Customer Reviews for

Cream Puff Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

delicious amateur sleuth mystery

In Lake Eden, Minnesota, Hannah Swensen and Lisa Herman Beeseman co-own the Cookie Jar bakery. Business is booming as the winter cold sends people in for hot coffee and a tasty dessert. However the store is not Hannah¿s top priority at the moment because she has to lo...
In Lake Eden, Minnesota, Hannah Swensen and Lisa Herman Beeseman co-own the Cookie Jar bakery. Business is booming as the winter cold sends people in for hot coffee and a tasty dessert. However the store is not Hannah¿s top priority at the moment because she has to lose weight in two weeks to fit in her Regency costume she will wear at her mom¿s book launch party. A desperate Hannah enrolls in Heavenly Bodies fitness center.

When she goes to use the center¿s Jacuzzi she finds the corpse of instructor Ronnie Ward floating inside. Ronnie also served as the fitness instructor to the sheriff¿s department. Most men adored her but women despised her because her morals were less than that of an ally cat as she went after any male, married or not.. Hannah¿s sometimes boyfriend Police Detective Mike Kingston, her sister¿s husband Sheriff Bill, and her other sister¿s police officer spouse ask her to investigate since she has solved several homicides and each excuse themselves having a history of sorts with the deceased. The three cops offer advice to Hannah, but she makes her inquiries her way; as she gets closer to the truth the killer gets closer to killing her.

Putting aside the plausibility of Hannah finding the corpse and of the professionals asking a civilian even with the heroine¿s résumé to sleuth, rather than a nearby law enforcement friend, CREAM PUFF MURDERS is a delicious amateur sleuth mystery. Besides the mouth watering dozen dessert recipes, the whodunit is cleverly constructed around severable viable suspects including Mike yet none fully stand out in a crowd of haters. Clues abound that eliminate some of the potential culprits as Joanne Fluke provides a marvelous wintry Minnesota mystery.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good reading but nothing NEW

The basic mystery story was good reading but the romance in the book is much like the last TWO books, boring!

posted by 1028633 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    delicious amateur sleuth mystery

    In Lake Eden, Minnesota, Hannah Swensen and Lisa Herman Beeseman co-own the Cookie Jar bakery. Business is booming as the winter cold sends people in for hot coffee and a tasty dessert. However the store is not Hannah¿s top priority at the moment because she has to lose weight in two weeks to fit in her Regency costume she will wear at her mom¿s book launch party. A desperate Hannah enrolls in Heavenly Bodies fitness center. <BR/><BR/>When she goes to use the center¿s Jacuzzi she finds the corpse of instructor Ronnie Ward floating inside. Ronnie also served as the fitness instructor to the sheriff¿s department. Most men adored her but women despised her because her morals were less than that of an ally cat as she went after any male, married or not.. Hannah¿s sometimes boyfriend Police Detective Mike Kingston, her sister¿s husband Sheriff Bill, and her other sister¿s police officer spouse ask her to investigate since she has solved several homicides and each excuse themselves having a history of sorts with the deceased. The three cops offer advice to Hannah, but she makes her inquiries her way; as she gets closer to the truth the killer gets closer to killing her.<BR/><BR/>Putting aside the plausibility of Hannah finding the corpse and of the professionals asking a civilian even with the heroine¿s résumé to sleuth, rather than a nearby law enforcement friend, CREAM PUFF MURDERS is a delicious amateur sleuth mystery. Besides the mouth watering dozen dessert recipes, the whodunit is cleverly constructed around severable viable suspects including Mike yet none fully stand out in a crowd of haters. Clues abound that eliminate some of the potential culprits as Joanne Fluke provides a marvelous wintry Minnesota mystery.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As good as ever

    This is the 4th book in the series that I have read and I enjoyed it just like the others. Hannah Swensen is wary when her mother wants her to lose weight for her book releasing party. So Andrea and Hannah make a pact to lose weight together and start working out every morning at Heavenly bodies. But one day their fitness instructor is unable to teach because he was in a car accident, so the resident woman fitness instructor fills in and pretty much insults all of the women in the class. Not surprisingly, she later ends up dead in the gym sauna. So, like always, Hannah starts her sleuthing and ends up face to face with the killer. This book is a very enjoyable read and fans of the series and newcomers will equally enjoy it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Weight Loss and Murder

    When Hannah goes for the fitting of the Regency dress her mother picked out for her book party, she is appalled to find out it doesn't fit and can't be let out enough. She has two weeks to lose the weight, and her sister, Andrea, offers to help. She has keys to Heavenly Bodies health club since she is a member and is allowed to work out after hours. They join one of Ronni Ward's exercise classes, even though Ronni is not one of Hannah's favorite people. Ronni is constantly flirting, and thus most women do not like her.

    One morning when Hannah and Andrea are working out, they decide to get into the Jacuzzi. When they arrive, they find Ronni dead in it. Bill, Mike, and Lonnie are all suspended due to personal involvement with the deceased. So since they can't work the case, they each ask Hannah (through someone else) to find the killer. Hannah is quite surprised and not too thrilled when they each have their own opinions about how she should be conducting her investigation. She enlists the help of her sisters Andrea and Michelle, her mother, Norman-who wants to be more than a friend, Norman's mother, Lisa-Hannah's business partner, and Lisa's husband to help with this investigation.

    With the plethora of suspects, can they figure out who killed Ronni?

    I love this series, but I hope that Hannah soon makes a decision between Mike and Norman. I was pulling for Mike originally, but I'm starting to really pull for Norman.

    I like that through the series, Hannah and Andrea have gotten much closer. I think even their mother has mellowed out some. I like this small town in Minnesota. The author has done a great job of creating small-town America. There are always plenty of characters for her to pull from.

    I highly recommend this book and the whole series. Hope the next one comes out soon!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite authors

    I so enjoy the characters, romance, and mystery of each of her stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Love the series

    I buy the hardback rather than wait for the paperback. I look forward to the next in the series after I've finished the one I'm reading. Love the recipes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Good recipes and fun read

    Davidson and Fluke have such similar writing styles I'd guess they were the same person? I really like trying the recipes printed along with a fun story to read. Usually the outcome is pretty much as expected, but still a good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Cute

    Great recipes and story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    To stork

    Get a life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    stork

    Write your clans name and location your name and the kits name and description i will rp them. REMEMBER 1 KIT PER MOON PER CLAN! Thankyou so much for ordering! The stork

    PS It takes me 5 minutes to delivrr them. So plz write the time you ordered and the time zone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Creamkit

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Enjoyable read!

    I have been reading all of this series and have enjoyed everyone of Joanna Fluke book so far!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Cami

    Ok you sexy girl you start!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Loved it.

    I really enjoyed this book. I have read all of the Hannah Swenson books so I feel like I know the characters very well. The author brings these characters to life. The recipes are fun too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Great Series!

    I started reading this series a couple of months ago and I haven't been able to stop! I love the writing style of the author. Her writing just flows and is very easy to read. I love the characters as well-they are all relatable on one level or another. This book keeps you guessing! I thought I had it all figured out until I got to the end! I have also tried quite a few of the recipes and they are delicious! Some of them have turned into family favorites!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    love all the books in this series and look forward to more.

    who would think that an ordinary business owner would keep finding bodies and end up solving mysteries as to who the killer is. Love all the recipes included in these books, they are a real plus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Joanna Fluke's always cookin' up a storm

    Just love this one - and all the new goodies to add to my baking file!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Crem Puff Murder was interesting

    I enjoyed reading this book. Joanne Fluke's books always keep my interest. Her characters are so real that I feel like I know them and wait for the next book to come out to see what is happening in their lives. I love the recipes, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    All around good book

    As usual a really good book I really like Ma Fluke's stylr, A well rounded character setting and plot. Now I am looking forward to a new book in about a year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Fabulous

    The mystery was well written, and the recipes in this book were also delicious!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Will Hannah finally make a decision about love?

    Alas, I really thought that Hannah would make a decision on the one man of her dreams but no such luck. Those men are really patient. This book brought back some by-gone characters which leads to trouble in town. Again the sisters and friends solve a murder in a really "health" way. Read the book to find out the meaning of this last sentence. Enjoy Moishe's adventure and the many recipes.

    Read all of the series and see Hannah develope as a crime solver.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5