Customer Reviews for

Cries in the Desert

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever read

Well i read this book a few yrs ago and then i lent out the book to some officers that actually worked the case. I live in Socorro Nm which is about 45 min from where all this happened. I beleive the author did a great job telling the story and really giving us a glimps...
Well i read this book a few yrs ago and then i lent out the book to some officers that actually worked the case. I live in Socorro Nm which is about 45 min from where all this happened. I beleive the author did a great job telling the story and really giving us a glimpse into the sick twisted mind of David Parker Rey. This story goes far beyond what happened there at the lake. This story has changedthe lives of many. I Know a few people that worked the case and who will never be the same. There are stories of what happened to some detectives after documenting every article of evidence in the tox box which are not brought to the attention of the reader. I have also had the pleasure to speak with one of the women who was mentioned in the book who now resides in Colorado. She is a friend of one of my close friends, she tries to live day to day and care for her family. I read some of the reviews posted on here and i find some that are complaing about how much the author went into detail about some stuff but i beleive the author did that cause that the only way he could bring to light 1 third of what he learned form this case. Hopefully my review was insightfull thanks for reading

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was very disappointed after reading this book. The story line went back and forth too often, too many unnecessary details and not enough necessary details. The actual event has what it takes to make a good story, but it was not done in this book.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Best book ever read

    Well i read this book a few yrs ago and then i lent out the book to some officers that actually worked the case. I live in Socorro Nm which is about 45 min from where all this happened. I beleive the author did a great job telling the story and really giving us a glimpse into the sick twisted mind of David Parker Rey. This story goes far beyond what happened there at the lake. This story has changedthe lives of many. I Know a few people that worked the case and who will never be the same. There are stories of what happened to some detectives after documenting every article of evidence in the tox box which are not brought to the attention of the reader. I have also had the pleasure to speak with one of the women who was mentioned in the book who now resides in Colorado. She is a friend of one of my close friends, she tries to live day to day and care for her family. I read some of the reviews posted on here and i find some that are complaing about how much the author went into detail about some stuff but i beleive the author did that cause that the only way he could bring to light 1 third of what he learned form this case. Hopefully my review was insightfull thanks for reading

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great Book!

    Twisted and thrilling, i couldn't put it down. If you like true crime books then you'll love this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Shocking

    I just finnished reading this book and am shocked to say the least. My heart goes out to these women that were, and are still hurting from this nightmare. I can't believe how many times I have driven on that stretch of I-25. I thank the Lord I never broke down or ran out of gas near those two small towns.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insanely Addictive

    This is a total page turner, the one that you keep wanting to turn the page even when you are still just half way through the page. It's shocking to see what humans can do to one another and as a true crime fan, I can honestly say this is one book that is truly a look into evil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Disappointed

    I was very disappointed after reading this book. The story line went back and forth too often, too many unnecessary details and not enough necessary details. The actual event has what it takes to make a good story, but it was not done in this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    It could have been written better.

    Was a bit disappointed, it was very slow the first 6 chapters. I had a hard time reading it. Then it had unnecessary information that really didn't have much to do with the story. More information than needed read more like a encyclopedia than a story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    educational and twisted

    I think the book is well written, gives a good sense of the background of the subjects without going too far. A very good book to read for those that would like to learn how twisted a mind can get. I compliment the author with his ability to create such a detailed picture through the use of only words...which made the photos only a bonus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Check this one out,

    There was a better book about this case from another author i don't know their name though but this one's pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Nieccee

    I was very disappointed with this book It was all over the place and I have read several books by this author before which I enjoyed very much My heart goes out to the women that are still hear and survived

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Good Read for crime reader

    Hard to keep up with the many characters, but if you can its worth your while. The courtroom details do get to be a bit lengthy in detail. This is the second book I have read by this author, and he is an excellent true crime author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Great Book!!

    Very well written and worth the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    A creepy story that's based on true events

    I will never understand what makes these creepy, pathetic individuals tick, but reading this story gets you about as close as possible. I feel so sad for the women that had the terrible luck to run into this creep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Good

    Well written .... Bn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    It was okay

    No matter how horrible the writer could have been or was, the book would still be interesting because of the subject matter. I am not saying that this author was horrible, but the author was not the best. The author spent a lot of time describing events that were not necessary to the story. For example, the author spent a lot of time describing the town and the area in New Mexico where the crime occurred. Maybe other people want to know that much detail about the town, but to me it was not that important. Yes, it needed to be mentioned and described in some detail, but not to the extent that the author went into. I would recommend the book to anyone. I had no problem finishing the book (as stated earlier the subject matter was rather intriguing as well as disturbing). I just think the author could have done a better job in conveying the story to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    Very good read. Lots of detail. Definately more than i expected. Well worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Crazy story, good but poorly written

    The topic goes back and forth too much and it gets confusing at times. A paragraph will come out of the blue that isnt even on that perticular subject. I got annoyed with it. Good story though. Its really crazy. Just wish it was written better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Pa reader

    Boring did not like this book at all! Not worth it. Do not buy, its a waste of money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Boring!

    I couldnt even get through this book. The whole thing is written like a police report filled with every little unnessicary detail. It drags on and on and follows the stories of 20 differnt people jumping back and forth between them. Worst book ive ever tried reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Not the best

    Whatba wast of time!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Terrible writing.

    The writing in this book is so terrible it is hard to read. There are many characters and situations presented needlessly. I am shocked that this book was published. The editor should be ashamed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5