Customer Reviews for

Crime Beat: A Decade of Covering Cops and Killers

Average Rating 2.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I BOUGHT THIS BOOKIN 2003 AND LOVED IT!

I have read this book like 5 times and love it more and more each time!

posted by 10738627 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Crime Beat Audio Book by Michael Connely

Very disappointed. It was about different stories he wrote about as a newspaper man. There was no story behind any of them. I gave it away before the last cd was finished.

posted by 1813837 on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Ho Hum!

    After the first few sentences, this book bored the hell out of this reader. having read the newspapers, all the rehashed stories were redundant. Connelly could've done much, much, MUCH better. Can a reader say refund?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    More of a diary than a book

    I threw it away half way through

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Crime Beat Audio Book by Michael Connely

    Very disappointed. It was about different stories he wrote about as a newspaper man. There was no story behind any of them. I gave it away before the last cd was finished.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CRIME BEAT

    I am an avid reader. I love James Patterson, John Grisham, Janet Evanovich books, but someone recommended that I try Michael Connelly. I couldn't finish the book. It just didn't seem to be going anywhere, so after reading about one-third of it, I put it down and have no desire to pick it up again.

    I love the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. Just be prepared to laugh out loud when you read them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Michael Connelly, Shame on You!

    Never have I quit on a Michael Connelly book, but there is a first time for everything! There was none of the excitement of his other books just boring recounts of old stories. I kept thinking it would get better, but by page 56, I knew it was a stinker!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Very Disappointing - Yawn!

    Felt as though one of my absolute favorite authors let me down. I hope Connelly is not experiencing writer's block. I cannot think of any other reason to publish this collection of repetitive true crime newspaper articles. Admittedly he appears to have been a good reporter but I don't get the point of putting these into book form - especially without any additional observations or insights. It doesn't work. I have always considered Connelly to be an insightful author with great integrity and humanity - kind of like his own Harry Bosch - but the concept of this book seemed insincere. I was tempted to ask for my money back but will just keep it in my library with my beloved complete collection of Connelly books and will have to anxiously await his next book - as long as it is not a collection of his newspaper articles. I loved Lincoln Lawyer - a cool new character and I would very much enjoy getting to know him better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    I was robbed, get me Harry

    This was a complete rip off, a bunch of rehahed newpaper reports from years ago put together to make a book. Not only boring but it then repeats the same story from different persepectives to confound the boredoom. Feels like to was put out just yo make a bick, shame on you Michael Connelly to treat your readers like this,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    I feel cheated as well

    It seems as though, with an absence of a Detective Bosch novel this May, Connelly's publisher needed something to feel the void. (Just look at the dated copyright page, it was printed last year, as well as a decade prior by another publishing house) Well, here it is, a boring methodically slow rehash of non-fiction. It reads about as boring as a newspaper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Not What you expect from Connelly

    I have read and enjoyed many of M. Connelly's novels. Expecting another good novel, I was disappointed to find more of a chronology of some interesting cases. No suspense or intrigue. In fact, I stopped reading after 140 pages. Could not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1