Customer Reviews for

Craving Perfect

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A cute chick-lit...

    Grace Mills is an average gal looking to loose an extra ten pounds so the gym hunk will ask her out...not only does she fantasies about him, she idolizes him. Who she is...is not who he finds "attractive". In reality, she is a baker and co-owner of a cafe with her sister. Not only that, she has just started seeing a great guy who sees her as who she is, not who she wants to be. What she wants is what she can't have...or can she? You need to watch out for what you wish for. At one moment she is Grace running on a treadmill....the next second she falls and wakes up as her ultra ego Callie. Callie is not only beautiful but has it all including the dream guy from the gym. Which life does she go with? Is what you have perfect or is craving more better?

    This is a cute, typical chick-lit made for a seat at the pool or a raining night in. It is also comes with recipes including a raspberry scone and soapapillas....which is good because you are craving them throughout the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    A Fun Read!

    A fun, fast-paced read that kept me guessing. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute but not my type of book...

    Review by Shannon:
    Not sure how to review this one, as I'm still scratching my head over it. Don't get me wrong, it was a cute if you don't delve too deep into what's going, but how am I supposed to review that? Then we have the story told in multiple points of view (which isn't always my favorite format) where one of those points of view may or may not be real. Confused????? Well, I'll give it a whirl.

    Grace Mills runs the Desert Java cafe with her sister Kathryn and wishes for 2 things: that she was the perfect female (who has blonde hair, a rocking size 2 body and unrealistically small size 6 feet) and that Max Kramer will notice her. As our story unfolds, she's managed to get one of those things...he's noticed her all right, as she takes a massive crash off the treadmill at the gym.

    The one person who does notice her is Carlos Flores, law student, part-time fighter and janitor at the gym. With some coaxing from his sister, he finally works up the nerve to ask Grace on a date, certain that she is "the one".

    Callie Collins is apparently the perfect woman. She has gorgeous blonde hair, a fabulous size 2 body, marvelous size 6 feet with which she can wear wonderful stiletto shoes and the object of every woman's desire as a fiance, Max Kramer. Just one problem, Callie is really Grace in disguise.

    By some means of mythical treadmill transportation, Grace gets transported into Callie's body and not must deal with Callie's annoying personal assistant, Alexandra Summer, her job as a newscaster and the feeling of being less perfect than she was before.

    That's where I get hung up in this story. Did Grace really need to jump back and forth between her and Callie to really realize that she was worth more as a person that what she looked like on the outside? I would have thought a few more dates with Carlos and maybe Max showing his true colors at the gym and Carlos sticking up for her would have gotten us to the same place in the epilogue. The parts of the story that I enjoyed the most were the Grace and Carlos chapters. Could have done without all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    I LOVED this story!!

    A fun read! This is the type of book that I want to tell all my friends about. Sweet love story, relatable characters and heart warming and believable messages. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great summer read....

    My Review:
    This was a fun little story with an interesting twist. Grace is dissatisfied with her life, but through the twist of a magical treadmill, gets to see that life isn't always better even when it looks perfect.

    The way that this book is written is pretty original. Each chapter is written from a different point-of-view switching between Grace, Carlos, and Callie (who Grace becomes when she gets on the treadmill.)

    What was interesting to me was the Callie/Grace story line. When she gets on the treadmill, Grace ceases to be Grace...in that alternative reality, Grace never existed. Instead she becomes Callie- someone who actually exists and has the "perfect life." Grace simply takes over her body with no memories from Callie's life. I think that I personally would have preferred that the alternative reality would have featured just a different version of herself, but that's just me. I think the fact that she didn't know anything about Callie's lifelike it a whole lot more difficult.

    Grace is constantly trying to lose another 10-15 lbs. Callie is a tanned, perfect size 2. Grace's main incentive for working out at the gym isn't actually to lose weight...it's so she can ogle Max (a hottie that doesn't know she exists.) Callie is engaged to Max. Grace's measure for perfection is Alexandra. In the alternative reality, Alexandra is Callie's personal assistant.

    While Grace is obsessed with Max, she starts to develop a friendship with Carlos, the janitor at the gym. He's also a part-time fighter and full-time law student, so he has a lot going on in his very busy life, but he finds himself becoming more and more drawn to Grace. The best part of this book was Carlos and his sister Ellena...and even their extended family at Mario's. Great characters...all of them and I really enjoyed the scenes in the book that were spent on them.

    Overall, this was a fun book. It kept me entertained and riveted enough that I read it all in one sitting. It would make a GREAT beach read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Great Beach Read

    Craving Perfect is the perfect fun beach read. I enjoyed it, though the whole time traveling/warped alternate life thing made no sense. Amazing how
    writing and story is great that you throw out and ignore the obvious.

    Grace is warped into her alternative life where she is Callie, a news anchor who happens to be dating her secret hunky crush. She becomes Callie while exercising at a fast speed on a treadmill at her gym. Yeah, that's where the question marks start coming up. We get no explanation how this happens, but I just went along because I liked where Liz Fichera was taking me. In her real life as Grace she has gotten the attention of Carlos, the janitor at her gym. He seems like such a genuine lovable nice character, though he might be a little to romantic considering he said I Love you too quickly for my liking. A bit unrealistic, especially these days when being a commitment-phobe is ordinary and expected. So not 2011, if you know what I mean. I really enjoyed the lessons Grace learns during these time warps. Her mind is opened to so much, and she sees things clearly when in Callie's shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended - a MUST read this summer!

    Liz Fichera's new book Craving Perfect is a MUST read this summer. Just when you thought you knew the drill for contemporary romance, Liz shows off her writing skills in Craving Perfect. Her creativity will keep you interested! I could not put this book down!! This book is a guilty pleasure without the guilt! The story is enchanting AND has a great message that applies to us all. It is a great get away book that you feel good about reading. I wish I was a writer right now so that my words would convey properly to you how good this book is! Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intrsting and Intriguing story!

    CRAVING PERFECT by author Liz Fichera is a fantastic escape!

    I was completely blown away by Grace Mill's run on the treadmill and she went to the gym just to ogle Max's hot body! Well a girl has to have an inspiration to lose weight.

    Imagine a girl rewarding herself strawberry scones after a vigorous workout. But she was craving the perfect body and the perfect man.

    And when she got her perfect body she found out that she could never eat enough. Her favourite occupation of baking was not of use to her after getting her perfect body.

    Guess what? She also found out that Max was not so perfect after all.

    Craving Perfect is a lovely story of sisterly love and responsibilities and of getting what you crave for.

    Liz Fichera did a fascinating job with this story. It is liberally spiced with humor, pathos and heartfelt emotion. It is potrayed with vivid atmospheric details. I felt myself in the Java Cafe Grace ran with her sister Kathryn and could almost taste the coffee!

    I liked this authors style. Her use of witty dialogue brought the characters alive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Put it on top of the TBR pile!

    Craving Perfect by Liz Fichera has all the ingredients for a great contemporary romance. Beautiful women, handsome men and delicious pastry. Fraught with poor self-esteem issues, but a strong personality, Grace Mills is a character I can really understand and root for. Carlos Flores isn't your typical cookie-cutter alpha male. He oozes charm and intensity but he's solid and dependable. I really enjoyed this very unusual novel. An important lesson about the grass not always being greener on the other side. Craving Perfect is the perfect way to treat yourself to a charming love story. Bring it on vacation or to your favorite coffee shop and don't forget to order the raspberry scones. Or you can bake them at home because Ms. Fichera graciously included the recipes for the delectable treats she writes about in the back of her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Highly Recomended! - You have got to check this book out!

    An inspiring tale of finding yourself, living life and letting go. Liz Fichera sure knows how to draw you in and keep you glued to the page. Especially in Craving Perfect, her new release due out July 25th, 2011. The heroine of this enchanting adventure, Grace Mills, is disillusioned about her life and wants "the perfect life". For her this is weighing 10 pounds less, having more success and being noticed by the buff hunk at her gym. Suddenly Grace finds herself in an alternate reality where she has all that and more, and its perfect, or is it? Follow Grace as she jumps between these two completely different worlds trying to figure out which one really is her perfect life. In one she is just plain Grace Mills baker extraordinaire who no one seems to notice, well except maybe Carlos the hunky janitor at her gym; in the other everything is perfect, she is the stunning news woman Callie Collins who is noticed and beloved by all and nothing could be better, or could it? This book earned all 5 stars that I awarded it. Once I picked it up, I didn't want to put it down. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it had me cheering for the heroine from beginning to the end. Its hard finding the perfect life, but someone has to do it. FAVORITE QUOTE: "I was alive, unfortunately. Today wasn't my day to die. No dear departed relatives would welcome me into a white light. It was just another day to be humiliated. Typical."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1