Customer Reviews for

Creep (Creep Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A truly creepy debut

CREEP is a debut novel in the same vein as stories like Fatal Attraction. Person cheats on significant other. Person regrets it and calls it off. Person gains crazy stalker. Dr. Sheila Tao has been cheating on her boyfriend with a student, the young and charming Ethan. ...
CREEP is a debut novel in the same vein as stories like Fatal Attraction. Person cheats on significant other. Person regrets it and calls it off. Person gains crazy stalker. Dr. Sheila Tao has been cheating on her boyfriend with a student, the young and charming Ethan. But when her boyfriend proposes, she calls everything off, determined to start anew with her loving fiance. But Ethan doesn't want to let her go. He threatens to release evidence of their affair. To ruin her career and her life. What's worse is, there's a killer on campus who has already killed one student. . .and Tao has the sneaking suspicion it might just be her ex-lover.

I'll admit, when I first read the synopsis for CREEP by Jennifer Hillier, I wasn't exactly enthusiastic. But I'd been browsing Books-a-Million for two hours or so for a new book to no avail. So I sat down and read the first few pages. Which was all it took.

Regardless of what you think about the plotline, Hillier's talent for writing is undeniable. One of the best I've read in some time. I was so impressed that, for that reason alone, I bought the book.

I wasn't dissapointed. The story, which at first seems cliche, turns out to be a lot more unconventional than one might expect. More impressive is that the protagonist, Shiela, a 39 year old psychology professer and sex-addict, is surprisingly likable despite all her terrible transgressions. Maybe it's because her stalker -- the creep, in CREEP -- makes her mistakes seem like spilled milk.

Highly reccommend for thriller fans. But be warned, it isn't for the faint of heart. Some strong sexual content (sex addiction, people!), and plenty of disturbing scenes.

Darkly humorous and intensely disturbing, CREEP is a fantastic debut. Jennifer Hillier is a novelist to look out for.

posted by TheSurrealTruth on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just ok

The story runs at a steady pace; it is interesting and action packed. But there are far too many ties left undone at the end, and the ending flat out sucks! There are weird editing issues too. For example, in the first two chapters the main character is blonde, then hal...
The story runs at a steady pace; it is interesting and action packed. But there are far too many ties left undone at the end, and the ending flat out sucks! There are weird editing issues too. For example, in the first two chapters the main character is blonde, then halfway through the book she becomes a dark brunette! There was so much promise within this story premise, but it is lacking continuity and resolution. In the end- I'd devote 297 pages of reading to something else...something a little more worth your time!

posted by Anonymous on August 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    A truly creepy debut

    CREEP is a debut novel in the same vein as stories like Fatal Attraction. Person cheats on significant other. Person regrets it and calls it off. Person gains crazy stalker. Dr. Sheila Tao has been cheating on her boyfriend with a student, the young and charming Ethan. But when her boyfriend proposes, she calls everything off, determined to start anew with her loving fiance. But Ethan doesn't want to let her go. He threatens to release evidence of their affair. To ruin her career and her life. What's worse is, there's a killer on campus who has already killed one student. . .and Tao has the sneaking suspicion it might just be her ex-lover.

    I'll admit, when I first read the synopsis for CREEP by Jennifer Hillier, I wasn't exactly enthusiastic. But I'd been browsing Books-a-Million for two hours or so for a new book to no avail. So I sat down and read the first few pages. Which was all it took.

    Regardless of what you think about the plotline, Hillier's talent for writing is undeniable. One of the best I've read in some time. I was so impressed that, for that reason alone, I bought the book.

    I wasn't dissapointed. The story, which at first seems cliche, turns out to be a lot more unconventional than one might expect. More impressive is that the protagonist, Shiela, a 39 year old psychology professer and sex-addict, is surprisingly likable despite all her terrible transgressions. Maybe it's because her stalker -- the creep, in CREEP -- makes her mistakes seem like spilled milk.

    Highly reccommend for thriller fans. But be warned, it isn't for the faint of heart. Some strong sexual content (sex addiction, people!), and plenty of disturbing scenes.

    Darkly humorous and intensely disturbing, CREEP is a fantastic debut. Jennifer Hillier is a novelist to look out for.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creep is a must read thriller

    Dr. Sheila Tao is a recovering sex addict, but after the death of her father she suffered a relapse and had a torrid affair with her teaching assistant/ student Ethan Wolfe, but decides to break it off because she is getting married in a few weeks to the love of her life Morris Gardener, but Ethan doesn't handle the breakup well, and threatens to share a sex video of the couple together. Sheila realizes that Ethan could cost her everything if that video gets out but soon tires of Ethan's taunts and decides to push back. This enrages Ethan and he decides that if he can't have Sheila then no one can, and decides that he must kill her. This book is a thriller in the true sense of the word. The plot draws you in from the first pages and the characters are easy to care about. Sheila is someone who is trying to get her life together, and hopes for a future with Morris, someone whom she sincerely loves. She made the mistake of having an affair with Ethan, but she had no idea just what sort of person he really was until she tried to break it off. Morris is a character that has issues of his own, he is a recovering alcoholic whose life was derailing until Sheila came along. Ethan's character comes off as weird in the beginning but slowly escalates into someone who was totally off the wall weird. The author did a fantastic job of leading me along making me think I had things figured out then she throws in an amazing twist that totally blew me away. The ending left me wondering if there might be a sequel. A great read for anyone who enjoys fast paced thrillers with an exciting, totally believable plot.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Creep - Stunning Debut For a more in depth review, please visit

    Creep - Stunning Debut

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chroley Chronicals!




    Wow! What a debut novel from Jennifer Hillier! If this book is any indication of her work to come, this lady will have an amazing career as an author of suspense and psychological novels! I was amazed at her writing abilities, especially as a newbie. She writes like a pro, as if this is her twentieth novel, not her first! I can't wait to see what else she has in store for us!




    The title of the book is absolutely the most fitting of any title I've ever read! Everything about this book was creepy, from the characters, down to the plot! 




    The characters in this book were such a diverse group, but enjoyable to read about throughout the book. I can't think of any other book with characters like these, and I enjoyed that! I am one to always root for the good guys and the happy ending, so I must say that I was rooting for Sheila and Morris from the get-go! Ethan creeped me out from the first moment I met him, and I enjoyed Jerry later on in the book!




    The plot was so thick and full of details, with many different unpredictable twists and turns! I had determined early on that I knew who the killer was and that Hillier was just trying to show the reader's what went through a killer's mind, but BOY WAS I WRONG! It was one of those, I knew what it was until it slapped me in the face, and it left me standing there, with a big red hand-print on my cheek, stinging, going WHOA!!! I totally DID NOT see that happening! What a thrilling read!! The second half of this book was a total rumdinger, as it kept me on the edge of my seat, dying to know what happens next! I went to reading two to three chapters a day, to reading the whole second half of the book in a matter of 24 hours! I COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN!




    When I first began reading Creep, I wasn't aware that Hillier had written another book, so I was a little taken aback by the ending, thinking what they heck? Either she left it wide open for another book, or that the readers are just going to be out in left field forever. When pulling up the title to do this review, I found that Hillier wrote a book that takes place after Creep, which is Freak and I can certainly assure you that I will be running out to get my hands on a copy of it as soon as I possibly can! I HAVE to continue with this author and find out what other great reads she has in store for me!




    Overall, I LOVED this book! I was thrilled with the writing, the story, the characters, the suspense...everything about it! I am STUNNED that this is a debut novel, because it is expertly written, like that of a professional. I would compare this work to that of suspense greats, Lisa Gardner and Chelsea Cain! This girl has got the talent, and I can't wait get my fill of more!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    OUTSTANDING PAGE TURNER

    A new and fresh perspective with hints of the suspense styles of Patterson and Deaver. I WILL be reading this authors next book. . . With out a doubt. Supurb story, characters, and voice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a fascinating yet terrifying psychological thriller

    Puget Sound University's Professor of Psychology Sheila Tao and her teaching assistant Ethan Wolfe are having an affair although she is to soon marry Texas financier Morris Gardener. Sheila needs to end the tryst immediately, but struggles to do so not because of some love for her TA. Instead she belongs to Sex Addicts Anonymous; something her fiancé and her lover fail to know.

    Ethan manipulates the human behavior expert by playing on her lust when they are alone and on her guilt when they not. The pair has been together for three months, but time has run out for Sheila. She abruptly vanishes without a trace and her suspicious fiancé fails to gain any help from the Seattle police even though he fears foul play occurred. The affluent Texan hires a private eye whose investigation uncovers the ugly side of Sheila who finds she cannot let go of Ethan by just saying goodbye.

    Creep is a fascinating yet terrifying psychological thriller mindful of the movie Fatal Attraction. Ironically none of the lead triangle comes across as nice though readers will empathize with the professor's addiction, which is deftly handled to provide insight to the condition while being the enabler to set the dysfunctional relationships. Although too much happenstance occurs, sub-genre fans will appreciate the taut tale wondering who amongst the Professor, the Financier and the Creep will be left standing.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2015

    ONE OF THE BEST

    I could not put this book down. It was one of the best books I have ever read this year.

    LOVED IT.

    Jennifer Hillier is an excellent writer.

    Spine tingling novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Just ok

    The story runs at a steady pace; it is interesting and action packed. But there are far too many ties left undone at the end, and the ending flat out sucks! There are weird editing issues too. For example, in the first two chapters the main character is blonde, then halfway through the book she becomes a dark brunette! There was so much promise within this story premise, but it is lacking continuity and resolution. In the end- I'd devote 297 pages of reading to something else...something a little more worth your time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Excellent book! I have very little time to read for pleasure but

    Excellent book! I have very little time to read for pleasure but I made time to read this book! I am looking forward to reading Freak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Excw Excellent read this

    Great book author has a bright future ahead and canr wait to hear about Dr Tao and Abbeu

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Thrilling debut

    My mom lent me her copy of this book and I read it in a day and half! Moves so fast you feel like you're not breathing. Great debut novel, more character-rich than most thrillers. Excellent twist at the end. I sort of had a feeling about it maybe halfway through, but it still shocked me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creep

    I thought when I choose this book to read, that it would be you usual stalker story, but it so much more. Dr. Sheila Tao is about the get married, but first she has to break off the affair that she is having with her TA/student, Ethan. But Ethan doesn't want it to end and makes it know that he will tell her fiancé.

    But Sheila has another problem, she has an addiction that her fiancé, Morris knows nothing about and when he discovers her problem, they fight, she leaves and disappears. Did Morris kill her or did Ethan do something?

    Jennifer Hillier's story is like an onion; the reader peels off layer after layer and discovers something new. I like that because it had me wondering and guessing, although some things I figured out, but was still left with a lot of surprises.

    Creep is a very creepy thriller!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intense Read

    Dr. Sheila Tao, professor of psychology, has to end her affair with her teaching assistant, Ethan Wolfe. Her fiancée, Morris, is a sweet man who would move the world for her. The one thing between them is Tao's secret, she's a sex addict. She relapses and that is how her affair started but now she wants to move forward with her life and come clean to Morris. Ethan is not alright with this. No woman EVER rejects him. He attempts to blackmail Tao and when that doesn't work he decides to kidnap her and kill her.

    Psychologically this is a fantastic book. From the first pages we dive into each of these personalities. The interaction is fascinating. Tao runs the gauntlet of emotions. Happiness with her fiancée but guilt for the lies and the affair. Fear of Ethan's intensity to lust for his sinful body. Ethan is a sociopath and we see his disconnect from reality throughout Creep but we also start to feel that something or someone else is playing a factor in all of this. Morris is the rock to Tao. She helped him sober up but is also the reason he falls off the wagon. His undying devotion to Tao, even after the lies are revealed, makes you believe maybe love can conquer all.

    Hold on to your horses and get ready for a psycho-thriller ride that you will not forget! Hillier has officially CREEPed me out! Hillier gives a spin to the student-teacher relationship that starts as lust but turns into a woman's worst nightmare.to be kidnapped and chained to a bed with a sociopath leaning over you and telling you not to worry, he isn't going to rape you.he is going to kill you. A must read for all thriller lovers. This ending will just KILL you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Book

    Excellant!!!! Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I thought this was a really good book - started a little slow -

    I thought this was a really good book - started a little slow - but when it got going it was great! A very scary book - highly recommend it. Just thought the characters started out slowly to develop and then got going. and was great! Can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    Hillier is the real deal. I look forward to her books. Her books

    Hillier is the real deal. I look forward to her books. Her books are creepy and suspenseful.  She is my new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2014

    Awesome psychological thriller! I've read all 3 of Hillier's boo

    Awesome psychological thriller! I've read all 3 of Hillier's books, and all 3 were really good. The Butcher was my favorite. She's a great writer and has a knack for creating really creepy characters and tense, scary scenes. If you like this book, I would also recommend: Patricia Cornwell, Tami Hoag (specifically, A Thin Dark Line), A Place of Execution by Val McDermid, The Shape of Snakes and The Devil's Feather, by Minette Walters, and anything and everything (esp End in Tears) by Ruth Rendell/Barbara Vine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Kayla

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Ah...

    I had high hopes for this story and all I can say is it was pretty much an epic fail. It could have been far better had the dialogue been better than meaningless banter between some characters. There was obvious leading into next sections, sort of a tired storyline of you like mystery/crime/suspense. I will not be continuing on with this series or author. Disappointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Good Book

    I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Jeff

    My cave is in so much disaray,knives everywhere.I suppose Vivian dropped by to say hi.It torments her so when I'm gone.I can still smell the scent of her perfume.I can smell it on Mrs.Kane's dead baby and the knive in Honey Boo Boo's slashed throat.Oh well.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3