Customer Reviews for

Crazy Rich Asians

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked

For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked it up because I thought the title was funny and was very pleasantly surprised to discover a really great book.

posted by Bobby_Tenison on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This s

This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written st...
This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written stories with an Asian perspective, read The Joy Luck Club or Snow Flower and the Secret Fan or even Memoirs of a Geisha. Granted, they are not all set in modern times, but they are all well-written with compelling narratives. I really wanted to like this book and wish that I had.

posted by emercat1 on June 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked

    For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked it up because I thought the title was funny and was very pleasantly surprised to discover a really great book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an over the top funny book. I loved every page. Two thum

    This is an over the top funny book. I loved every page. Two thumbs up.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I found Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan to be a delightful read.

    I found Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan to be a delightful read. The characters were well developed. The plot was interesting to watch unfold. I truly enjoyed this book and would recommend it as a great summer read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Good read

    Interesting read about asian culture and cultural clashes among the many types of chinese-based upbringings. But in reality, this book should have been called the real housewives (and husbands) of Singapore, except that their wealth surpasses anybody's imagination. These are some filthy rich, spoiled and abnouxious individuals that pick and choose what they like about chinese tradition and the capitalism of the Western world. The story is enjoyable, though I did not find it as funny as some reviews say. There are a lot (a lot!) of characters involved here, so it helps to have plenty of time when you sit to read it. My main disappointment with the book is that it was rushed in the end. It contrasted with the level of detail and easy pace that characterized most of the book. It wrapped up so fast that I continued looking for additional chapters. As a result, it left many things unresolved. A pity.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This s

    This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written stories with an Asian perspective, read The Joy Luck Club or Snow Flower and the Secret Fan or even Memoirs of a Geisha. Granted, they are not all set in modern times, but they are all well-written with compelling narratives. I really wanted to like this book and wish that I had.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    So-so.

    So-so.
    It’s not like this book is bad. It’s just that its title pretty much contains its entire plot, characters and style. The rest of the book is just a junkyard of luxury restaurants, spoiled brats, Chinese billionaires, jewelry, mansions, snobs, and clubs. Monotone and predictable. I lost interest and couldn’t finish it.
    I grade books as Buy and Keep ( BK), Read a Library Copy (RLC) and Once-I-Put-It-Down-I-Couldn’t-Pick-It-Up (OIPD-ICPU). This one was .OIPD-ICPU for sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great read. Can't wait to see what else he writes! I felt like a

    Great read. Can't wait to see what else he writes! I felt like a fly on the wall most pages. Great sense of comedy in conversations and the right touch of seriousness in other areas. Highly recommend for a fun, can't wait to get back to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Pride and Prejudice meets Downton Abbey's Real Housewives... in

    Pride and Prejudice meets Downton Abbey's Real Housewives... in Singapore. (some minor spoilers ahead!) What a fun, great read! At times the sheer amount of characters got confusing, but overall Kwan did a great job wrangling such a large cast. While sometimes the dialogue felt a bit flat, the narration (including the footnotes) felt so easy and comfortable I could easily overlook it. It kept a brisk pace with only a few hiccups (for example, I lost some interest in Astrid's arc after she confronted Michael the first time, since I wasn't totally clear where it was going and if it was going to be worth following.) I was pleasantly surprised with how much richness there was to this novel: the commentary and observations on society, the surprising moment when a dislikable character has a moment of humanity-- or when the one you thought was okay turns into a jag. I would've liked more depth to Rachel's character, a little more oomph, but she was nonetheless a fun heroine. Highly recommend, looking forward to more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Disappointed

    Bought this based on a professional review I heard on NPR, if I recall correctly. Definitely not a guy book, might appeal to some ladies. Have always been curious about this subject, but this is not that interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    Great funny read.  Highly recommend.  Can't wait for the next bo

    Great funny read.  Highly recommend.  Can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Shelby

    Hey

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    real crispy

    real crispy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Lilly

    Chokes on di.ck.(sorry rico my nook is almost out of battery.lets meet tomarow at 3:00 P.M. and if that doesnt happen we can meet at 3:00 P.M. on Sunday love you bye!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    To be honest, I picked up this book for the deal (buy 2 get the

    To be honest, I picked up this book for the deal (buy 2 get the 3rd free). I'm glad I did! From the first page I was hooked and I couldn't believe this was Mr. Kwan's first novel. His stories jump from location and time and after every chapter I'm always thinking, "NO!" because of some vicious rumor or gossip that continues in yet another chapter that I know I need to speed up to! I laughed, I cried, I snickered - which is not something that happens often when I read. When the final page came along I thought to myself, "this can't be it!"

    After a little research I was glad to learn that there is talk about a movie adaptation and there is a definitely sequel coming in June 2015 - "China Rich Girlfriend."

    I definitely recommend this book for anyone who loves suspenseful gossip and alluring stories about old and new China - especially when it deals with filthy rich billionaires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    This is an amazing book. Its very detailed and very much a visua

    This is an amazing book. Its very detailed and very much a visual experience. Kevin Kwan paints a picture with words. The main character Rachel Chu is boring and Im not a fan of Nick either but I adored Astrid and all the mean family members!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Fun little summer book. Nothing to take too seriously.

    Fun little summer book. Nothing to take too seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    B2 said icup

    B2 said the book was pick it up once i couldldnt pik it back up or something like that and the abreve was piuo-icup and we all know what icup means.
    Im so imature =D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. It makes for a great beach read, but

    I really enjoyed this book. It makes for a great beach read, but its isn't just fluff. I enjoyed the story, as well as getting to read about the insane living/shopping habits of this class of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    I didn't have much expectation for this book, knowing it fell in

    I didn't have much expectation for this book, knowing it fell into the category of chick lits which was what I wanted, a quick and easy read. However the way it was written and how the overall story ended, I felt stupider having to have finished this book. There were times in a few chapters where there was hope that this could've been a good read, but in the end I was disappointed. I want my money back (and perhaps parts of my brain).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4