Customer Reviews for

Crazy Time: Surviving Divorce and Building a New Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    a "must read" for those on the brink, in process, AND already divorced

    I highly recommend this book for both men and women -- not only for those who are going through divorce but also for those who are considering it and those who already have their legal divorce (but maybe not their emotional one) in their rearview mirror. If you are thinking about divorce, then this is far superior to the ridiculous book "Too Good To Leave, Too Bad To Stay," which reduces the decision to divorce to an objective test of what the other person brings to the relationship without ever requiring you to look at your own patterns and contribution. But I digress. There is no doubt that divorce and the pain leading up to it make us crazy. Although some of the social context in Crazy Time is dated (having been written in 1992), the message throughout the book is helpful, hopeful, and enduring. Ours was a bitterwseet marriage for 28 years, and I wish I had discovered this book 10 or more years ago. I read it for the first time shortly after my husband finally decided to pull the plug, and have read portions of it again while going through the process and now that I have begun dating at the age of 53. For those of you still in the throes of pain, there is reason to hope for a full and abundant life after divorce! I wish each of you as little pain and as much recovery as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Stop blaming and start healing.

    I read this book when I was going through the worst of my break-up. He, basically, just walked out of my life. He'd return for just enough time to sabotage whatever progress I had made, but he was, essentially, vanished from my life. He had a child with someone else a year and a half into our 'separation'. This book helped me to stop blaming and get on with healing. I stopped worrying about WHY this was happening and dealt with the fact that it WAS happening. I think my ex and I set ourselves up for our divorce before we were even married. I've grown and some of that growth is due to my break-up. I took something from this that made my life better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Great book for supporting someone going through a divorce too...

    I got this book to help me understand the emotional and psychological process of a divorce, as my boyfriend (whom I started dating after he already decided to file) is currently going through his own divorce. I don't have a lot of knowledge about this situation, as divorce is not something that has been widely experienced in my family, and this book really shed light on why he sometimes goes a little insane, why he needs his space and why he generally behaves the way he does at this point in his life. It has been a really good eye-opener for me to understand the huge amount of pain, despair, guilt and anger that he feels, even if he isn't telling me. Overall, great book, and I'm about to re-read it with a highlighter...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Very Helpful. I keep going back to read sections.

    This books is very informative as to the emotional process of breaking up a marriage. I have been divorced a year now and still find that I get encouragement from reading the chapters that deal with starting over. Divorce is hard. This book addresses the process of healing yourself. I could not have survived without it. Very well written with plenty of examples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Crazy Time

    This book should be required reading for all people going through a divorce. The book lets you know that you were not the one to blame for the end of a relationship. If that is the case. It talks about adultery and how it makes your marraige breakdown. It also shows you that going through a divorce is really a crazy time and the feelings and thoughts that you are having are completely normal. I felt like the book was written just for me. I've been married for 21 years and my husband has been having affairs for half of our marraige. A real eye-opener. I will re-read this book again and again. It really makes you feel better and lets you know that you ARE NOT alone. I highlighted certain sentences as I read that I thought pertained to me and my soon to be ex. Half the book is highlighted. It might have been written in 1992, but the same information goes for todays divorces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    A master piece

    I am very impressed with the wonderful writing skills. She not only went trough it herself, but she went in depth, searching for answers to this painful process, to know when it started, and gives hope that it will end. It has given me a sense of peace because I am more aware of the dominant versus dominated patterns of relationship, witch make it very confusing a times--blaming just him or blaming all on myself. I understand so much more know. This book should be given to every counselor, therapist, pastor, etc. Could save many marriages, and or help people already going through this overwhelming process like me. It's been for me God's sent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    It is helping

    I at least am able to understand some of the feelings. It makes it easier for me to get through the day knowing this is normal. Divorce stinks, but this helps you get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Amazing!

    This book really puts things into perspective for people going through a divorce. It's so incredible and accurate that I no longer feel alone and in despair. I could even identify what stage of 'Crazy Time' I am in, so I now know what to expect for the future. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Awesome..

    I did not realize the emotions that I was experiencing in my divorce was normal. I picked up this book 2 years after my divorce. I realized that I had a relationship with someone too soon as well, once that relationship fell apart I went back to feeling the initial feelings I was left with after the first year of my divorce. Very insightful, I felt someone understood and explained the exact experiences I had gone through. Plus, it gave great examples of other relationships that showed me what I should avoid. Take a chance, pick it up and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Set Your Mind at Ease- You're Normal!

    When your marriage is in-the-brook, And you can't see the forest because of each and every tree, Take some TIME to read this book - it surely helps, BE - LIEVE me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    An execellent guide for understanding your feelings an behavior during divorce.

    I picked up this book in a clinicians office moments after my husband had left our marriage counselling session angry, wanting a divorce. I felt like I was going crazy. Instantly the information in the book started to make me feel normal, rather than insane. It was enormously helpful to me in understanding my own behavior and feelings as well as other peoples. I highly recommend it to anyone going through a divorce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1