Customer Reviews for

Crescendo (Hush, Hush Saga #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1604)

4 Star

(428)

3 Star

(190)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

A nail biting sequel

My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is ...
My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is still shady. I still have a hard time trusting him and I lost my connection with his character. While I want to believe he has Nora's best interests at heart, his actions at times are very hard to swallow. I want to cry into my pillow for the pain he causes her. Secondly, the evil character of Marcie is still around causing havoc. Actually she is ten times worse in Crescendo, if that is even possible. Book two does offer some insight into why she is so cruel.

Fitzpatrick does a great job of writing Nora's character in this book. She acts her age, making reckless decisions, and speaking without thinking. Her jealousy is written in a way I could relate to, many of us could. Her character also shows quite a bit of growth. She is a lot more confident and street smart.

Crescendo fills in a lot of blanks from Hush, Hush. These details provide a larger picture of Fitzpatrick's world. Nora is still a magnet for trouble, which takes readers on an adventure. Parts of the story were are scary in a way that makes you want to leave the lights on and check under the bed. The ending of the story surprised me a bit and left me hanging. I am eager to continue reading as Nora is already in a heap of trouble.

posted by EllzReadz on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

absolutely infuriating

I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like...
I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like a puppy she just follows nora around.what person in thier right mind stalks an angel who by the way shouldn't even be having sex even though he sleeps with what's-her-name-stereo-tipical-school-slut.this book just about killed me. i've never put away a book from frustration with the main character.and another thing, it's one of those books that just confuse,confuse,confuse, and confuse.

posted by 7906893 on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2364 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 119
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    A nail biting sequel

    My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

    Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is still shady. I still have a hard time trusting him and I lost my connection with his character. While I want to believe he has Nora's best interests at heart, his actions at times are very hard to swallow. I want to cry into my pillow for the pain he causes her. Secondly, the evil character of Marcie is still around causing havoc. Actually she is ten times worse in Crescendo, if that is even possible. Book two does offer some insight into why she is so cruel.

    Fitzpatrick does a great job of writing Nora's character in this book. She acts her age, making reckless decisions, and speaking without thinking. Her jealousy is written in a way I could relate to, many of us could. Her character also shows quite a bit of growth. She is a lot more confident and street smart.

    Crescendo fills in a lot of blanks from Hush, Hush. These details provide a larger picture of Fitzpatrick's world. Nora is still a magnet for trouble, which takes readers on an adventure. Parts of the story were are scary in a way that makes you want to leave the lights on and check under the bed. The ending of the story surprised me a bit and left me hanging. I am eager to continue reading as Nora is already in a heap of trouble.

    46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!

    I am ashamed to say the original reason I bought the first (hush, hush)book was the amazing cover art. But the book it's self was amazing as well. I read the whole thing in about 1 day. The characters are surprisingly relatable and I must say that PATCH is one "Hawt Piece Of Work!!" Haahaa!! And Nora's best friend Vee... HILARIOUS!!! Becca Fitzpatrick is a fantastic writer and I look forward to see where she will take her series. Becca!! you have a fan for life!! (so far)

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    Absolutely LOVED this book!

    All I can say is WOW! Becca did an awesome job with this book. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time and I could NOT find myself putting this book down. Highly recommended!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Hard not to Read in one Sitting!

    Makes Twilight Look Cheesey!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Crack. So Good It's....

    Hush, Hush was like crack. I read it in a day--well mostly--and when I finally had put it down and went back to my normal routine, I realized all the flaws the book was equipped with. But, I still loved it. It's like a drug. You know it's not the best thing, but Fitzpatrick knows how to write and you can't resist the fun. It's so simple it's sexy and funny. It's great. Crescendo is the same. When I cracked that baby open (I wasn't expecting it to be so thick!) I went at it with a critiques eye. Again, crack. I was on the last few chapters and I knew I needed to finish my paper. But who wants to write a ten page essay on the War in Afghanistan when you can be reading about sexy Patch? Yea. No one. So here's the thing. Cresecndo has the same formula as Hush, Hush, but different. When you read it, you'll understand. Fitzpatrick just threw in some new things that would leave a "WTFFFFFFFF?" cliffhanger. Actually, it's more like a "I jumped off a cliff and now I'm in mid-air waiting to crash into the bottom..." sorta cliff hangers. REally leaves you going WHY BECCA WHY? But these elements definatly open up a third installment (called TEMPEST) and honestly, I'll be back. My annoyances: I wanted to kill Nora. Like if she were real, I would rip her little whiney tongue out. Some of the stuff she did/said, drove me nuts, but Fitzpatrick needed her to do something, so yea. Can't be helped. My last complaint is half the book leaves you with little plot. I mean, things develop, but mostly you're just observing what Nora is getting herself into. "Let's make Patch Jealous." "Let's do some snooping." "Let's spy on Patch some more." Yea. It's fun because Vee is there cracking off jokes but still. It left me wanting more that way. But it picks up half way and it's great. REad it.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    A Must Read if you loved Hush Hush

    I was so surprised when I went into B&N on Sunday and saw that Crescendo was already on the shelf. I thought it was going to be released on October 19th. It's only been a day and I have already finished the book. It was that good. I couldn't put it down. I had to keep turning the pages. It was suspenseful and had to you really torn as to what and who you should believe. I cannot wait until Tempest comes out next year. What an ending...I was not expecting to be left hanging like that. I must have read Hush Hush at least 3 times and I know I will re-read Crescendo as well.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    An amazing sequel to hush hush!

    I was left jaw dropped by this book. I loved hush hush, but i really enjoyed cresendo. If you are someone who enjoys drama and jealousy have meet a book that delivers on this. This book was filled with suspense and i was unable to put it down. I recommend it to anyone wanting a good read. The only problem was that nora, the main chracter, was a bit hot and cold. One minute she loves patch and wants him at her side, and the next, she wants nothing to do with him. It takes some getting used to, but once you do, you will enjoy the novel to the extreme. Hope this helps.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    absolutely infuriating

    I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like a puppy she just follows nora around.what person in thier right mind stalks an angel who by the way shouldn't even be having sex even though he sleeps with what's-her-name-stereo-tipical-school-slut.this book just about killed me. i've never put away a book from frustration with the main character.and another thing, it's one of those books that just confuse,confuse,confuse, and confuse.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    omg. i met her! i love it! im patchs wife!

    i can't wait!!!! its going to be so awesome. but from the sypnopsis im not gonna be happy that patch will be going with marcie millar. that ****. i love that book to death. its my fav. read it reaid it read it!!!!! it is an absolute must!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Very Highly recommended!-Couldn't put it down!

    At the end of Hush Hush (if you haven't read it yet please do) I was left wanting more. As soon as I learned there would be a sequel I knew I had to get it. All of you twilight fans if you read these books the twilight series will seem like childrens stories. Also if you are one of us who is sick of seeing books only about vampires, Hush Hush and Crescendo are a refreshing break from sparkly dead people.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    BETTER THAN ALL BOOKS!!!!!!!

    People are talking about that this book is lame. But yall say Twilight is so much better. Twilight doesnt even follow the myth of a true vampire. And COM'ON those fake slangs from otha movies talking about "its like a lion fell in love with a lamb". I could spit that right out of my own shakeshpere book. The Hush Hush series is WAY better than twilight. So think about it. Is it really lame? To me OF COURSE NOT! I LOVED THIS BOOK AND LOVE THE AUTHOR! Keep up the good work Mrs. Fitzpatrick

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Patch!

    I LOVE Patch!! He makes me so mad sometimes, though(lol). I can relate to Nora and I like her friend, Vee. Patch is HOT, strong, romantic, cool and sexy. He has swagger, for sure! And, I feel he really loves Nora. I can't wait to read SILENCE!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Stunning

    This book had me always wondering what was going to happen next. So many twists and turns it would have any reader dying to see what the meaning if everything is. Throughout reading I had formed many questions, curious about what everything was, but by the end of the book everything made sense! Furthermore with the ending it made me quite anxious to get the next book in the saga, Silence.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crescendo is the sequel to the best selling Hush Hush.

    Ms. Fitzpatrick continues the tale of Nora Grey who's coming of age story is more than learning to drive and her first romance she get's an education into fallen angelology 101, where at the end of Hush Hush Nora's love interest Patch a fallen angel gives up what he wants most in the world to save her life. So now instead of being human he's gotten his wings back and has been assigned to Nora. Nora being a typical teenage girl with too high an IQ and too much time alone dreams up a perfect romance between she and Patch and when it seems that it will never be she decides the best thing would be to separate. What Nora doesn't know is that Patch is convinced that she's still in danger and not knowing who are friend and who are foe may just be deadly to Nora, it's up to Patch to save her, but can he.
    In Crescendo Ms. Fitzpatrick gives us a solid sequel to her debut novel Hush Hush with typical teenage angst mixed with otherworldly improbable and impossible to imagine complications which she delivers to her readers with believability in unbelievable situations. Her dialogue could be heard at any video arcade, high school or teen hangout and yet she gives her protagonists a certain air of maturity beyond the other kids in the story. On the subject of her characters, she gives them multi-dimensional facets which makes us want to keep turning the pages to find out more. The romance is in trouble in this instillation of her series and yet even at the height of their problems it's still very clear to her audience that Nora and Patch share the same heart, they just don't know how to make it beat for them (yet).
    Crescendo is marketed as a Young Adult novel but this book will appeal to more than just the 14+ crowd, adults will rush to read it because it speaks to our inner teen. It has been compared to the Twilight series but any serious reader will clearly see the differences and this reader thinks that this series far out shines the other. I don't think it would be appropriate for the teen under 14 and that is a good dividing line.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Okay so. Let me start off by saying that I did not like this boo

    Okay so. Let me start off by saying that I did not like this book one
    bit. Normally I wouldn’t write and post a review for a book that I hated
    with such a passion, but I feel like I need to because I loved Hush,
    Hush (book one) SO MUCH. I read Crescendo a few weeks back but I’m still
    finding myself in utter shock over the extreme dislike I have for this
    book. For me, Crescendo was a train-wreak complete with choppy
    storylines and weak characters. Not even Patch could save me from hating
    this book. In book one he was rough around the edges and aloof but
    towards the end, as we got to know him better he really began to open
    up. In Crescendo his character pretty much takes 10 steps backwards. It
    was like nothing happened and his character development poofed along
    with everyone else’s. Although she was never really my “favorite”
    character, in book one I really enjoyed Nora. I thought that she held
    her own pretty well. However she neither had that quality nor any other
    enjoyable or mildly likable quality in Crescendo. Never have I hated a
    female character so much. One moment she’s all heart broken and
    miserable because Patch is being aloof and she can’t stand living
    without him, then other times she’s pissed and wants nothing to do with
    him because he’s cruel. SERIOUSLY. It was like Nora was bipolar with her
    emotions flip-flopping back and forth so many times with little or no
    reason as to why. She’d go from completely despising him to being in
    love with him at the drop of a dime. It was exhausting and quite
    annoying keeping up with her feelings. Then there’s the new character
    Scott. I wanted to so badly to like Scott. After being annoyed with
    Patch from the getgo I had high hopes that Scott would be a sweet boy
    from Nora’s past. My wish was not answered in any capacity. Scott was
    annoying and shifty right from the beginning. I kept hoping that like
    Patch, he was just misunderstood and Nora could be the one to open him
    up. Nope. Instead all we got are a few outings that Scott invites Nora
    to that in which Nora ends up being left alone while Scott takes off.
    Seriously everytime the two got together Scott would just disappear with
    Nora not caring at all. The next day she’d act like it was no biggy
    which felt so fake and unreal. His overall part in the plot made no real
    sense and added nothing to the story. I have no problem with
    Fitzpatrick’s writing, it’s clean and the pacing is decent but the
    story… well it’s just bad (in my opinion). I can’t even really remember
    what’s going on or what has happened because nothing is adding up and
    everything is mashed together. I won’t be reading book three because
    Crescendo has completely turned me off from the series. My last solace
    would have been the characters, but like I said, I’m turned off from
    them as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    It's been awhile since I read Hush, Hush. But, I remember really enjoying the story and wanting more. The author has done a great job creating a story were you can't wait until the next one. Crescendo was everything Hush, Hush was and more! In fact, I've been struggling with myself on giving it 5 or 4 butterflies. I truly loved this book.

    I feel for Norah immensely in this one. She's struggling with finding the truth about her father's death. She struggles with her relationship with her mom. But, most of all she struggles with her relationship with Patch. And this I really identified with. Fitzpatrick has done an amazing job making this feel very real. In fact, I think all the relationships in the book are one of the things that make this story fantastic. Take away the supernatural elements of this story an it could be about any teenager anywhere.

    But the supernatural also adds to this story. I loved learning about Patch and his problems with being a guardian angel. There were so many times I thought he was just being an a$$, but there were actual reasonings behind all of his actions. He was trying to protect himself and Norah. By the end of the book, I was in love his character. I was floored by the ending. I never suspected for one minute what was really going on (although I also didn't believe what the story was trying to make you think either).

    So, I highly recommend Crescendo to those who have read Hush, Hush. And if you haven't...maybe you should. I think you might be missing out on a great series (and PATCH!)!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    OMG

    Anyone who is reading this has to get this book. Compare twilight to this well twilight doesnt have a chance and i swear if patch and marcie get together i wont be a happy camper.Nora and vee put together is soooo funny i literaly read this in three hours.If you dont get this book than you obviously dont know what you'er missing. becca, THANK YOU for such a hot book!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great

    Awesome series. I reccomend you read them in order to get the full effect. I loved them all

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!

    One of the best books ever! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2364 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 119