Customer Reviews for

Cream Puff Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

delicious amateur sleuth mystery

In Lake Eden, Minnesota, Hannah Swensen and Lisa Herman Beeseman co-own the Cookie Jar bakery. Business is booming as the winter cold sends people in for hot coffee and a tasty dessert. However the store is not Hannah¿s top priority at the moment because she has to lo...
In Lake Eden, Minnesota, Hannah Swensen and Lisa Herman Beeseman co-own the Cookie Jar bakery. Business is booming as the winter cold sends people in for hot coffee and a tasty dessert. However the store is not Hannah¿s top priority at the moment because she has to lose weight in two weeks to fit in her Regency costume she will wear at her mom¿s book launch party. A desperate Hannah enrolls in Heavenly Bodies fitness center.

When she goes to use the center¿s Jacuzzi she finds the corpse of instructor Ronnie Ward floating inside. Ronnie also served as the fitness instructor to the sheriff¿s department. Most men adored her but women despised her because her morals were less than that of an ally cat as she went after any male, married or not.. Hannah¿s sometimes boyfriend Police Detective Mike Kingston, her sister¿s husband Sheriff Bill, and her other sister¿s police officer spouse ask her to investigate since she has solved several homicides and each excuse themselves having a history of sorts with the deceased. The three cops offer advice to Hannah, but she makes her inquiries her way; as she gets closer to the truth the killer gets closer to killing her.

Putting aside the plausibility of Hannah finding the corpse and of the professionals asking a civilian even with the heroine¿s résumé to sleuth, rather than a nearby law enforcement friend, CREAM PUFF MURDERS is a delicious amateur sleuth mystery. Besides the mouth watering dozen dessert recipes, the whodunit is cleverly constructed around severable viable suspects including Mike yet none fully stand out in a crowd of haters. Clues abound that eliminate some of the potential culprits as Joanne Fluke provides a marvelous wintry Minnesota mystery.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good reading but nothing NEW

The basic mystery story was good reading but the romance in the book is much like the last TWO books, boring!

posted by 1028633 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    Why did I do this to myself?

    So I've read 11 of these now. Originally found them cute and a pleasant read, but with each addition to the series I found them more and more predictable. This one in the series was mostly about everything else going on in Hannah's life than very much "investigating". The whole Norman/Mike thing has been dragged out WAY too long.

    Aside from the weak plot the author's writing style has really started to grate on my nerves. She can't just say "a delicate pink blush crept up into Andrea's face" she has to say "a color of pink about the shade of the pillow shams on Hannah's bed started at Andrea's neck and kept going" (not a direct quote but pretty close). If you don't know what I mean and read this book anyway get back to me after you've read the last chapter. Ugh!

    Recipes or no - I'm totally done with this series.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Childish writing, more suitable for a Freshman High School essay

    Childish writing, more suitable for a Freshman High School essay! This is the first and last book I'll be reading from Joanne Fluke. The introduction pages, some five or six, are filled with naming every single patron in a Pizza restaurant. They dissolve into a "food fight" (no kidding). Then we meet the man character "Hannah" who ihas to lose weight to fit into a dress for her mother's book signing. 119 pages are used up to discuss her driving, working, exercising, complaining and doing nothing more exciting that what I would do in a day. Dare I say it? The book was BORING! It takes 119 pages of this before we even get to the murder. Fluke loves filling pages with names and names of people. She mentions the names of everyone in Hannah's exercise class....and Why they want to lose weight!! Instead of developing character of a few people to use as red herrings and suspects, we just get a walk through the most boring bunch of people I have ever read about in a book, with the main character of Hannah as the winning of the crown. I got this book at my Thrift store for less than a dollar but still feel cheated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    If Lake Eden really existed I would never, ever patronize Hannah

    If Lake Eden really existed I would never, ever patronize Hannah's cookie shop. Everyone who ends up dead has one of her cookies, pastries, or whatever next to their body. If only that was the biggest problem with this series. The Hannah, Mike, Norman triangle is as stale as an old cookie. The local police department is completely inept. Why can't they solve a murder without Hannah's help/interference? This series has gone on too long. It needs a serious overhaul or it needs to end. Still lots of good cookie recipes, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    boring

    I think i have had enough of this series. Hannah and her weight problems, guy indecisions are really getting old. I felt i spent more of my time getting recipes instead of a fun mystery. Don't waste your time or money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    Cream Puff Murder Largely Dissapointing

    First of all, I would like to say that although I had been a big fan of the first ten books, "Cream Puff Murder" really ruined the whole series for me.
    Fluke Manages to make Hannah look like a weakling and an idiot, and bores readers with the same writing style that we put up with for the last ten books. Originality does not seem high on Fluke's list.
    Also, the love Triangle is getting really old. Although I am hopeful that Fluke is leaning towards Norman after ten books of swinging back and forth, Hannahs ridiculous comments at the end of the book make that seem unlikely. It seems that the writer us having fun toying with the characters hearts while the readers beg for something worth reading.
    Although the recipes sounded as mouthwatering as usual, if they are anything like the other books' tasty treats, they will have two outcomes: 1- they don't work, or 2- After several hours of swears and burnt fingers you get something that tastes good for about the first ten seconds, and then gets old.
    I am seriously contemplating dropping the series, as they seem to progress steadily downward.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1