Customer Reviews for

The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book

    I ? this book. This book was hilarius in some parts and I really like the idea of having animals interact with each other. It's a really great book, especially 4 4th grders. Have fun reading!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    THE CRICKET IN TIMES SQUARE is a classic children's story. Written in the 1960's and the winner of a Newbery Honor Book award, THE CRICKET IN TIMES SQUARE has wonderful staying power. Now, courtesy of Macmillan Young Listeners, the tale truly comes to life.

    The story finds a country cricket, Chester, unwittingly stranded in New York City. After falling asleep in a picnic basket in Connecticut, he wakes up in a world that is totally different to him. He is befriended by Mario, a young boy who helps his parents run a newsstand in the subway. Chester encounters Tucker, a wizened city mouse, and his friend, Harry Cat. The two teach Chester how to live in the city and enjoy the wonders of the subway.

    Soon, everyone learns of Chester's talent of recreating any music he hears, and spellbounds Mario's parents, music critics, and subway commuters alike. But Chester quickly becomes tired of the constant performing, and misses his quiet country life. Tucker and Harry do their best to ensure that Chester finds his way back home.

    With the talents of Tony Shalhoub, Chester Cricket, Harry Cat, and Tucker Mouse become real characters that the listener can instantly relate to. Even though the story is about animals in a Times Square subway station, the listener gets drawn in and wants there to be a happy ending.

    Mr. Shalhoub creates unique voices for each of the characters, and from the very beginning, it is easy to decipher which character is doing the speaking. I listened to the story (an unabridged production on two CDs) with my two children and they were immediately enchanted. With classical music signaling the end of each chapter, they both would shout out the next one.

    For anyone not familiar with the classic tale, listening to it will be an adventure. And for those that know the sweet tale of Chester finding himself in a foreign land (at least for him), listening to the story will be a treat. No one will be disappointed!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    The Cricket in Times Square Review

    When I read this book it was amazing with the humorous Tucker, musician Chester and soft-hearted Harry. This book is a book of three talented friends who try to get their country cricket back to his home. This book is awesome! (Every book I've read has an animal in it. At least every chapter book.)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Cricket In Times Square

    The book Cricket In Times Square is truly a young readers masterpiece. The book takes place in New Yok City wher anything can happen. The story startswith a poor newstand family trying to make ends meet. The only child a son named Mario is selling newspapers late one Saturday when he hears a noise. The noise he hears turns out to be a cricket. Mario turns the cricket into his pet. During the day this cricket acts normal, but when the family leaves the cricket whose name turns out to be Chester meets two friends Tucker mouse, and Harry cat. Together this trio meet at night. Everything goes nice for Chester until strange acidents start to happen because of him. Chester starts to feel as if he is bad luck to Mario, and his family. Chester though figures out how he can save the bankrupt family. Chester also meets more facinating characters along the way.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Good book

    My students read this classic novel in class for a reading assignment.
    I purchased this in audio format to train my students to hear, to grasp reading comprehension in a different form.
    Students really enjoyed reading this book. There are many life lessons that will help motivate the hidden talent within.
    Also, how true friendship allows one to stick together, even in mistakes...... work out any problem to create a stronger bond in friendship.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    WHAT A BOOK!!

    When I read this book I thought it was great.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Awsome

    Amazing book! I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a 6th Grade Student in Glendale, AZ.

    The book that I read ''The Cricket in Times Square'' has lots of characters such as the protagonists- Chester the cricket, Tucker the mouse, and Harry the cat. But, some of the minor characters are interesting too. Like, Mario the boy that found Chester, and Mario's parents. Now I will tell you more about these characters. First off Chester the cricket first lived in Connecticut. He traveled from Connecticut to New York City in a picnic basket! Now, Tucker the Broadway mouse lives in New York City in a pipe. He meets Chester after Mario puts him in their newsstand they own. Tucker's pal Harry the cat met Chester the same night as Tucker of course because he and Tucker are best pals. Along with Mario {The young boy who found Chester in a pile of dirt and dust on the floor outside} who found Chester and put him in a match box where he slept in the newsstand. Last but not least with the characters, Mario's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Bellini. At first they would not let Mario keep Chester but, finally they did. Only if he kept him outside in the newsstand, which he did. This might seem good to you but, this is bad. The bad ''thing'' is that Chester has a talent of music when he chirps. He can chirp to any music that he hears. So, every night and day people surround him. {He becomes famous}. When this famous idea comes up Chester feels like he needs to have a break from fame and fortune. So, instead he goes back to Connecticut. He says his goodbyes and tries to have the best night he can have. Finally, he's off and gone. This story doesn't have its time but, I do know where it takes place. A microscopic part of this story takes place in Connecticut. But, most of the story takes place in the one and only New York City. The books theme of this story is about you might have every thing you want doesn't mean it's better than what you had before. It also means being home is the best place to be in your life. I liked this story very much it had great details and didn't get dry as much as other books do. I would have to say 1-5 stars I would give it 4 stars because it had great details but sometimes it got a little dry. This story ''The Cricket in Times Square'' related to my life because one time I had all these new, ''cool'' friends and I thought they were better than my old friends. But, I got tired and bored with my new friends so I told my old friends that I was sorry and became friends again. This book reminds me of a phrase that I've heard before. '' It may look better from your view but once you get there it's worth nothing.'' A book that is related to this book is The Notebook because a young girl leaves her true love and moves on but realizes that the other man she left was the better one. I recommend if you have free time to read The Cricket in Times Square.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Opposites attract

    If a cat, a mouse and a cricket can get along, any group of kids can too. This book expresses that very thing and it's a wonderful book that all should read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Fdd

    Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Jsjsjx

    Jdmsjjnnj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Cricket

    This is a great book I highly reccomd it. It is a story about a cricket that came from conneticut and is now i n new york. He is caught by a boy named mario and he befrendes a mouse named tucker and a cat named Harry. Together the friends will go through many adventures.
    By.......,.............Bella


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    This is a very good book because it is very adventurous and inte

    This is a very good book because it is very adventurous and interesting.  I like the story Chester tells about getting to Times Square. Another interesting story is when Chester is having a dinner party and the news stand catches on fire.  I like most of the characters because they are nice.  My favorite characters are Mario, Chester and Harry Cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Good

    I love this book. I read it at

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    W WHOA

    the book was probly the best i have ever read. Itwas the most fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    My son read a chapter during onw of his reading classes and fell

    My son read a chapter during onw of his reading classes and fell in love with just one chapter. We bought the book and he read it so quickly and loved it that he read it twice. This book is well written and catches the attention of it audience and allows the reader to utilize his imagination to appreciate the characters and the story more. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    This book is really nice. Loved it when I read it in school.

    This book is really nice. Loved it when I read it in school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Wonderful book

    I had heard about it from another family; it was a favorite of theirs but I think there must be an audio version because they mentioned the cricket played "Meditation" from Thais by Massenet.

    I also ordered "Big Nate on a Roll" thinking it would appeal to a nephew, but since I ordered online and never got a really good feel for the book, I discovered it was not appropriate and I was personally disappointed with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an awesome book!

    I love reading this book and I have already read it twice! You can read it 100 times and it still won't get old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Cute Story!

    Our son really enjoyed the challenge of reading this book. He also liked the characters and story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3