Customer Reviews for

The Crime Writer

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    What a great read!<BR/><BR/>Although it took me a few chapters to get into the story (it's told in alternating real-time and past-tense chapters), this was one thriller that grabs on and never lets go.<BR/><BR/>I've read other Gregg Hurwitz titles, but THE CRIME WRITER is the first one that had me reading late into the night just to see what happened next. This is one read that definitely keeps you on your toes, and questions everything you think you know about what has happened or what's going to happen.<BR/><BR/>Definitely recommended -- this one's a winner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In Los Angeles crime writer Andrew ¿Drew¿ Danner wakes up in the hospital with no knowledge of how he was found holding a knife and blood is all over him that is not his while his former fiancée Genevieve Bertrand lies dead nearby. Having recently undergone surgery to remove a brain tumor, his short term memory is off. Thus he cannot remember how he came to the crime scene let alone killing Genevieve, but refuses to believe he would murder her as he feels that goes against his natural instincts. --- Drew is found not guilty due to temporary insanity. However, he obsesses with knowing the truth as to whether he committed the homicide as everyone else assumes he did. He makes himself the amateur sleuth in a detective story and begins his investigation. When a second murder similar to the Bertrand homicide occurs, Drew looks guilty, but this time he knows he did not murder anyone. Someone is out to get him by using seemingly innocent people that Drew knows to point the police at him. --- The first part of this exciting thriller may be the best opening ploy in the mystery genre this year. Once the court case is finished, the story line remains strong as readers will want to know whether Drew is capable of killing especially an innocent, but loses some of the momentum as the police become culpable with mistakes in their inquiry. Still Gregg Hurwitz provides an exhilarating tale starring a fascinating beleaguered protagonist who along with the audience wonders if H. Rap Brown¿s famous saying 'violence is American as cherry pie' is true? --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    The Crime Writer is not only one of the best crime/mystery novel

    The Crime Writer is not only one of the best crime/mystery novels I've ever read, it's simply one of the best novels I've ever read. I was hooked from the beginning. I know it's a cliché, but I literally did not want to put it down. I also didn't want it to end. I found this novel to be perfectly paced, highly original, and full of twists, with wry insights into modern life in Los Angeles. It's enticing, thrilling, horrifying, and incredibly funny. I had to find out what would happen next. This novel deserves to become a classic of the genre, and Gregg Hurwitz deserves much success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    different

    slow story hook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Caution

    Absolutely horrible completely off the wall and totally unbelieveable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    You will either love it or hate it

    The begining of this book is disjointed and often confusing until several
    pages into the story you realized that the main character is just as confused and disjointed. If you can make it through the first couple of
    chapters, you will find that the plot is well thought out and the book entertaining. The ending
    is somewhat of a surprise and makes the book well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Enjoyable!

    This is my first book from this author but will be looking for more. I didn't get really into right away, though once into it, I was hooked. Some very unexpected (at least to me) twists and turns. Enjoyable...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    Imagine waking up in a hospital with no memory and you¿re the lead suspect in a murder investigation of your ex-fiancée. That¿s exactly how ¿The Crime Writer¿ by Gregg Hurwitz begins. When Andrew Drew Danner, a crime novelist, is tried for the murder of his ex-fiancée, Genevieve Bertrand, beside whose body he was found holding a bloody knife, he pleads not guilty. He has no memory of how he got to the crime scene because of a breakdown caused by a recently removed brain tumor. Once he's found not guilty by reason of temporary insanity, Danner sets out to find the real killer¿or discover some very nasty things about himself. Someone's also trying to frame him for a second murder that appears to be similar to that of Bertrand. Luckily, Danner gets help from old friend Chic, an ex-professional baseball player, and Lloyd Wagoner, a troubled police criminalist. I am glad I didn¿t read the negative reviews prior to getting the book. This might have dampened my spirits. True, the book has a melancholy narrative but please, Drew is being charged for murder. He¿s not sure if he did it, plus a piece of his brain is floating in a jar. I think the book was set up perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    21st Century Noir

    The Crime Writer finds Hurwitz exploring a new, more noir-influenced direction in his always impeccably crafted crime stories. His previous work exemplified high-octane action scenes, stunning attention to detail, and fast paced thrills. In the Crime Writer, Hurwitz lets the story breath while soaking in the atmosphere of LA, with some hilarious and insightful depictions in the tradition of Raymond Chandler. The story is a kind of post-modern take on noir and how crime, pop culture, and Los Angeles have been doing their dance since the city's inception. As a crime writer, the novel's protagonist, Drew Danner, finds himself in the middle of a plot straight out of one of his own pot- boilers. As he begins his investigation into clearing his own name, he finds that much of what he thought to be true isn't. He decides the only way to discover the truth is to write his own story, but he finds that he may be in over his head in the real world. The Crime Writer features one of the best hooks in recent memory. The characters, humor, and unfolding mystery make it impossible to put down. Readers looking for an original take on the classic LA noir tradition will love the Crime Writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1