Customer Reviews for

Crime Beat: A Decade of Covering Cops and Killers

Average Rating 2.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I BOUGHT THIS BOOKIN 2003 AND LOVED IT!

I have read this book like 5 times and love it more and more each time!

posted by 10738627 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Crime Beat Audio Book by Michael Connely

Very disappointed. It was about different stories he wrote about as a newspaper man. There was no story behind any of them. I gave it away before the last cd was finished.

posted by 1813837 on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Ho Hum!

    After the first few sentences, this book bored the hell out of this reader. having read the newspapers, all the rehashed stories were redundant. Connelly could've done much, much, MUCH better. Can a reader say refund?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    More of a diary than a book

    I threw it away half way through

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Crime Beat Audio Book by Michael Connely

    Very disappointed. It was about different stories he wrote about as a newspaper man. There was no story behind any of them. I gave it away before the last cd was finished.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    not my favorite...reader put me to sleep

    not my favorite...reader put me to sleep

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I BOUGHT THIS BOOKIN 2003 AND LOVED IT!

    I have read this book like 5 times and love it more and more each time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    I like Bosch¿s logical step by step process of culling through the clues in a case...

    Reviewed by Stephen B for Readers Favorite

    "Christmas Even"

    A pawn shop owner suffering from repeated break-ins discovers what is at first assumed to be the dead body of the burglar still in his place of business. Harry Bosch, Los Angeles homicide detective, and his partner investigate and discover that things aren¿t always what they seem to be. How is the death connected to a saxophone found in the burglar¿s apartment, which was specially made for a famous jazz musician?

    "Father¿s Day"

    On the annual holiday Bosch investigates the death of a real estate¿s infant son. The child had some health problems, causing challenges for the parents. Suspicion falls upon the father who left the child unattended in an overheated automobile. Bosch negotiates the intricacies of the case as well as contemplating the facts about his relationship with his own child.

    "Angle of Investigation"

    Two days on the job, rookie patrolman and Vietnam veteran Harry Bosch and his training partner discover the corpses of a dog and its owner in a residential bathtub. Present day Bosch, ensconced in the cold cases department with partner Kiz Rider, tackles the decades¿ old murder.

    This is another collection of short stories from Michael Connelly. These show the determined and dedicated homicide detective who will not give up on the little things about a case. I like Bosch¿s logical step by step process of culling through the clues in a case. This is especially shown in the first and last stories. Since I listened to an audio version of these stories I also have to state that the narrator in his slow precise style helped the stories along. He was clear and Connelly¿s style came through clearly. As a Bosch fan, I recommend taking small bites out of your day to listen to these stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Not for fiction lovers!

    I am currently about 3/4 through this book. I am very disappointed and much prefer his fiction. This is like reading the same thing over and over because it will cover a case from police view, journalist view, TV views etc. and each one repeats much of the same details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Not as entertaining as Connelly's fiction, this accumulation of newspaper articles seems repetitive and boring.

    Expecting something more like true-life stories in the vein of Harry Bosch or other Michael Connelly characters, I was disappointed by the way the material was presented, as newspaper articles. Sometimes a number of articles going over the same information became boring because it was so repetitive. I'm going to stick to his fiction, which I thoroughly enjoy, from now on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Michael Connelly fan but not on this book

    The small crime stories did not interest me. I've never been disappointed in his novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CRIME BEAT

    I am an avid reader. I love James Patterson, John Grisham, Janet Evanovich books, but someone recommended that I try Michael Connelly. I couldn't finish the book. It just didn't seem to be going anywhere, so after reading about one-third of it, I put it down and have no desire to pick it up again.

    I love the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. Just be prepared to laugh out loud when you read them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Sort of disappointing.

    I didn't feel this book was to the standard of other Michael Connelly books I have read. I know it was a compilation of stories he worked on years back, but it was not very cohesive and it seemed to include lots of duplicated material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Michael Connelly, Shame on You!

    Never have I quit on a Michael Connelly book, but there is a first time for everything! There was none of the excitement of his other books just boring recounts of old stories. I kept thinking it would get better, but by page 56, I knew it was a stinker!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    Predictable

    Good quick read. Short chapters with good start - stop places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    It started off a little slow but really got into the book.

    It started off a little slow but really got into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    proof that truth is stranger than fiction

    Whoever said truth was stranger than fiction might have been referring to bestselling author Connelly's first foray into non-fiction, Crime Beat. While all of us recognize his name thanks to such list toppers as The Lincoln Lawyer, Chasing the Dime and Blood Work, few may know that before writing novels he was a crime reporter, assigned to homicides. Crime Beat is a collection of the pieces he wrote during that time and are, if you can believe it, often even more chilling than his fictional tales. Admittedly, he found inspiration for many of his novels in his reporting days yet the pieces included in Crime Beat are even more compelling as they are related in the voices of the victims, their families, and the detectives who handled the cases. And, what voices they are! Len Cariou captures with his stage trained elocution and knife sharp diction. This Tony winner gives a first rate performance as the initial narrator explaining how Connelly came to be fascinated by police work. The second voice we hear is that of actress Nancy McKeon who grips listeners with her reading of the heartbreak of a victim's family. Many audio edition fans will remember her narration of Faye Kellerman's Street Dreams. Actor/director Carl Franklin whose films as a director include Devil A Blue Dress and One True Thing rounds out this stellar trio, reading with cool assurance. An added bonus is an introduction by Connelly. As for the actual crimes? Listening is believing and frightening, indeed, ranging from a psychopathic mass murderer who posed as a fashion photographer to a husband who hired someone to beat his wife to death. True crime enthusiasts will be enthralled. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Very Disappointing - Yawn!

    Felt as though one of my absolute favorite authors let me down. I hope Connelly is not experiencing writer's block. I cannot think of any other reason to publish this collection of repetitive true crime newspaper articles. Admittedly he appears to have been a good reporter but I don't get the point of putting these into book form - especially without any additional observations or insights. It doesn't work. I have always considered Connelly to be an insightful author with great integrity and humanity - kind of like his own Harry Bosch - but the concept of this book seemed insincere. I was tempted to ask for my money back but will just keep it in my library with my beloved complete collection of Connelly books and will have to anxiously await his next book - as long as it is not a collection of his newspaper articles. I loved Lincoln Lawyer - a cool new character and I would very much enjoy getting to know him better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    A Waste of Time

    What a disappointment! I love all of Connelly's books and was looking forward to a riveting read, but this is just a collection of old newspaper articles (1984, etc.) with no new info or comments from the author. There are several articles about each incident, so, as with newspapers, each subsequent article reintroduces the previously known facts. You end up reading the same information over and over. I gave up about halfway through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    A big letdown

    I love Connelly's books and had high hopes for this one, after reading his introduction on how he came to be a crime writer and novelist. But what follows is simply a collection of what appears to be old newspaper stories about crime cases from the 80's and early 90's. There is no new insight or reflection on the author's part. I gave up about halfway through, but I still look forward to Connelly's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Disappointing

    Michael Connelly is probably my favorite author of crime fiction, but this half hearted nonfiction effort is a huge waste of time. I realize this is nonfiction but none of Connelly's considerable creativity is used to make the 'true crime' stories even mildly interesting. Please Michael in the future stick to fiction and leave the nonfiction work to others more suited to the task.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    I feel ripped off!

    I really look forward to Connelly's books. I eagerly bought this one expecting his usual top drawer detective mystery writing. What I got instead was a dull rehash of crime stories that he wrote in the past as a reporter in Florida and Los Angeles. There is no reader satisfaction in this kind of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2