Customer Reviews for

Crescendo

Average Rating 4.5
( 2316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1593)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(188)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

A nail biting sequel

My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is ...
My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is still shady. I still have a hard time trusting him and I lost my connection with his character. While I want to believe he has Nora's best interests at heart, his actions at times are very hard to swallow. I want to cry into my pillow for the pain he causes her. Secondly, the evil character of Marcie is still around causing havoc. Actually she is ten times worse in Crescendo, if that is even possible. Book two does offer some insight into why she is so cruel.

Fitzpatrick does a great job of writing Nora's character in this book. She acts her age, making reckless decisions, and speaking without thinking. Her jealousy is written in a way I could relate to, many of us could. Her character also shows quite a bit of growth. She is a lot more confident and street smart.

Crescendo fills in a lot of blanks from Hush, Hush. These details provide a larger picture of Fitzpatrick's world. Nora is still a magnet for trouble, which takes readers on an adventure. Parts of the story were are scary in a way that makes you want to leave the lights on and check under the bed. The ending of the story surprised me a bit and left me hanging. I am eager to continue reading as Nora is already in a heap of trouble.

posted by EllzReadz on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

absolutely infuriating

I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like...
I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like a puppy she just follows nora around.what person in thier right mind stalks an angel who by the way shouldn't even be having sex even though he sleeps with what's-her-name-stereo-tipical-school-slut.this book just about killed me. i've never put away a book from frustration with the main character.and another thing, it's one of those books that just confuse,confuse,confuse, and confuse.

posted by 7906893 on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Okay so. Let me start off by saying that I did not like this boo

    Okay so. Let me start off by saying that I did not like this book one
    bit. Normally I wouldn’t write and post a review for a book that I hated
    with such a passion, but I feel like I need to because I loved Hush,
    Hush (book one) SO MUCH. I read Crescendo a few weeks back but I’m still
    finding myself in utter shock over the extreme dislike I have for this
    book. For me, Crescendo was a train-wreak complete with choppy
    storylines and weak characters. Not even Patch could save me from hating
    this book. In book one he was rough around the edges and aloof but
    towards the end, as we got to know him better he really began to open
    up. In Crescendo his character pretty much takes 10 steps backwards. It
    was like nothing happened and his character development poofed along
    with everyone else’s. Although she was never really my “favorite”
    character, in book one I really enjoyed Nora. I thought that she held
    her own pretty well. However she neither had that quality nor any other
    enjoyable or mildly likable quality in Crescendo. Never have I hated a
    female character so much. One moment she’s all heart broken and
    miserable because Patch is being aloof and she can’t stand living
    without him, then other times she’s pissed and wants nothing to do with
    him because he’s cruel. SERIOUSLY. It was like Nora was bipolar with her
    emotions flip-flopping back and forth so many times with little or no
    reason as to why. She’d go from completely despising him to being in
    love with him at the drop of a dime. It was exhausting and quite
    annoying keeping up with her feelings. Then there’s the new character
    Scott. I wanted to so badly to like Scott. After being annoyed with
    Patch from the getgo I had high hopes that Scott would be a sweet boy
    from Nora’s past. My wish was not answered in any capacity. Scott was
    annoying and shifty right from the beginning. I kept hoping that like
    Patch, he was just misunderstood and Nora could be the one to open him
    up. Nope. Instead all we got are a few outings that Scott invites Nora
    to that in which Nora ends up being left alone while Scott takes off.
    Seriously everytime the two got together Scott would just disappear with
    Nora not caring at all. The next day she’d act like it was no biggy
    which felt so fake and unreal. His overall part in the plot made no real
    sense and added nothing to the story. I have no problem with
    Fitzpatrick’s writing, it’s clean and the pacing is decent but the
    story… well it’s just bad (in my opinion). I can’t even really remember
    what’s going on or what has happened because nothing is adding up and
    everything is mashed together. I won’t be reading book three because
    Crescendo has completely turned me off from the series. My last solace
    would have been the characters, but like I said, I’m turned off from
    them as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Crescendo

    I'm sorry, but this book just didn't do it for me. I loved hush,hush but this just ruined all of my good thoughts about the series. My main problem was Nora. She was just so physchotic during the whole book. She was just too darn predictable and always tried to put herself in unnecessary danger. She only got better towards the end. The plot was what really killed me. Everything just seemed to drag on and on and on amd there were so many boring fillers. Right now, I'm not even sure whether I want to read silence. Patch might be the only reason that I continut to read the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Cresendo

    Its was good, well no it wasnt good but its only because it repeats its self constantly, nora and vee are obviously reckless because the only time they hang out its either because theyre breaking in somewhere or theyre stalking a person; they hung out to stalk scott and patch atleast 3 different times, and nora does have trust problems, shes constantly saying she hates patch and all that but 2 seconds later shes making out with him and i dont know about u guys but id find it very disturbing if a guy ,that i was kissing, couldnt 'feel' me....and that the guy i thought was stalking me ended up being my boyfriend that comes in my dreams just to make out with me... im sure if thats a relation ship or just the whole 'friends with benefits' thing at work and also rebecca there was sooo many words that were just randomly in the sentences i dont know if you messed up or something but i got really confused. I HONESTLY LIKED THE STORY BUT THAT DOESNT MEAN IT DOESNT NEED HELP.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Well....

    It wasn't that bad it will never come close to being ny fav. But i don't really suggest it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    HUGE Let-Down

    I really enjoyed the first book in the series and had high hopes for the sequel. Those hopes were dashed within the first couple of chapters. I was hoping that Nora would have grown up at least a little since the first book, and, if anything, she got worse. She was paranoid to the extreme and was constantly making wild acusatons and asumptions about people. Her lack of trust was frustrating. Vee wasn't the compasionate girl she usually is in the other books in the series and was really very annoying. At the end of Hush, Hush Patch's character was really starting to develop, but it's like he took ten steps backwards and became a huge jerk. It seemed like the whole book was a contest to see who the biggest jek in the book could be and who could be the most unplesant to everyone else. For long periods of time the plot would dissappear. And the "cliffhanger" ending? Honestly, I realIy couldn't care less. I was just happy the book was over at that point. I wouldn't reccommend this book (Unless you like unplesant people and teens who trust no one.) Apand quite frankly, it was a waste of money and time. I don't know what happened to Becca Fitpatrick's writting, but the book was a mess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Not overly impressed... hoping Silence will be better.

    I loved Hush Hush and the dynamic between Patch and Nora that was established. However, Cresendo was somewhat of a disappointment, the main problem being Nora. It was beyond painful to endure chapter after chapter of Nora's obssessive and borderline psychotic behavior wherever Patch and Marcie Miller were concerened. While Nora was highly annoying and nerve grating, Patch was the redeeming quality of this book. Overall the book was slow and full of fillers. It didn't pick up until the end. Just as the plot and book picks up... it's over and the reader is with a rather cliffhanger-like ending. Here's to hoping Silence will be better as the premise leaves readers to suggest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ruined the series for me.

    I loved the first book so I was excited to read Crescendo,however, It SUCKED. I am definetely NOT reading the 3rd book in the series,I am over with these books.Why?? Because Nora kept whining throughout the whole book example: "Patch why???, Patch this and that, Why wont you talk to me patch??, Whta are you doing NOOOO!!!"It got really annoying, and the book is soooo slow nothing really happens until towards the end, it's boring. I had to push myself to read it, something that I dont ussually do. Overall, dont waste your time and money on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Mmmmm....

    The first was better, but im still convinced that this series is just like the twilight saga... patch is great, but nora is a little odd. Not the best out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    dissapointing

    when i read hush hush i LOVED it, i couldnt put it down and when i heard that there was a second book coming out i was so excited. i finished reading crescendo in a week and i usually finish reading books in a day or two. i thought that nora was being completely out of character compared to how she was in the first book, i hate how she is whiney and the book was predictable. i just found this book to be a huge dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Incredibly Disappointed

    It's not one of the best series...Don't get me wrong, I did initially like the first book. I love that it's about fallen angels/nephilim and all that. What I didn't like was that the main character was completely unrelateable (to me, at least). Nothing that happens is surprising...The characters all seem emotionally out of reach. I didn't really get to know any of them better... The whole romance part is kind of boring. The first book was awesome about Nora liking this mysterious guy with a huge secret. This book just makes Patch out to be a total *******! At the end, I didn't like ANY of the characters anymore! I don't even know if I want to buy the next installments...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    BUT THE FIRST ONE WAS SO GOOD!

    I'm almost a hundred pages in and I don't know if I can finish. Nora doesn't even seem like the same character! She's completely irrational. I'll probably finish it because the first one was good but so far I'm not liking it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I had to force myself through this book by literally skimming through the chapters. It got only remotely interesting towards the end but even then it wasnt really that good! I honestly think that the author should take this series into a different direction, because she seems to be using ideas which i have seen multiple times before. And i know that the ending is supposed to make you excited for the next one but i realize that I really just dont care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4