Customer Reviews for

Crescent Dawn (Dirk Pitt Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 551 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

American Classic

Darth Vader is a hater. Crescent Dawn is the most carefully crafted book since 1984. I'm talking about the book not the year. I feel like Dirk is the brother I never had. Clive spoiled us with this one. #dat

posted by RichardWellner on November 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Going Downhill

The Dirk Pitt series started to suffer when Clive Cussler brought in his son Dirk. The previous adventure Arctic Drift had an environmental agenda. Hopefully Crescent Dawn will be better. It seems that a few of the thriller novelists are getting to old and is looking fo...
The Dirk Pitt series started to suffer when Clive Cussler brought in his son Dirk. The previous adventure Arctic Drift had an environmental agenda. Hopefully Crescent Dawn will be better. It seems that a few of the thriller novelists are getting to old and is looking for their children to continue.

posted by Darth-Vader on November 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 558 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    American Classic

    Darth Vader is a hater. Crescent Dawn is the most carefully crafted book since 1984. I'm talking about the book not the year. I feel like Dirk is the brother I never had. Clive spoiled us with this one. #dat

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another GOOD read!!

    Excellent story. Clive Cussler and Edgar Rice Burroughs have a lot of parallels. Found writing later in life after previous occupations didn't satisy them. Good vs Evil. Good wins out. You don't always get the girl with Cussler, like you do with Burroughs, but still an outstanding read. Entertainment wins out!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I started with the early books by Clive Cussler and thought they were the greatest. But, for some reason, Clive did not write for several years. When the dry spell ended, I was shocked by the change in writing style. Clive decided to reduce and degrade the Dirk Pit series by selling the "Clive Cussler" name and the "Dirk Pitt" name for nothing more than $$$ to other authors. Clive... you ARE Dirk Pitt, no other author can be Dirk Pitt because he comes from you. I can't figure out if Clive Cussler is unable or just plain unwilling to write the Dirk Pitt series himself.
    The "Crescent Dawn" book has Dirk Pitt embracing Islam as if he is also a true beliver in Islam. Here is Dirk Pitt, a true American hero from bygone books, embracing a belief system that has a burning hatred for America and Americans. It is beyond me to understand why Clive has let this happen. Guys... just write great books and quit trying to make a political statement!!!
    I have seen some good reviews of this book. If you had read the early books, penned by Clive himself, you would understand why I don't like this book. As a loyal fan from the early years, I feel betrayed and insulted that Clive has sold his name and Dirk to other authors.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Excellent history lesson and story too.

    This book certainly brings out the research that went into producing it in the first place. So much of the Middle East history and the characters that might have been. Reading it opened my eyes to the Muslim world and Christianity as well. Well done, overall. I thought the idea of discovering the manifest cargo onboard a Roman vessel certainly had a lot of merit. It is really too bad that all this was only fiction. I was a bit puzzled by the title, but I'm sure the authors could explain. Another well thought through novel by the Cussler's for sure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Going Downhill

    The Dirk Pitt series started to suffer when Clive Cussler brought in his son Dirk. The previous adventure Arctic Drift had an environmental agenda. Hopefully Crescent Dawn will be better. It seems that a few of the thriller novelists are getting to old and is looking for their children to continue.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Too much!

    I would love to buy these novels for my Nook, but not when I can get the paperback for around $5.00. Thought that was kinda the point for digitizing books. Cuts down on production cost. Work on that will ya!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best in the series . . .

    I became a fan of Dirk Pitt and Clive Cussler through seeing a movie and then reading the book . . . and got hooked on the series. One of the things that has always stood out to me is how Mr. Cussler is able to mix fiction with just the right amount of fact and a little ‘over the top’ and still have you think. . .’okay maybe . . .’ I admire him for that. However having just completed reading “Crescent Dawn’ it saddens me to admit that I was disappointed. While the base elements of a Dirk Pitt adventure where still there and very visible to the reader the last part of the book seemed to make the proverbial left turn into ‘never never land’ and in doing so became so unbelievable that it ruined the book for me.

    As a fan of the character I would recommend the read, but if you are looking for your first Dirk Pitt adventure- I’d suggest to looking at one of the older books. In my opinion it is not the best in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Fifteen buck ebook, you must be joking

    If I get this it will be hardcover at Sam's for about same price.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Another Score by Clive Cussler

    What does this sinking of a Roman Galley, the underwater discovery of an Ottoman-Era Shipwreck, and unprecedented terrorist attacks on religiously-significant locations that could trigger World War 3 have to do with each other? To find our, you'll have to read the latest novel by Clive Cussler, "Crescent Dawn." In combination, Dirk Pitt's wise-crack humor, adrenaline-pumping adventures, and a historically-accurate plot, this story will cement you to your seat and tempt you to read 'just one more chapter!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Not worth the time. Do Not recommended spending your money on this one.

    I have been a huge Clive Cussler fan for the past few years. Anticipating the next book. This book was a big disappointment. Though I finished the book, it was a struggle to complete.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clive Cussler, the master adventure writer, manages to write a boring book.

    There has never been an author upon whom you could so consistently rely as Clive Cussler. His books are hard to put down. Unfortunately, with Crescent Dawn, it was easy to put down and hard to pick up again.

    The locations could not be less interesting, or at least they are made dreadfully dull in this book. The place names are so esoteric and obscure as to solicit a heart-felt "Who cares?".

    The reading is as dry and tedious as the dig sites described. If you can make your tortuous way through the first 250 pages, you might catch a glimmer of adventure, only to be disappointed that the glimmer fizzles much more quickly than it arrived.

    We are forced to slog through more than 500 pages of deadly prose and stilted dialogue. It feels odd saying 'skip this one' to a Clive Cussler book, but trust me; you will do your self a favor by taking a pass on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Story, but Bloated

    Dirk and Al are back for more in Crescent Dawn, a fun story which will keep Cussler fans suitably entertained. Like all Clive Cussler novels, Crescent Dawn follows the classic Cussler formula, which works, but is predictable. I only became a fan a few years ago, so perhaps I notice it more because I've read so many books in so short a time, but it's very noticeable. As always, the story is heavy on action, and has good interplay between the main characters. What I did not enjoy about the book is the unnecessary length. The book has a bloated feel- there are scenes that don't need to be there, and so much of the book is needlessly wordy. I believe the print version of this book weighs in between 500 and 600 pages. If this same book was written by an up-and-coming writer, the editor would probably lop off 20%, and the end result would be a tighter, and better book. Older books like Night Probe held my attention from start-to-finish, but I catch myself doing a lot of skimming with the newer Dirk Pitt books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    To luna star

    Hello. I am sweetrose of thunderclan. May i please talk to you in cloud res one? Thank you. I think i may have something that belongs to you...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    HOpeless (ppot)

    Ahadow slippedin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Rosekit

    Comes in an calapses about to die. Her mom tried to kill her because she did not whant kits has had no milk sence kitted. I am three days old. Dont let me die. Need milk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Hawkstar to luna

    Go to secret res one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    To silverwing only

    Joey is that your real name its me rainy aka rainstorm aka Julia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    RUSHINGWATER

    I am a tortoiseshell she-cat with light green eyes.I would like to be either a medicine cat or warrior.(prefer.med.cat)I am active a great swimmer fast runner pretty great hunter and very smart. THHANKS!!!!!!:-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Shatteredfur to Lunastar

    "I will be your med cat." Looks around and pads to the med den. "Thanks"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Blizzardkit

    She sleeps.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 558 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28