Customer Reviews for

Crewel

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Chapter by Chapter's review of Crewel

I didn’t know what to expect from Crewel by Gennifer Albin. A book about someone who has the ability to weave time? Very intriguing, right? It exceeded everything that I had ever imagined it could be. I was swept away in a world where being a girl is not very promi...
I didn’t know what to expect from Crewel by Gennifer Albin. A book about someone who has the ability to weave time? Very intriguing, right? It exceeded everything that I had ever imagined it could be. I was swept away in a world where being a girl is not very promising…

For as long as she can remember, Adelice has been trained to make mistakes…to make errors…to make herself not be who or what she is meant to be. But after just one small slip, Adelice’s life, and the lives of her family, are changed forever. The guards arrive during a celebratory dinner in honor of Adelice, to retrieve her, and start her life as a Spinster. All the training drilled into her head at such a young age…all for nothing. As a last act of hope, Adelice’s parents attempt to hide Adelice so that she can live her life free…rather than under lock and key amongst the other Spinsters.

But try as they might, it is too late. The scene describing this attempted escape is one that will remain in my head (and heart) for days to come. Beautifully written, and full of so much emotion, it was at this moment that I knew that Crewel was going to be a story that I would completely become engrossed in.

Because of her attempted escape, life with the Guild is anything but perfect. Forced to live her first few days in a dungeon with not even a toilet, Adelice knows that her life of freedom is no more, that is until Jost helps her leave her not so comfortable life in the dungeon, and takes her to one of the most prominent areas of the building. Adelice is offered a life of comfort that comes with her skills as a Spinster. Beautiful clothes, more food than she can imagine after a life of food rationing. Even the possibility of friends…until her stubbornness gets the best of her, and the one friend she had has now put her at the top of her hate list.

With the belief that she can save her sister, Adelice starts to find ways to infiltrate information from the Guild with help from Eric and Jost. And with her exceptional weaving skills, it doesn’t take long before she finds out that she is meant to be more than a Spinster, and that perhaps these skills will be her way of finally finding the freedom she longs for.

Let me start off by saying that the world building in this book was freaking phenomenal. Every detail was jumping off the pages, every character coming to life in my mind. Everything about this sucked me in and held my attention until the most cliff hangery ending in cliff hanger history! The huge twist about world of Arras was mind blowing and was a definite mind warp. Just when I thought things couldn’t get any better, author Gennifer Albin throws in these different changes in the plot which left me on my toes.

How cool would it be to have the ability to see the very fibers of time, and have the ability to manipulate them at will? The not so cool part would have to be having the responsibility to “rip” someone when their time has come, ripping meaning wiping them out of existence pretty much. Quite literally, their very fiber of life is in your hands. I don’t know if I would be able to hand the stress related to that!

With so many characters that you will both love and hate, a story line that will keep you guessing up to the very end, and the originality of it all will leave you breathless and screaming for the next book. A definite must have! I have found a new favorite author in Gennifer Albin, and a new crush who goes by the nam

posted by chapterxchapter on October 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Good, but....

I was pretty excited for this book. I am a fan of The Hunger Games series and this was really reminiscent of that. Crewel drew me and and I was really vested in the characters. Very creative writing. I loved trying to wrap my mind around the whole idea of weaving ti...
I was pretty excited for this book. I am a fan of The Hunger Games series and this was really reminiscent of that. Crewel drew me and and I was really vested in the characters. Very creative writing. I loved trying to wrap my mind around the whole idea of weaving time and space and what the spinsters do. But then the author threw in, and then glorified, a lesbian relationship. This upset me a great deal. It was not at all necessary as the author could have easily chosen another avenue to make a point on how the government was controlling the people. It is not the place of the media to try to influence young readers in favor of homosexuality. Unfortunately, it is another example of desensitization of our culture. Little by little we are whittling away at what is right and true and filling the place with lies and wickedness. I am angry that I wasted my money on this. I feel like I was tricked. As a mom, I can say that my daughter will not be reading this book and I will be sure to let the other moms know what lies between the covers of this book.

posted by 16882898 on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Crewel

    I didn’t know what to expect from Crewel by Gennifer Albin. A book about someone who has the ability to weave time? Very intriguing, right? It exceeded everything that I had ever imagined it could be. I was swept away in a world where being a girl is not very promising…

    For as long as she can remember, Adelice has been trained to make mistakes…to make errors…to make herself not be who or what she is meant to be. But after just one small slip, Adelice’s life, and the lives of her family, are changed forever. The guards arrive during a celebratory dinner in honor of Adelice, to retrieve her, and start her life as a Spinster. All the training drilled into her head at such a young age…all for nothing. As a last act of hope, Adelice’s parents attempt to hide Adelice so that she can live her life free…rather than under lock and key amongst the other Spinsters.

    But try as they might, it is too late. The scene describing this attempted escape is one that will remain in my head (and heart) for days to come. Beautifully written, and full of so much emotion, it was at this moment that I knew that Crewel was going to be a story that I would completely become engrossed in.

    Because of her attempted escape, life with the Guild is anything but perfect. Forced to live her first few days in a dungeon with not even a toilet, Adelice knows that her life of freedom is no more, that is until Jost helps her leave her not so comfortable life in the dungeon, and takes her to one of the most prominent areas of the building. Adelice is offered a life of comfort that comes with her skills as a Spinster. Beautiful clothes, more food than she can imagine after a life of food rationing. Even the possibility of friends…until her stubbornness gets the best of her, and the one friend she had has now put her at the top of her hate list.

    With the belief that she can save her sister, Adelice starts to find ways to infiltrate information from the Guild with help from Eric and Jost. And with her exceptional weaving skills, it doesn’t take long before she finds out that she is meant to be more than a Spinster, and that perhaps these skills will be her way of finally finding the freedom she longs for.

    Let me start off by saying that the world building in this book was freaking phenomenal. Every detail was jumping off the pages, every character coming to life in my mind. Everything about this sucked me in and held my attention until the most cliff hangery ending in cliff hanger history! The huge twist about world of Arras was mind blowing and was a definite mind warp. Just when I thought things couldn’t get any better, author Gennifer Albin throws in these different changes in the plot which left me on my toes.

    How cool would it be to have the ability to see the very fibers of time, and have the ability to manipulate them at will? The not so cool part would have to be having the responsibility to “rip” someone when their time has come, ripping meaning wiping them out of existence pretty much. Quite literally, their very fiber of life is in your hands. I don’t know if I would be able to hand the stress related to that!

    With so many characters that you will both love and hate, a story line that will keep you guessing up to the very end, and the originality of it all will leave you breathless and screaming for the next book. A definite must have! I have found a new favorite author in Gennifer Albin, and a new crush who goes by the nam

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Copy of the Hunger Games

    While this book is good, I find that it seems to be very similar to the Hunger Games. There is a girl who is protecting her sister. She is starting a Revolution. She comes from a poorer family. Also, you see her having to choose between two guys: one who is in a situation like hers, and one who she feels inexplicably attracted to. She enters a new, different world, where people are extravagant and stupid. Overall, I do like the novel so far (I am still reading it), but the author could have been more original.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    DIS BOOK GOOD

    U BEST READ DIS BOOK CUZ GUUUURRRLLL IT FABULOUS! U GOT SOME MAGIC HAPPENIN AND DIS GURL GOT TWO BOYS FIGHTIN OVER HER AND IT JUST BOOTIFUL!!! DIS BOOK CRAY BUT DAS OKAY CUZ IT GOOODDD. READ IT. HOLLA. FO SHIZZLE MAH NIZZLE. IM OUT.

    10 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Well written and very interesting. Couldn't put it down! I bough

    Well written and very interesting. Couldn't put it down! I bought the book based on the available first pages here. You definitely won't be disappointed, the writing stays consistently good throughout. I will buy the next book as soon as its released!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Good, but....

    I was pretty excited for this book. I am a fan of The Hunger Games series and this was really reminiscent of that. Crewel drew me and and I was really vested in the characters. Very creative writing. I loved trying to wrap my mind around the whole idea of weaving time and space and what the spinsters do. But then the author threw in, and then glorified, a lesbian relationship. This upset me a great deal. It was not at all necessary as the author could have easily chosen another avenue to make a point on how the government was controlling the people. It is not the place of the media to try to influence young readers in favor of homosexuality. Unfortunately, it is another example of desensitization of our culture. Little by little we are whittling away at what is right and true and filling the place with lies and wickedness. I am angry that I wasted my money on this. I feel like I was tricked. As a mom, I can say that my daughter will not be reading this book and I will be sure to let the other moms know what lies between the covers of this book.

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I adored this book. It's completely different from anything out

    I adored this book. It's completely different from anything out there - intriguing, unique, and fascinating. The characters are well-drawn and Adelice is sassy, witty, and intelligent. The world Albin creates is truly innovative. The ending is a heart-stopper. I didn't want the book to end, needing to know what happened next. I can't wait for the sequel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I admit, I was really curious about this book. It sounded like

    I admit, I was really curious about this book. It sounded like it might be different. In the end I was extremely glad I read it because it was exactly what I hoped for.
    We first meet Adelice after she knows she has failed her Spinster testing. Something that the entire "country" requires every girl who comes of age to go through. Adelice's parents have been working with her from the moment she first displayed the talent to work on hiding it. Or course Adelice is special, and a moment comes that she just can't help herself. When she's trust into her new world she realizes that not everyone has the same abilities that she does. It turns out that what she can do it pretty rare and everybody wants control of her. But what makes the story interesting is that Adelice doesn't fully understand what she's capable of. And she definitely doesn't understand the world of the Spinsters. She doesn't know who to trust and what to believe.

    I found this world completely fascinating. At first the book had a alternate universe feel to it. And why it may fit into that category, its also dystopian in a way. I was surprised and how that distinction came about because I completely was not expecting it. I enjoyed the hierarchy withing the Coventry. It seems the more capable Spinster you are, the more you are rewarded. It's not a talent you can learn per say, but it can be fine tuned. The only real issue I had was the act of spinning itself. It was a little confusing for me at first. I was just having a hard time wrapping my mind how this worked. Eventually it became a little clearer, and I realized that it really wasn't an important part of the story.

    We are also gifted with the ever present love triangle. It was almost a given for the moment they were both introduced that it would happen. But I held out hope because the story focused way more on one than the other. Plus, I just wasn't sure that one of them could be trusted. There's a really interesting twist there too. Could make for an interesting problem later. Of course depending on if Adelice can stick to your choice....any bets?

    The ending pulled me in to the point that I will be reading the next one. Good thing I enjoyed the rest of the book as well!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    To say this was AMAZING is putting it too lightly. This book had

    To say this was AMAZING is putting it too lightly. This book had me glued till I realized hold up I'm done already?? I admire Adelice's character very much. She is such a strong girl that does not give up for what she believes in. She gets challanged and yet doesn't let that slow her down. This book is a must read. It kept me on my toes the entire time and had me floored when I thought I knew who was behind the "chaos" only to be surprised.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great Book

    Hard to put down. Easy to read and keeps the reader engaged. Cannot wait for Book 2!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Albin has a gift for sharp, fast prose that pulled me into the s

    Albin has a gift for sharp, fast prose that pulled me into the story right away. The beautiful descriptions of the woven world, along with the lightening-quick dialogue between Cormac and Adelice, were a pure joy. And it's not just the fantastic language that makes this a must-read, but the world. Arras is made of threads and strands of time and matter that can be manipulated on looms. Everything from weather to people can be repaired, relocated or even ripped--and it's this idea that gives Crewel its sinister underpinnings. The romance is compelling and sensual, plus there is a heartbreaking queer love story that once again underscores how nothing genuine can survive in an artificial world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Adelice has been trained by her parents to hide her powers; howe

    Adelice has been trained by her parents to hide her powers; however, she slips up and reveals her incredible talent at weaving during the testing. Now, the Guild is coming for her, and she is forced to remove from her home to become a Spinster to labor in the Coventry for the rest of her life. There, she attracts the attention of the guard Erik, the head valet Josten, the power-hungry ambassador Cormac, and the Creweler, only the most powerful Spinster of them all. As Adelice learns the potential of her own abilities, she realizes that there is more to her world than she thought.




    Adelice is bold, feisty, and very outspoken. She doesn't know how to keep quiet for her own good. Some of this can be attributed to her naivety since she doesn't understand what's going on, but a great deal is due to her reckless nature. I like her conversations with Cormac; they make me laugh. She suffers great loss as well, but she always remains true to herself. I respect how she stays true to her beliefs without shying away from what she needs to do. Her experiences serve to help her grow into a stronger character.




    The side characters are interesting as well. I like how not all the characters are clearly good or evil, and I could understand the character motivations of those I didn't want to like. The Creweler is one of my favorite characters because she's kind and supportive. Erik is gorgeous, charming, and cocky. I like Erik because he makes Adelice laughs, and he is willing to give up everything for her even if she may not love him the way he does for her. Josten is tough, protective, and mysterious. He has a broken history, and he learns to love again because of Adelice. They trust each other. Though there are two guys in Adelice's life, she doesn't waver between the guys; she knows who she likes.




    I like the idea of being able to weave matter into time. It is unique and creative. In Arras, men control everything except reality, which is continually woven and re-woven by Spinsters, who are all women. The story is slow to build. Instead of laying out the world building in the beginning of the book, the author takes her time by slowly giving pieces bit by bit through the book. Not much happens until the end since this book is about setting the foundation for the plot. Still, it isn't boring. We get to learn things along with Adelice as she learns more about her society, and the intrigue and plot twists pull the story along quite nicely.




    Overall, I like Crewel. The ending is thrilling and introduces a new adventure for this series. I am very much excited to see where the author goes with this and hope to see more of Adelice's powers in book two.

    Review by Alice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    To cahos

    Dude wer not gonna do tha im just fu.ckin with her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Adelice has been trained by her parents to hide her powers; howe

    Adelice has been trained by her parents to hide her powers; however, she slips up and reveals her incredible talent at weaving during the testing. Now, the Guild is coming for her, and she is forced to remove from her home to become a Spinster to labor in the Coventry for the rest of her life. There, she attracts the attention of the guard Erik, the head valet Josten, the power-hungry ambassador Cormac, and the Creweler, only the most powerful Spinster of them all. As Adelice learns the potential of her own abilities, she realizes that there is more to her world than she thought.

    Adelice is bold, feisty, and very outspoken. She doesn't know how to keep quiet for her own good. Some of this can be attributed to her naivety since she doesn't understand what's going on, but a great deal is due to her reckless nature. I like her conversations with Cormac; they make me laugh. She suffers great loss as well, but she always remains true to herself. I respect how she stays true to her beliefs without shying away from what she needs to do. Her experiences serve to help her grow into a stronger character.

    The side characters are interesting as well. I like how not all the characters are clearly good or evil, and I could understand the character motivations of those I didn't want to like. The Creweler is one of my favorite characters because she's kind and supportive. Erik is gorgeous, charming, and cocky. I like Erik because he makes Adelice laughs, and he is willing to give up everything for her even if she may not love him the way he does for her. Josten is tough, protective, and mysterious. He has a broken history, and he learns to love again because of Adelice. They trust each other. Though there are two guys in Adelice's life, she doesn't waver between the guys; she knows who she likes.

    I like the idea of being able to weave matter into time. It is unique and creative. In Arras, men control everything except reality, which is continually woven and re-woven by Spinsters, who are all women. The story is slow to build. Instead of laying out the world building in the beginning of the book, the author takes her time by slowly giving pieces bit by bit through the book. Not much happens until the end since this book is about setting the foundation for the plot. Still, it isn't boring. We get to learn things along with Adelice as she learns more about her society, and the intrigue and plot twists pull the story along quite nicely.

    Overall, I like Crewel. The ending is thrilling and introduces a new adventure for this series. I am very much excited to see where the author goes with this and hope to see more of Adelice's powers in book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I think this book should have been better then it was.  The conc

    I think this book should have been better then it was.  The concept was cool, but the execution lacked follow through and cohesion.  The characters were one dimensional and stock, and the situation after all the little crewel tidbits were taken away was a familiar and over used one.  I think the most frustrating point about this book is how the main character is supposedly a very special, very talented girl, but never actually uses any of this special power she is supposed to have.  There were several points in the book where I just want to shake her and scream "YOU HAVE ALL THE POWER, USE IT!"  I kept wanting to get into the world more, but the author never really filled out any details, leaving the workings of the world until about 2/3 of the book, and even then it did not make a whole lot of sense.  I saw the "twist" about a mile away, and again am not quit sure how the world is supposed to function.  Overall the concept and idea's were intriguing, but the execution was on an almost amateur level.  Hopefully the author will continue to learn and grow and figure out a way to write these great ideas in a concise, coherent and entertaining manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Good Read

    Unlike most books I could not predict the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Very Unique

    I had a hard time understanding the fabric dividing places and earth. I think I finally got it! Enjoyable and thought provoking. I will buy the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    pretty good

    This book is pretty good , it is not quite what I expected but did keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Not Good....

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    I'll be honest--I didn't know what to expect from this book. Aft

    I'll be honest--I didn't know what to expect from this book. After reading, though, I must say, I am astounded and it left me begging for more. Crewel was, at points, slow and confusing. The love triangle felt unnecessary at points, but overall, this book is the most creative and completely NEW book that I've read in quite some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5