BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crime and Punishment

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    FOREST

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    Good, but hard to follow

    I think that this book had a lot of issues in it that focused ont he psyche of a murderer and I think in that way the book is extremely powerful and interesting. However, there are so many details that it was almost impossible to catch the ones that were important. I also think that it was hard to read because my teacher only gave us a day to read 80 pages, but that's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Review of Dostoevsky's "Crime and Punishment"

    I think this book deserves a four star rating. I really enjoyed it. When I first picked it up, I didn¿t think I would like it because it was for a book report for world history class and it looked very long, but I ended up liking it after all. I guess that¿s why they say you shouldn¿t judge a book by it¿s cover. The reason I didn¿t give it five stars was because although I liked it, the language was a little hard to follow at times. It was also kind of slow at some parts like the beginning and it took a long time to read. But overall it is a good book. I especially liked the story, the characters and the element of suspense. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who likes suspense and does not mind a challenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Recommended

    It wasn't a bad book. I read it during summer break for fun thinking that it was going to be a regular kind of book, but it wasn't. It was a very humorous and suspensive book (which i liked about it). If you like these kinds of books I would reccomend this book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Crime and Punishment: A Critical Analysis

    Crime and Punishment is and will always remain an excellent piece of literary work. Fyodor Dosteovsky is an incredible author who vividly explores the mind of a poor, troubled law student who created a heinous crime. The main character is Rodya Raskolinkov. The suffering man who must decide whether to repent for his 'crime', or to keep everything to himself since he believes himself to be an extraordinary man. For instance, Dosteovsky uses a third person narrative to clue the audience into the thoughts of the all the characters, major and minor. It is the most effective way to get into the mind and thoughts of the main character. The reader is able to understand the reasoning and motives of Raskolinkov. It creates a non-biased view of all the characters. The technique tells the story like it is. The narrative point of view is extremely critical to the story. The audience is able to get to know everyone on a personal basis, not just one primary character. The reader is able to understand and discover every ones¿ secrets and thoughts. Whereas if the novel was written in first person, the reader would only have been able to get to know a few bits of other characters. Only the information the first person narrator would have been exposed to. The theme of the novel can be interpreted as 'guilt destroys'. This is exactly the case with Raskolinkov. The undeniable guilt eats away at his very own soul. He experiences illusions, disturbing nightmares, and experienced a one time fainting spell. The lesson to be learned is that one's wrongdoing will become his very own imprisonment even if he fortunate enough not to get caught. Not only did Raskolinkov ruin his own life, but the life of others who had a great impact on his life; his family, friends, enemies, and his victims. Another great quality of this story is the descriptive choice of words Dostoevsky applies in order to paint a picture in the reader¿s mind. He vividly describes the scene of the crime and the setting. He easily creates a world in which the reader is able to see the image that the author creates for the story and the plot to take place in. The imagery used in this novel by Dostoevsky allows the reader develop an opinion and a clearer understanding of the people and places in the novel. In summation, Crime and Punishment is a highly recommended novel for anyone who appreciates the literary techniques of fine authors and devoted to the story line of murder mysteries. Fyodor Dostoevsky uses third person narrative, theme, and imagery to enhance the meaning of the work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2002

    A classic

    An excellent book dealing with one man's pride, the crime he commits because of it, and the suffering that decends upon him (for reasons he does not fully understand). The book is well written, though like all books 100+ years old there are some dry parts. This is a book that you will fondly recall reading as one of the more important pieces of fiction ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    Crime and Punishment

    It had a lot of good points and was incredibly descriptive but there were a lot of boring and confusing parts. I would recommend it to someone who really liked to read because overall, it's worthwhile if you can read through several chapters patiently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Great book- Bad translation

    This book is one of the greatest ever written. Unfortunately you wouldn't know it if you bought the Barnes and Noble edition oddly translated by Constance Garnett. Spend an extra five bucks and get a good translation- the Norton annotated is excellent- I read Garnett's translation and thought 'not bad, but not great' Then I read the Norton translation- awesome! Be warned- translation can make or break a foreign novel. Garnett's translation may be accurate, but captures none of the passion or tension of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Dostoevsky's Crime and Punishment is a twisted book, people who cannot face the harsh reality should not attempt it, for it would ruint the entire genius plot which Dosteovsky tries so hard to grasp.

    The conscience of a man, who commites murder. Many such books, like the Bleak house for instance thrive in revealing a conscience of a human being with awareness. I personally after writing such a murder book, focus also on such characterization as many such authors do. The typical wrongdoer if not soley expressed in Crime and Punishment, is someone with heart awareness and his crime justified action through desperation and themes of justice, is one of many murderer stereotypes. The main character Rodya, is a man of intellect, intellegince, and most importantly he is given awareness, and with this ability to hold justice in hand, he lashes out and strikes in one swift act. An act, which will eventually lead to the ever rising climax, while his terminal madness and blinded insanity remain ever progressive and worsened. Read the book, those who are willling to open their eyes. DO NOT read the book, if you are stilled unaware of the harshness and cruelity of society. This book, is not for the light heart, and its true meaning will NOT be grasped if one is still blinded by the good aspects of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    Have faith- in the end it is great

    For those who are planning on reading this, I want to give you a warning- the first half is quite dull and confusing, but in the end, it is a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    most fascinating

    Dostoevsky presents interesting views of crime and society. raskolnikov is a character with great depth and i think that in one way or another, all readers will identify with him. the book was good, but i found book VI rather excessive and meaningless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2