Customer Reviews for

Crazy Rich Asians

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked

For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked it up because I thought the title was funny and was very pleasantly surprised to discover a really great book.

posted by Bobby_Tenison on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This s

This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written st...
This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written stories with an Asian perspective, read The Joy Luck Club or Snow Flower and the Secret Fan or even Memoirs of a Geisha. Granted, they are not all set in modern times, but they are all well-written with compelling narratives. I really wanted to like this book and wish that I had.

posted by emercat1 on June 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked

    For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked it up because I thought the title was funny and was very pleasantly surprised to discover a really great book.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an over the top funny book. I loved every page. Two thum

    This is an over the top funny book. I loved every page. Two thumbs up.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I found Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan to be a delightful read.

    I found Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan to be a delightful read. The characters were well developed. The plot was interesting to watch unfold. I truly enjoyed this book and would recommend it as a great summer read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This s

    This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written stories with an Asian perspective, read The Joy Luck Club or Snow Flower and the Secret Fan or even Memoirs of a Geisha. Granted, they are not all set in modern times, but they are all well-written with compelling narratives. I really wanted to like this book and wish that I had.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Good read

    Interesting read about asian culture and cultural clashes among the many types of chinese-based upbringings. But in reality, this book should have been called the real housewives (and husbands) of Singapore, except that their wealth surpasses anybody's imagination. These are some filthy rich, spoiled and abnouxious individuals that pick and choose what they like about chinese tradition and the capitalism of the Western world. The story is enjoyable, though I did not find it as funny as some reviews say. There are a lot (a lot!) of characters involved here, so it helps to have plenty of time when you sit to read it. My main disappointment with the book is that it was rushed in the end. It contrasted with the level of detail and easy pace that characterized most of the book. It wrapped up so fast that I continued looking for additional chapters. As a result, it left many things unresolved. A pity.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    So-so.

    So-so.
    It’s not like this book is bad. It’s just that its title pretty much contains its entire plot, characters and style. The rest of the book is just a junkyard of luxury restaurants, spoiled brats, Chinese billionaires, jewelry, mansions, snobs, and clubs. Monotone and predictable. I lost interest and couldn’t finish it.
    I grade books as Buy and Keep ( BK), Read a Library Copy (RLC) and Once-I-Put-It-Down-I-Couldn’t-Pick-It-Up (OIPD-ICPU). This one was .OIPD-ICPU for sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great read. Can't wait to see what else he writes! I felt like a

    Great read. Can't wait to see what else he writes! I felt like a fly on the wall most pages. Great sense of comedy in conversations and the right touch of seriousness in other areas. Highly recommend for a fun, can't wait to get back to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Pride and Prejudice meets Downton Abbey's Real Housewives... in

    Pride and Prejudice meets Downton Abbey's Real Housewives... in Singapore. (some minor spoilers ahead!) What a fun, great read! At times the sheer amount of characters got confusing, but overall Kwan did a great job wrangling such a large cast. While sometimes the dialogue felt a bit flat, the narration (including the footnotes) felt so easy and comfortable I could easily overlook it. It kept a brisk pace with only a few hiccups (for example, I lost some interest in Astrid's arc after she confronted Michael the first time, since I wasn't totally clear where it was going and if it was going to be worth following.) I was pleasantly surprised with how much richness there was to this novel: the commentary and observations on society, the surprising moment when a dislikable character has a moment of humanity-- or when the one you thought was okay turns into a jag. I would've liked more depth to Rachel's character, a little more oomph, but she was nonetheless a fun heroine. Highly recommend, looking forward to more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Disappointed

    Bought this based on a professional review I heard on NPR, if I recall correctly. Definitely not a guy book, might appeal to some ladies. Have always been curious about this subject, but this is not that interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    Great funny read.  Highly recommend.  Can't wait for the next bo

    Great funny read.  Highly recommend.  Can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Shelby

    Hey

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    A friend of mine told me that Kevin Kwan's novel, Crazy Rich Asi

    A friend of mine told me that Kevin Kwan's novel, Crazy Rich Asians, was a very funny book and pressed into my hands telling me to read it. So I did.




    From the very beginning, a family tree page, I was laughing out loud. The main characters are Nick and Rachel. Nick comes from a very wealthy family in Singapore, and Rachel was born in China, but as a baby moved to America with her mother, a real estate agent. They both live in New York and work at a university.




    Nick's childhood best friend is getting married back home, and Nick wants Rachel to accompany him and spend the summer in Singapore. That is where the fun begins.




    The wedding is over-the-top Kardashian style, but I'm not sure even that clan could imagine how opulent and over-indulgent this wedding will be. We meet Nick's family, including his grandmother who lives in a Buckingham Castle-type home that is so secluded it isn't even on a map.




    Nick's mother Eleanor is a controlling woman, who frightens everyone including her posse of friends and family who both fear her and want her approval. His father hides out in Australia to avoid the two women in his life. (And who can blame him?)




    Eleanor fears Nick will marry Rachel, a woman whose family is not only not wealthy, but has skeletons in the closet, so she conspires with others to break them up. (That includes a mean girl gang whose vicious bridal shower "prank" is truly awful.)




    There are many characters here, but Kwan does a wonderful job giving each of them fair time and creating interesting people you want to read more about. (And we will get more- Kwan's sequel China Rich Girlfriend publishes in July- hooray!)




    The descriptions of the houses, clothes (one character regularly shops for couture in Paris) and even food is stunning and so vivid, I can easily see a movie or TV series of this. One of my favorite food passages takes place at a popular food stall:
    "A few minutes later, the four of them were seated just outside the main hall under a huge tree strung with yellow lights, every inch of their table covered with colorful plastic plates piled high with the greatest hits of Singaporean street cuisine. There was the famous char kuay teow, a fried omelet with oysters called orb luak, Malay rojak salad bursting with chunks of pineapple and cucumber, Hokkien-style noodles in a thick garlicky gravy, a fish cake smoked in coconut leaves called otay otay, and a hundred sticks of chicken and beef satay."
    Crazy Rich Asians drops the reader into a world unlike one most of us can even conceive of, and man is it a blast spending a few hours there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Great, quick read- excellent characters

    Can't wait for the sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    After all the detail and jumping around with the characters, I e

    After all the detail and jumping around with the characters, I expected more from the ending.  There were great points underlying the entire store, however.  Just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2014

    Entertaining read

    I enjoyed reading this book. It's an entertaining story in a beach read kind of way. The one drawback that has nothing to do with the story is the format of the nook version. The author uses footnotes in most of the chapters so my ability to enjoy the book was diminished by having to electronically toggle between the end of the chapter and my current reading position. Again, this frustration was only because of the nook format. If I had the paper/hard back version it would not have been an issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Captivating

    Get ready to fall in love with the most luxurious lifestyles and scandalously rich asians to ever grace the world of fiction. I was hooked from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Recommended

    A++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    G

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!! COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    real crispy

    real crispy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Lilly

    Chokes on di.ck.(sorry rico my nook is almost out of battery.lets meet tomarow at 3:00 P.M. and if that doesnt happen we can meet at 3:00 P.M. on Sunday love you bye!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5