Customer Reviews for

Crescendo

Average Rating 4.5
( 2319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1596)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(188)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

A nail biting sequel

My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is ...
My thoughts...Crescendo starts with the mysterious death of Nora's Dad, then quickly picks up where Hush, Hush leaves off. If you have not read Hush, Hush, I recommend you read it before Crescendo.

Some things did not change between the two books. First, Patch is still shady. I still have a hard time trusting him and I lost my connection with his character. While I want to believe he has Nora's best interests at heart, his actions at times are very hard to swallow. I want to cry into my pillow for the pain he causes her. Secondly, the evil character of Marcie is still around causing havoc. Actually she is ten times worse in Crescendo, if that is even possible. Book two does offer some insight into why she is so cruel.

Fitzpatrick does a great job of writing Nora's character in this book. She acts her age, making reckless decisions, and speaking without thinking. Her jealousy is written in a way I could relate to, many of us could. Her character also shows quite a bit of growth. She is a lot more confident and street smart.

Crescendo fills in a lot of blanks from Hush, Hush. These details provide a larger picture of Fitzpatrick's world. Nora is still a magnet for trouble, which takes readers on an adventure. Parts of the story were are scary in a way that makes you want to leave the lights on and check under the bed. The ending of the story surprised me a bit and left me hanging. I am eager to continue reading as Nora is already in a heap of trouble.

posted by EllzReadz on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

absolutely infuriating

I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like...
I actually loved the first book but this is so retarded i had to put it away for a month just to keep from throwing my nook across the room!!the only thing the main character doesn't lack drive, but her drive is headed in the wrong direction.Patch is insane, vee is like a puppy she just follows nora around.what person in thier right mind stalks an angel who by the way shouldn't even be having sex even though he sleeps with what's-her-name-stereo-tipical-school-slut.this book just about killed me. i've never put away a book from frustration with the main character.and another thing, it's one of those books that just confuse,confuse,confuse, and confuse.

posted by 7906893 on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 425 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Mixed Reviews

    Honestly, I loved this. I dont understand how the title corresponds to the story, but oh well. Anyways, I had mixed feelings about this book. At times I wanted to throw the book at the wall and punch Nora. I found myself relating her to Bella because she was willing to put herself in danger and do really stupid things just to see Patch. But then again, I wanted to see Patch too. I started off the book loving him, amd by the middle of the book, both Nora and Patch was getting on my nerves. Patch would hurt her and Nora would whine and whine and whine. But towards the end, I loved Patch again because I never fully gave up hope on him. Vee is a good friend, sometimes annoying, but good. But Nora needs more friends. The only person she could rely on was either Vee or Patch. So yea, I was annoyed through some parts of the book, but overall it was good. I must wanted some more Patch ^___^ I know. Something is wrong with me because Im a jumbled mess. The would make more sense if i added more details, but then i would spoil the whole book. Welp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Awesome!

    I loved it! I only wish that Nora didn't act so self centered all the time. She was nothing like that in the first book. Other than that, it was awesome! The last page smacked you in the face literally. I kept reading the last pages like What the hell just happened here?! I thinkshe waited too long to spring.that on you. I mean, i read the ending just a minute ago, and im still windering if i was hallucinating... Its alsoa little fustrating. There isnt any foreshadowing that you can sense as you are reading. I mean, you know.almost everything before Nora does. Every that you dont know is sprung on you at the last minute!? Its a little fustrating...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    An Emotional Journey

    This book is great if you want to read all night long!! I've read quite a few reviews that talk about how the readers dislike for this book is based on the sad emotions relevant to the story; but that only means that the writer has done her job! The writing is wonderful and the ability to get lost in the story is definantely there! If you want a story that is based in the supernatural tinged life of a teenage girl...then it will appease every sense and want you have. Have fun reading ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    I love these books!!!!!

    These books are s amazing i jst wish that my writing could go on here : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    **POSSIBLE SPOILERS** LOVED THIS BOOK!!! I read all three in the

    **POSSIBLE SPOILERS**
    LOVED THIS BOOK!!! I read all three in the trilogy in two days!! They are amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    I want a Patch

    But him and Marci made me made. And they are sisters thts y they hated each other...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Fulfills teen drama guilty pleasure

    Though this is not the finest work of literature, the story is very entertaining! It's easy to read and the plot moves fast enough so the reader doesn't ever become bored. I highly recommend this book for a just-for-fun weekend-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesomeness!!

    I loved this book its soooo good i got a bit addictited(;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Love this book series!

    I have not finished the book yet but i read Hush Hush pretty quickly and knew that i would love this book. The only thing that i didn't love was the massive amount of typos, but i was willing to look past it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I accidentally pressed post on my last review.

    Well I loved the book but not as much as the first one. I absolutely loved Patch abd how Nora and he were fighting the entire time. Well most of it anyways. I did enjoy reading this and it was wworth the read. I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Hush hush

    When i read this book i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Cost

    Why is this book so expensive???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It keeps getting better!

    You think you enjoyed Hush, Hush ? Crescendo is just as good as the first! there was so much piled into the book and the pace was steady so reading through this book will take hardly any time at all!

    Things start off a little rocky between Patch and Nora, although the strong tension and chemistry is still there between them. You start wondering what Patch¿s problem is, because he starts acting like such a douche. Yet you can¿t help but like him because he just seems to be there for Nora when she needs him. But when he starts paying attention to Marcie it almost felt like a slap to the face or a knife to the heart (or both). If these kinds of feelings come out from the reader, then it just shows Becca Fitzpatrick is doing a great job in her writing style!

    Not to mention, the more Marcie is mentioned, and the things she does just makes you want to seethe and grind your teeth. There¿s quite a few revelations about Marcie and there¿s another blindside move that I was not expecting. Still, I hate her as much as Nora and Vee do because she¿s just so...infuriating (for lack of a better term). Some of the things Marcie does just makes you want to go in and defend Norah (which annoyingly enough, she¿s always alone and Patch/Vee are conveniently gone). Sometimes though, I wish Nora could fight back - even though it¿s not really her personality to do so.

    The plot of this book was excellent and the pacing was even. Readers might find Nora a little on the whiny side but the action, and the mystery just make up for all of that. Vee is always an extremely funny BFF to be with and her actions and quotes are just memorable. Nora and her make perfect partners in crime (although may result in disastrous consequences). The ending leaves on a huge cliff hanger, which can only mean, the next book will be even better!

    I most definitely recommend this book for YA readers. Note, reading Hush, Hush is required and essential to understanding the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Patch this book into your reading list

    A great easy read with a twist you dont see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Didn't like it as much as Hush, Hush

    It was a good read I just did't like how Nora and Patch we separated in this this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Selfish love

    Love the sequel but why does nora seem to love patch and despise him at the same time for her own selfish reasons? Patch should totally forget that he was ever considered a guardian angel for her and to just live his life the way he wants to. Some characters are a bit bitter but the storyline is great. Can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Not as good as 1 but read it cause book 3 is AMAZING

    Just read this so you can get to the end 5 pages and love it....then move on to book 3 and fall back in love with the series!

    Love the story....so worth every penny even with the whiny annoying Nora in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Go. Right now. Read this book!

    4.5 stars. Second in the Hush, Hush series, Crescendo follows good girl Nora and bad boy Patch as they continue to dance around their budding romance. Patch, recently changed from a fallen angel to Nora's guardian angel, is now pulling away and seems to be drifting toward Nora's long-time enemy, Marcie Millar. But is his distance because of feelings for Marcie or because Nora pushed him away? This oh-so-good sequel includes suspense, romance, hatred, and a surprise villain. You know you want to read it-go now! Get yourself this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great series.

    Worth the read. Has it's moments where you wish the story would hurry along, but that's how it keeps you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Did it fuly download?

    Can someone tell me if their nook book dpwnloaded 271 pages cause the book ended abruptly for me and i cant find out if its my nook book downlad failed or thats really the ending?nora n patch are at his place and hank millar shows up n tells nora he was the balck hand?is there more or is that the ending?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 425 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22