BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crescent

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Absolutely Refreshing

    I read this book for a class, and I have to say that she is an excellent writer. I loved her use of food as a metaphor for desire. She also has a great sense of descriptions, they are very unique. If you get a chance to buy this, please do. I know I won't be selling this book back at the end of the semester.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jumped from the page

    Rarely does a book come along where you know by page 2 that this will be one of the best books you have ever read. Diana Abu Jaber's Crescent is that book.
    It is a sensual exploration of food, love and living in exile that jumps from the page and grabs your heart.
    Jaber writes "Chef's know-nothing lasts" "In the mouth and then gone." That sad fact is how I feel about Crescent. It was over too quick, but unlike the memory of that perfect taste that is near impossible to replicate, I will re-read Crescent to recapture the feeling of the perfect novel.

    Victoria Allman
    Author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey With Her Captain

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Very enjoyable read

    A good and distinctive work, full of poetic prose. This novel evokes a wonderful sense of culture and place and brings sensitively written accounts of human feelings and relationships. And the food! And the Arabian tales! And the stark realities of many aspects of the Middle East -- and the United States. And the twists and surprises as we come to know the characters. Eager to read more by Diana Abu-Jaber.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Wonderful insight into Arab Americans

    I loved this book. It reminded me of Chocolat, Five Quarters of An Orange. The book has two stories happening simultaneously. The book allows the reader to gain insight into the beauty of the Arab world in America. I definatetly recommend it. It is a great book club book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    luscious, surprising, heady

    I don't know why this book isn't at the top of the charts-- it is AMAZING. Crescent moved me in a way that few books ever have-- and I've been reading for a long, long time. The subject is timely and important, but it's much more than a book about Iraqis-- its a book about PEOPLE. And love and food. I think it's entirely unique.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Apprentence den

    Lunastar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    The Oryx

    This is my story. I shall cherish it always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Scrumptious

    I saw this book in the sale annex and I wasn't sure about it, but desided to buy it based on the readers reviews. I am glad that I did. There are a lot of interesting characters. I love the story that Sirine's Uncle tells through out the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    loved, loved, loved it!

    The story of these two lovers is gorgeous! I think they will stay with me for a long, long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Luscious on all Counts

    The story, the descriptions, the characters: all remain in my mind as when one is partaking of the best. They are rich and spicy and complex. The setting of a restaurant quite aptly provides the cornerstone for this marvelous description of life among an Arab American community. The dual perceptions of life from an American and international perspective add even more depth to this delightful, thought-provoking novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    A Bumpy Magic Carpet Ride

    The topic holds a lot of promise but doesn't deliver a home run. The author gives a glimpse of what it is like to be an Arab in the U.S. and in Iraq under Saddam H. The romance is predictable and has the overblown drama of a 30's- 40's movie romance. The pacing is also a unbalanced. You have to get through half of the book before you are introduced to the storyline's intrigue. The entire storyline unfolds and reaches resolution in the last 50 pages--events should have been better spaced out. Building empathy towards the issues Iraqis face without being preachy is this author's greatest achievement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1