Customer Reviews for

Creating Moments of Joy: A Journal for Caregivers

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

MANY Moments of Joy

It would be easy to wax poetic on the value of this book, but easier still to just say that today I created a moment of joy for my brilliant, agitated, befuddled father-in-law, who is suffering from dementia and progressive aphasia. If you have a loved one - ANY loved ...
It would be easy to wax poetic on the value of this book, but easier still to just say that today I created a moment of joy for my brilliant, agitated, befuddled father-in-law, who is suffering from dementia and progressive aphasia. If you have a loved one - ANY loved one - who suffers from the cruelty of dementia, no matter what stage he or she is in, I cannot emphasize enough these three words: READ THIS BOOK. It will change you, and whatever precious time you have left, by creating many moments of joy in your loved one's heart, and yours.

posted by 388251 on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended--Must reading from beginning of diagnosis to end

This book is not only helpful, it is very upbeat. I wish I had known about it when my mother was first diagnosed with Alzheimers. Even so, it helped me so much even in the latter stages--moreso than the other clinical, depressing other books I've read. I have given m...
This book is not only helpful, it is very upbeat. I wish I had known about it when my mother was first diagnosed with Alzheimers. Even so, it helped me so much even in the latter stages--moreso than the other clinical, depressing other books I've read. I have given many copies to family members. In fact, I'm about to order three more! I wish it had been required reading for the staff on Alzheimer's unit at my mother's nursing home! It would have been a much happier place and more comfortable for the residents.

posted by 611267 on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    MANY Moments of Joy

    It would be easy to wax poetic on the value of this book, but easier still to just say that today I created a moment of joy for my brilliant, agitated, befuddled father-in-law, who is suffering from dementia and progressive aphasia. If you have a loved one - ANY loved one - who suffers from the cruelty of dementia, no matter what stage he or she is in, I cannot emphasize enough these three words: READ THIS BOOK. It will change you, and whatever precious time you have left, by creating many moments of joy in your loved one's heart, and yours.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    great book

    I wish I would have had this book 2 years ago. It has been soooo bene
    ficial in understanding dementia and the people who are plagued with it. The chapters are short enough, the information is easy to understand. The writer made me laugh at times. It was also very thought provoking. I want to buy it for other friends and family. I recommended it to a nursing school instructor for her students.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Best easy to relate to most realistic Alz. book I have ever read.

    I am a Stated Tested Nursing Assistant and have been one for 13 years, I am currently working on my activity directors certification. I normally work an Alz unit at a nursing home but have worked on ICF and Skilled units also. I believe that this should be required reading for anyone who has to deal with dementia residents. It is very easy to relate to and very realistic. It is a book that both staff and families should be encouraged to read. It is written in a very down to earth manner and broken down so well that everyone of any education and intellect will benefit from the messages it imparts. The author obviously knows what she is talking about, and truly cares about her patients, she relates humorous tidbits while sharing the important knowledge that she has to impart. This book is worth every dollar.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    I work with families of those afflicted with Alzheimer's disease

    I work with families of those afflicted with Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia and this book is one I recommend to everyone. Our company has a training program to teach staff about caring for someone with dementia and this book condenses that program into book form. I gave this book to my mother when she was struggling to care for her husband with dementia and she quickly utilized the suggestions. Don't hesitate to buy this for yourself or someone you care about!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    I highly recommend this book

    I have read several books on the topic of Alzheimer's and Dementia. This book offers many pracical suggestions for caregivers and loved ones that are dealing with a family member or friend who has this disease. I have been able to alter my approach in dealing with my mother from grieving for what is lost to trying to create small moments of joy for her as often as I can. She may not remember what I said 10 minutes later, but she does seems to remember how I made her feel. I have recommended this book to my brothers, father and to many friends who are also dealing with this issue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was given out at my mother's nursing home when Jolene

    This book was given out at my mother's nursing home when Jolene Brackey came to speak. What a pot of gold she was! Animated, funny, and so obviously caring, she gave out armloads of info, advice, examples, and hope. Her book is a gem for anyone dealing with a dementia patient, especially for those new at it who are just as confused and flustered as the patient. Short, easy-to-understand chapters of what works and what doesn't, tips, advice, things to try to help ease the stresses of dementia care and of being a dementia patient. Brackey's style is warm and friendly, she's speaking directly to as she gives us advice on what to do when the patient is "robbed," how to get them through a shower without a fight, how to get them to eat, how to work with them and not push what you want, and perhaps most important, how to bring bits of joy into a difficult situation. Wish I knew about this book five years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    immensely helpful....a must read for Caregivers!

    If you want to live in harmony with your loved one and enhance all lives concerned......the author, Jolene Brackey, shares her gift of how to relate to dementia patients. Let them be the teacher and base your actions on their feelings. Jolene writes with compassion as she shares her experience and arms the reader with techniques to create joy in the moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Love this book! A must for caregivers!

    This book talks about creating that one moment of joy, of connection for our LO. They may not connect with you, but they connect with what they sense. Sure they'er going to forget it shortly after it happens, but for that moment, that instant, you've given them something priceless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Help for families and caregivers of someone with Alzheimers

    I purchased this book for the family and also the caregiver of my sister who has Alzheimers. They have found it very helpful and it should be included in the library of any person caring for someone with dementia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly recommend

    great ideas and projects to help keep your dementia patient involved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1