Customer Reviews for

Crazy Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down

Although I liked the book because it's a page turner, and you want to know what is going to happen next, I could hardly stomach the writer. I almost didn't feel sorry for her. She constantly insults people of other races with her description of them. As if to say this s...
Although I liked the book because it's a page turner, and you want to know what is going to happen next, I could hardly stomach the writer. I almost didn't feel sorry for her. She constantly insults people of other races with her description of them. As if to say this should only happen to you if you are 'hispanic, black, homeless or grimy' and don't have money up the ying yang. I had to laugh in the description of herself saying she is 'blond' and her whole familiy is blonde. What does that have to do with ANYTHING!? I can't stand 'white' supremists of any kind and she acts like one in the entire book. And, I'm white and blond, so I think she should listen to what I'm saying cuz you know, I don't have black hair....sickening!

posted by AdriaLR on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Crazy Love Review

As a survivor of domestic violence, I have wrote on the subject as well. Therefore, I have to say I was unimpressed with "Crazy Love". I do not feel it is an uplifting book, instead I think the author sets a haughty example which can be rather irritating. I challenge...
As a survivor of domestic violence, I have wrote on the subject as well. Therefore, I have to say I was unimpressed with "Crazy Love". I do not feel it is an uplifting book, instead I think the author sets a haughty example which can be rather irritating. I challenge her viewpoints on domestic violence and can't say I agree with much of her message. I have found in my soul-searching what is thought of as love, is actually fear disguised. There is no doubt a wealthy woman can find herself in an abusive relationship, but I do not care for the snobbish theme of the book. I had high hopes for the book but sadly it did not measure up. I do applaud the effort to bring domestic violence back to the spotlight though.

posted by shelleywalden on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down

    Although I liked the book because it's a page turner, and you want to know what is going to happen next, I could hardly stomach the writer. I almost didn't feel sorry for her. She constantly insults people of other races with her description of them. As if to say this should only happen to you if you are 'hispanic, black, homeless or grimy' and don't have money up the ying yang. I had to laugh in the description of herself saying she is 'blond' and her whole familiy is blonde. What does that have to do with ANYTHING!? I can't stand 'white' supremists of any kind and she acts like one in the entire book. And, I'm white and blond, so I think she should listen to what I'm saying cuz you know, I don't have black hair....sickening!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    Crazy Love changed my life!

    Crazy love changed my life. I heard Leslie Morgan Steiner on the radio and drove directly to Barnes Noble to purchase, and ultimately order this book. I have been with husband since I was in college. Combining the years of dating and marriage, we have been together 20 years. We have two beautiful little girls. My husband can be the most fun, smart, and loving individual...until he is angry. Until I read this book, which scarily mirrored my life in many ways, I would have never admitted (to any one or myself else) that I was in an abusive relationship. There were times when reading her written words that I felt suffocated, immobilized and often in tears. Her description of how people morph into an abusive relationship and why one must get out is precisely accurate and extremely helpful.

    Ms. Steiner is a strong, smart woman that opened her heart to a man that had been hurt in his youth. Educated at Harvard, it took her years working in New York as a magazine editor, getting her master's degree and living as a working woman to recognize the man she loved was abusive. Originally, he was emotionally abusive which over time escalated to physical abuse. She did not fit the stereotype I had in my mind of a women that would suffer from abuse, which is why she describes that many smart, educated women stay in abusive relationships, they think they are strong and smart enough to "help" their abuser that they love. Ms. Steiner's ability to tell her story backed by facts... quite possibly saved both of our lives. This is the most compelling book I have ever read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    why a person stays in a dangerous harmful (physically and mentally) relationship

    Twenty-two years old recent Harvard grad, Leslie obtains a job at the magazine Seventeen. On the Manhattan train she meets a nice Wall Street investment banker thirtyish Conor. They begin dating and become engaged. Together just under a year, five days before their wedding, Conor smacks Leslie for cursing at her computer. She goes ahead and marries him, but he continues to hit her. She stayed with him for two years before deciding love was not enough because he will never overcome his violent Boston childhood. The final straw was a horrific beating in which he left her unconscious.------------

    Mindful of a profound scene from the Charlie Sheen movie Good Advice in which the advice columnist answers a woman who asks what to do as her spouse is physically abusive but her family insists she has to save her marriage while the columnists insists she should save her life. This is an intense from the heart memoir that looks at the psychology of why "battered woman" even highly educated females remain in potentially deadly relationships when intellectually they know they must leave. Well written and extremely deep, some of the true life scenes described are so stunning, a reader will want to deny they happened as Leslie Morgan Steiner provides a powerful look into abuse and why a person stays in a dangerous harmful (physically and mentally) relationship. -------

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy Love Review

    As a survivor of domestic violence, I have wrote on the subject as well. Therefore, I have to say I was unimpressed with "Crazy Love". I do not feel it is an uplifting book, instead I think the author sets a haughty example which can be rather irritating. I challenge her viewpoints on domestic violence and can't say I agree with much of her message. I have found in my soul-searching what is thought of as love, is actually fear disguised. There is no doubt a wealthy woman can find herself in an abusive relationship, but I do not care for the snobbish theme of the book. I had high hopes for the book but sadly it did not measure up. I do applaud the effort to bring domestic violence back to the spotlight though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Very interesting book, was given as a gift so I had no idea it w

    Very interesting book, was given as a gift so I had no idea it was about domestic violence, but nonetheless it ended up being a pretty good book, gave me a different perspective of domestic violence.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Excellent writing on a deeply emotional subject - but I did not like the ending.

    I am someone who loves to read literature along these lines due to the fact that I grew up experiencing quite a bit of drama in my household. I have read Eat Pray Love, The Glass Castle, Hungry, The Quiet Room, Chosen by a Horse, and Prozac - all of which I would strongly recommend.
    When I read this book, I was impressed with the honesty given from the Author about a most horrible experience. Leslie Steiner not only describes her first handout account of abuse but includes important psychological facts about different forms of abusive relationships and what they are stemmed from. This book is sad and frightening at time and I am sure there are woman out there who can relate to this woman. However, I did not feel like enough responsibility was taken in this relationship on her side. All to woman find themselves in these situation and end up playing the role of a victim to the strongest degree when what needs to happen is self evaluation. Why did I put myself in this situation? Why did I let it last so long? What I have been through in the past the led me here? These are questions that should not be answered with sentences that start with "He did this" "He made me" "It was all his fault." Once you figure out your role in these horrible situations you can move on with your life. It is not all the abuser's fault. Getting out of an abusive relationship is tremendous and I did not take it lightly, but self awareness is key to not having it happen again and at then end of this book - I here too much blame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Looove ittttt!

    This book is ammmmmmmazing! I lovve it soo much, i think everyone should read it.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    One of my all time favorites

    Great book, easy to read. Loved it, loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book was very touching.I encourage more teenage women and young adults to read this book. my main goal after reading was to discuss this book with my daughter who is nine and my many nieces. I picked this book up to write a literature review for a term paper, but end up buying it to pass around to others. Hopefully it would save them from becoming involved in a domestic relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I really enjoyed reading this. You really feel bad for her for not knowing what was going on. I only read this book because I just wanted to know what goes on in their minds. Also to know what to do if I knew someone in this situation. Again I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Very enlightening book

    Our book club read this book after hearing Ms. Steiner's interview on NPR. It was a reminder to us all how easy it is to fall in love with another person's faults and take it as our own to solve.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Engaging

    Gave this to my 18 year old daughter to read after I finished it. I think I would have liked more detail about how she was drawn in. But big picture - definitely illustrated how controlling people can isolate and encapsulate one into their insane world. Loved it from the perspective of the author's ability to extricate herself and continue onto a successful path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, quick read.

    A deep look into an abusive relationship and a better understanding of what women go through in those types of situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sticks with you

    Great memoir. Stirring and disturbing, this book will haunt you. Crazy Love gives a wonderful, intimate account of what it is like to be in an abusive and violent relationship, and to be absorbed to the point that you can't break free, but know you must. It is interesting to see here how the abuse starts, and the cycle(s) that occur thereafter.

    Kudos to Leslie Morgan Steiner for her honesty and bravery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    Read in 2 days....

    Very powerful story.. Leslie is lucky to be alive. I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Great read!

    This book allows you to get a glimpse of what an abused woman goes through. It is an inspriation for any woman who has gone through this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Very Good Book

    I saw this book as a recommendation from People magazine. It was a real good book. I knew it was about an abusive relationship, but after reading this book I felt 2 things: sadness and relief. I was sad because stuff like this go on everyday, but you see them written out as someone's own personal experience you cant help but empathize with them, however I felt relieved that she was able to make it out of the relationship alive, when some women don't. It was well written, and compeling. It's unfortunate that this women went through that, but she was smart to write it because it will help women realize that even the smartest, nicest man can snap and hurt you when you dont deserve it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Very Good....

    You can't help but be drawn into this true story. You will have no choice but to call "Conor" a "retard" after you read this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3