff hanger of all cliff hangers- I knew it could not possibly be wrapped up in one book. Thank goodness I only have to wait till the end of September for the next book-Sacrifice.
    The characters in this book were so easy to get into. Sick girl Shay was totally fascinating. The authors did such a great job making you see and feel what she was going through on a daily basis, I have to wonder if one of them knew someone growing up that was terminally ill. Her best friend Olivia was there through thick and thin even when Shay wasn't as good a friend back to her. And Gabriel, who we don't actually get to meet until half way through the book, was a character of contradictions, that made him so believable. As a lover of paranormal romance, this was an awesome book. As a lover of YA novels, I felt it hit the nail on the head consistently. You would think by know I'd be burnt out on vampire books but the authors have taken the oldest, most used, paranormal creature- the vampire- and penned a fresh new tale that will keep me and others up all night reading just one more chapter. I can definitely recommend this for middle school and up, though I (an adult reader) was just as hooked by this great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I felt this was a really good book with the exception of the las

    I felt this was a really good book with the exception of the last section in part 1, part one just felt like it seemed to drag on and become major repetitive. After that though the story really seemed to pick up and I had a hard time putting this book down. I would strongly recommend this to anyone who likes Young Adult and Vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Great book

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Omggggg Amazing want more

    Ahhhhhh whay happens there is going to be a next one rigt amazing book got bored inn rhe beggining but ahhhhhhh love itscreaming moreeeewwweww

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    highly recommend

    I knew by previous comments there was a cliff hanger before starting this book. I think this was a great book, unique storyline and kept my attention from start to finish. I would be happy to see what the writer has in store for these characters... Worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Great+Read%21%21

    I+loved+this+book.+I+can%27t+wait+for+the+second+one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!!

    I loved this book! And I can not wait till Sept when she comes out with the 2nd! It keeps your attention so well and its not boring at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great book

    I'm 30 & I loved this teen book. I'm really into vamp books & these authors did a great job giving us a great perspective of the vampire. CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IF IT WILL CONTINUE:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    CRAVE is a must read, I could not put it down, I was glued to my nook for a day straight! All the characters were perfectly developed and sucked me into the plot from the first pages. This book for sure gives Twilight something to compete against, I will be getting the second book as soon as it is out, I dying for just one more page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    love the take of the vampires great!!!!!! so diffrent and love story at the same time

    ok so i just finish this book and it was great.the writing of the characters were very good the main one shy you can tell that she was hurting and just wanted to live life without anything wrong and gabriel the vampire he love life to but it was hard for him to after what happen and i think in away they both were lost. she new that he was vampire and she was ok with that and he now that she was human and he was ok if that after some time. they got to know each and gabriel started seeing life in a new why and so did shy. the ending is very good and i never throught that would happen the why it did i not going to tell you read the book i can not want till the second one cames out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    adour

    ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT? BUT BE WARNED OF THE DEADY CLIFFHANGER ENDING AMAZING BOOK FOR ANYOME WHO LOVESVAMPIRES AND OR TWILIGHT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Will leave you Craving more.

    My thoughts...One word for you: CLIFFHANGER. Not your average run of the mill cliffhanger either, I am talking DROPOFF. Good thing the next book comes out in September of 2011!

    Crave is an original story with an unexpected twist. The story is told from two points-of-view. First we meet Shay, a young girl with a disableling blood disorder. She spends most of her days in bed, or receiving blood transfusions to stay alive. After getting a new blood treatment, she begins having visions of a boy named Gabriel. With each transfusion, she experiences life through him. Gabriel is a strong character, he seems very complex and he is absolutely adorable too.

    In the beginning of the book, some parts were are bit confusing. The transitions between reality and visions left me a bit disoriented, especially because Gabriel's story were told out of order and they were fragmented. The ending was very abrupt. While I am glad I read this book, I would recommend waiting until book two is released and reading them together. This first book in the Crave series does reveal an interesting twist and it ends in absolute turmoil, so I am sure book two is going to be great.

    Overall, I really enjoyed Crave. It is original, creative, and definitely leaves you Craving more.

    *There is some drug/alcohol use and a some sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!!!

    I couldnt put this book down! I loved every second of it. I cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A New Take on Vampire Romance

    Melinda Metz and Laura J. Burns are acclaimed writers of the teen show Roswell. I hadn't known that when I first heard of Crave, but it only made me want to read the book more. Their new take on a vampire story is interesting and engaging.

    Shay has a unique, one of a kind, blood disorder that makes her weak without regular blood transfusions. She often refers to herself as the Sick Girl and her life is run by the rule of staying healthy, staying boring, and staying alive. Shay is 17, but has never truly lived. This side of her invokes so much empathy and I could understand exactly why she would act the way she does, but sometimes, I couldn't stand her.

    Once Shay begins her new transfusions, she starts 'living' and doing things she never could before, but in the process, she alienates the people who matter to her the most. Her desire to finally live her life comes off as selfish at times. Her best friend Olivia and her mom truly care about Shay and her health, but Shay's need to be wild and free, clouds her vision so she only sees them as overbearing. This is the part of Shay that I really didn't like.

    While Shay got on my nerves at time, Crave is irresistable. Gabriel's memories are vivid and I was excited for every little snippet into his past. He is undeniably attractive, but his emotions are what really make him so enigmatic. Everything about him is raw and intense. Finding out just who Gabriel is and what is wrong with Shay is like a rollercoaster. Things seem fine one minute, but the next minute the most unexpected things happen.

    This has to be part of a series because if it isn't, then the writers are officially evil for leaving it the way they did. I NEED to know what happens next!?

    Opening line: SPECIAL [SPEH-SHUL]: distinguished by some unusual quality; being in some way superior. ~ pg. 3

    Favorite line: He said that even if your conscious mind doesn't hold memories of your parents, your soul holds on to them. Your body knows who they were; the knowledge is written in your very cells. Who they were is who you are, so there's no need to trouble yourself. ~ pg. 92

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crave for more!

    When we first meet Shay she is sick and has accepted the fact that she will die soon. Shay was born with a blood disease that no one has been able to diagnose and or treat. Shay's doctor, turned step father, is convinced that he has discovered a new blood formula that will cure her but Shay has heard that story all her life.

    With the new transfusion comes visions of a guy named Gabriel and the feeling she is living part of his life. Shay is no stranger to having blood transfusion and knows these visions and feeling are not normal but she attributes it to being close to the end. With this new blood Shay feels stronger and wants to experience life before it's too late. With each transfusion she can run, swim, and has the energy to finally be a normal. Her family and friends find her new outlook on life as reckless and feel that the newest transfusions are having negative effects on her. Shay also discovers that the latest transfusions wears off a lot quicker and requires more transfusions than before. Shay finds herself craving the next transfusion and the dreams that come with it.

    Every vision of Gabriel is set in different times and places. Shay has seen Gabriel as a child, as a young man and later as a vampire. During a transfusion she has a vision of Gabriel in what looks like a very familiar setting and goes to look for him. Finding Gabriel will prove that he is real but in doing so it will puts her life in danger and ultimately change her life forever. Shay has been treated as fragile her whole life but when faced with the unthinkable she finds she is stronger that anyone gives her credit for.

    The more you read Crave the deeper that authors Laura and Melissa pull you into the story and when it ends you will CRAVE more! I really enjoyed that CRAVE is a fresh take on a vampire story and that the more you read the more layers you will find. I will be adding ARISE, the sequel to CRAVE, to my to-read list in 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was average

    Not the best first-book-in-the-series I've read. The story was interesting enough but lacked some good vampire action. The love story didn't quite hit it for me though. The end is a definite cliffhanger that you'd wanna stick around for the other books to see what happens. And then maybe everything else will fall together. Maybe? Don't want to give away too many details!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3