BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crescendo (Hush, Hush Saga #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1595)

4 Star

(427)

3 Star

(190)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

A nail biting sequel

My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is ...
My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is still shady. I still have a hard time trusting him and I lost my connection with his character. While I want to believe he has Nora's best interests at heart, his actions at times are very hard to swallow. I want to cry into my pillow for the pain he causes her. Secondly, the evil character of Marcie is still around causing havoc. Actually she is ten times worse in Crescendo, if that is even possible. Book two does offer some insight into why she is so cruel.

Fitzpatrick does a great job of writing Nora's character in this book. She acts her age, making reckless decisions, and speaking without thinking. Her jealousy is written in a way I could relate to, many of us could. Her character also shows quite a bit of growth. She is a lot more confident and street smart.

Crescendo fills in a lot of blanks from Hush, Hush. These details provide a larger picture of Fitzpatrick's world. Nora is still a magnet for trouble, which takes readers on an adventure. Parts of the story were are scary in a way that makes you want to leave the lights on and check under the bed. The ending of the story surprised me a bit and left me hanging. I am eager to continue reading as Nora is already in a heap of trouble.

posted by EllzReadz on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

absolutely infuriating

I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like...
I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like a puppy she just follows nora around.what person in thier right mind stalks an angel who by the way shouldn't even be having sex even though he sleeps with what's-her-name-stereo-tipical-school-slut.this book just about killed me. i've never put away a book from frustration with the main character.and another thing, it's one of those books that just confuse,confuse,confuse, and confuse.

posted by 7906893 on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I liked the first book a lot better. I'm not a big fan of all t

    I liked the first book a lot better. I'm not a big fan of all the relationship breakup, then get back together drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    Crescendo takes place roughly two months after Hush, Hush. The prologue is a flashback to the night Nora's father was murdered, a huge hint towards the storyline of Crescendo. Nora's personal life is becoming a complicated mess. More importantly, Nora's life is once again in danger. As if matters were not difficult enough Nora is being haunted by images of her father. She keeps seeing him in the most random locations. Nora also receives a mysterious envelope pointing her in the direction of her father's murderer. Nora vows to find out what happened the night her father died.

    The Hush, Hush series is becoming the bane of my existence, well at least as far as reviews go. I find myself loving some parts of Crescendo and absolutely hating others parts. *sigh* Again the characters personality's are not consistent. Nora has switched from a sweet naive girl to an obsessive, neurotic stalker. It's never a good sign when Vee seems sane by comparison. The part of Crescendo that I abhorred was how unbelievably cruel the characters were to each other. The hateful remarks were completely overdone and need to be significantly toned done.

    I'm still completely in love with the paranormal aspect of this series. I still think is an amazing concept and I'm glad it was stretched out over the entire book this time. The love and hate aspects of this book cancel each other out, leaving you with simply a good book. If Fitzpatrick had managed to get her characters under control and stop writing everything to its most extreme, Crescendo could have been an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I did find the story entertaining with the progression of the fa

    I did find the story entertaining with the progression of the facts. Other than that the story did not really do anything for me. This book did not intrigue as much as the first one. I felt myself just being annoyed with all of the characters. Nora was her usual whiny self with an annoying attitude and self-serving attitude. Patch just pissed me off from the beginning I wanted to ok his reasons but he was just a jerk throughout everything. No one communicates with one another and they all just make everything worse for everyone in the long run. If patch and Nora would actually talk to each other many of their problems really wouldn't be an issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Meh

    I liked the first book better than this one. It's still good, but it gets really annoying how Nora is overly dramatic and insecure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    im on page 171.

    & im pissed off. Theyre not together! What the hell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Ok

    Didnt really like the main character. Kinda whiny

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    The synopsis is fairly accurate, so no need to rehash it. Howev

    The synopsis is fairly accurate, so no need to rehash it. However the entirety of the book was more complex than you’re initially led to believe. There is a hefty protein laden platter of material served up here. We get meaty information on Nora’s father’s final minutes of life and the focus of his impact on her life since his death serves as the small potatoes. There’s also a gravy-boatload of self induced angst. The veggies are not the regular succotash, it’s actually a mix of ridiculous, ludicrous, absurd and asinine actions by the female lead (no way would I call her a heroine). The new & returning characters are the bread & butter for our star couple.

    For this installment Nora sabotages her relationship with Patch so she can whine about it for much too long. Proving the adage wanting is sometimes better than having once again. Meanwhile a playmate from her past is all grown up and back in town. So with Nora’s contrived reason for breaking with Patch puts him squarely as the focal point of a love triangle – but that was not enough because Nora then sets herself as the center of the second triangle trying to win Patch back. Then there were moments that Nora did simple things like try to get the perfect outfit, shop, plan to get a part time job to buy a car balanced against her fumbling to find the answers to a secret and having become a expert at identifying super-naturals. Really? I’m sure it has to be exhausting to be Nora because her antics and implausibilities made this a hard book to get through for me. The other characters were fine with as much as they were allowed participate but they did begin to grate or maybe I was over it all.

    The unveiling of the “dessert” secret was actually a well done highlight of the book and placed the reader squarely in cliffhanger land. I don’t know that I’m interested enough to follow through to the final installment. This one left me with a stomach ache.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    book review- short

    I think this book was good. The story line was good but i couldnt shake the fact that this was just so much i like twilight. First book she finds out that hes a fallen angel (vampire) and falls for him. Next book Nora (Edward) doesnt want to ruin her life by loving someone that she can never be with. Also there were so many mess ups in the book. I mean i could not believe the words they were misspelling! I got really fustrated with the characters! First of all Nora just held all her thoughts inside her head! I thought that if she kept on keeping it all locked up she'd EXPLODE! Marcie was just so HEARTLESS!!! The way she acted was so unrealistic. She wouldnt just not care if she was making fun of Nora because her dads dead!!!!! The story line was good and i will read the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    So-so

    The first book in the series was very scattered. The story didn't flow but it did interest me enough to try the second book. The writing style really hasn't improved much but there were some suspenseful moments and plot twists. I really think the author needs to develop her characters a bit more. They just don't seems real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SPOILERS Ok so this Book is By Far not my favorite. I have read

    SPOILERS
    Ok so this Book is By Far not my favorite. I have read some of the reviews on here and it seems to me that a lot of ladies that have read it give Nora a hard time. Well I disagree! Does she act like a hurt, confused child. Why yes she does cause...guess what she is one! LOL she is in high school for gods sakes. Her father was murdered. Her moms never around. Nephilim have tried to kill her. She meets this mysterious boy that pursues her in the beginning(last book) they end up together(she falls in love). Her best friend lets face it not really that great. And then she tells patch she loves him and he takes off. supposedly cause there's danger but we find out he goes to her "arch-nemesis"(Marcie) lol house. he stare at her threw the bedroom window. she finds all this out(thanks to the Bi!@# Marcie), and patch being secretive and shady wont tell her anything and she over-reacts yes. She breaks up with him because she is HURT. and he doesn't even fight for her! I give you Patch did say "I'm supposed to just swallow your decision and walk out?" but that's ALL he did. he continues to hangout with Marcie which is like a slap in the face. Plus Marcie is throwing it in Nora's face every chance she gets. Nora tries to be spiteful and use Scott to make Patch jealous, it doesn't really seem to work until more towards the end anyway. Does Nora find out that her and Patch "CAN'T" be together. yes because of the Angels. he'll go to hell. but it doesn't make it easier for her.

    But come on ladies, those of you that have fallen in love completely with a guy and then he breaks your heart. Regardless if he meant to or not. Its suffocating.....that pain... it feels like you can't breath. And poor Nora has to stand by and watch the guy she loves move on with the one person she hates most in the world. that's got to hurt something awful. To me it seems like he doesn't even care. (now I know deep down that its a series, so I know there has to be a reason) but it was still hard for me to get through

    oh plus some psycho is trying to get her throughout the book and she has to deal with it all on her own. She can't talk to her BFF because 1. Vee doesn't know anything about the Nephilim or Fallen Angels so she can't talk to her about it. and 2. Vee is dating Rixon, Patch's best friend so she isn't around all the time. and Patch isn't there for her. He is too busy with Marcie.

    Now I will give you, when the fight broke out in the pool hall Patch did get Nora out first, and when Nora was in a fight at the battle of the bands, it was her that patch got out first. Then too, but he also went back in for marcie, and after the battle of the bands he took marcie home.

    Later that night he goes into Nora's dream, and they start making out. But Nora touches his back and sees he's memories of earlier that night of Patch taking Marcie home. Marcie flirting, him not really flirting back. but they kiss and he doesn't stop it. she tells him what she sees and he doesn't really defend himself he tells her that him & Marcie it isn't love so its ok basically. which is like a slap in the face. She throws him out. She rips his necklace off her neck and gives it back to him. She asks for her ring back but he refuses to give her ring back to her.

    The night of Marcie's party. Patch helps her when she gets stuck on the roof, because she was snooping in Marcie's bedroom. He asks to drive her home and have take out with him. she is reluctant but then says ok. He tells her (telepathically) that he'd go rouge for her if she asked him to, so that they could have some time together because he's tired of 'living halfway'. She wants to but she loves him so much she can't deal with the fact she would be the reason he would go to hell.She rejects his offer and she walks away crying.

    Now I choose to believe that deep down Patch truly loves her since the beginning and never stopped. but since she broke up with him and said she wanted nothing to do with him & said he was NO LONGER her guardian angel(which OBVIOUSLY she didn't mean any of it). Since he was assigned to Marcie; He was pretending to move on.

    Throughout the whole book. It has this sad feeling behind it. Nora seems heartbroken and feels alone and abandoned. It was hard for me to get through. I was anxiously waiting for "the third act twist, the unexpected declaration of love" .

    I must say that the ending leaves you hanging which is good because now you have to get the next book to see what happens. I feel a lot better about the book once I reached the end of it then i did for most of the book. I have the feeling that this book will be my least favorite in the series. But I'm sticking with it and I'm starting "Silence" today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Disapointing

    Hush Hush was amazing! This was full of typos, unexplained situations, and tons of confusion. It was good at the beginning and end, so it gets 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Loved this book but 3 stars for senseless typos

    When i love a book i hate the fact someone did not take the time to properly edit this book, i feel cheated because it was a distraction to an avid reader like me, i will definitely be looking for following books in the used bookstore out of defiance that b & n sold me an e-book with so many glaring typos, not cool, read the book anyway, its got a lot of everything you want in a book to escape, love love loved it an the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Good Sequel

    This is a good follow-up, though first book was better. Found the end sort of abrupt, making it obvious there'd be a third book. However, there's a difference between a cliffhanger and a blatant cut-off to sell more books. Tie-up should've been a little cleaner (not end on a quote) or had book 3 preview.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    WTF

    Hush, Hush was an amazing book. I immediately picked up this one cause I couldnt wait. 3/4 of the way through this book it appears that the author stopped putting effort into it. When you get to the end expect to think well wheres the rest......To me this and Silence are just one big book. If I would have read this without Silence being already released I would have never bought the 3rd book because she just stops the book almost in mid sentance.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Wellll

    I got mad at nora and patch and put it down but i think i should pick it back up. It was good b4 then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to get into

    After reading hush Hush I was looking forward to reading this one. However, I had a really hard time getting into the book. It really drug on for me. It wasn't until probably about the middle of the book that I actually started to get into the book and enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    entertaining

    not as good as the first, however still enjoyed it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Ehhhh

    I thought this book was alright. I was however frustrated thoughout most of it because of the decisions Nora was making or how predictable some of the future events were. The ending is filled with action but not as good as Hush Hush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    it was alright but nora is too... urgh.

    I never thought that any heroine could be worse than bella swan but just like with twilight i love this series to death but i just hate how the heroine acts. She is incredibly annoying and doesnt do much but have a huuuuge temper. Of course she has some good moments like when she finally figures stuff out and doesnt just assume everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10