Customer Reviews for

Crime and Punishment (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Book!!!

This summer I wanted to read a book that was a "smart people book." So I thought I would read Crime and Punishment, since I love crime stories so much. I really did not expect myself to love this book so much. It was so intense and thrilling. I read the last 130 pages i...
This summer I wanted to read a book that was a "smart people book." So I thought I would read Crime and Punishment, since I love crime stories so much. I really did not expect myself to love this book so much. It was so intense and thrilling. I read the last 130 pages in one sitting it got so intense. During the last pages, all of the subplots finally climaxed and I realized they were more than just subplots. The ending was great, I nearly cried when the book was over. This is one of the few books that when I finished, I wanted to start reading it all over again. I would recommend this book to anyone, it is not such a hard read at all.

posted by JessicaNicole0128 on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Quite Disappointing

Of course I didn't want to read the book from the start, but as I am in an Advanced course at school I must. I did not enjoy reading Crime and Punishment. It has some improper grammar in it (ie: 'Raskolnikov waked up') Which can cause people to twitch, such as myself. ...
Of course I didn't want to read the book from the start, but as I am in an Advanced course at school I must. I did not enjoy reading Crime and Punishment. It has some improper grammar in it (ie: 'Raskolnikov waked up') Which can cause people to twitch, such as myself. If you're into long books that are hard to follow this is PERFECT for you!

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible Book!!!

    This summer I wanted to read a book that was a "smart people book." So I thought I would read Crime and Punishment, since I love crime stories so much. I really did not expect myself to love this book so much. It was so intense and thrilling. I read the last 130 pages in one sitting it got so intense. During the last pages, all of the subplots finally climaxed and I realized they were more than just subplots. The ending was great, I nearly cried when the book was over. This is one of the few books that when I finished, I wanted to start reading it all over again. I would recommend this book to anyone, it is not such a hard read at all.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A chilling, intellectually captivating novel

    Immediately upon reading the first few chapters of "Crime and Punishment" by Fyodor Dostoevsky, it should be blatantly obvious to any reader that this book is a brilliant classic. Upon first sight, this book would seem as though it would be a typical whodunit murder book, but on the contrary, the book revolves around not the details of the murder of a bitter pawnbroker in St. Petersburg, but the details of the conscience of a rather unscrupulous figure who is the protagonist, Raskolnikov. The psychological level upon which impoverished Raskolnikov functions on is beyond the scope of certainly what most people I know can even comprehend, delivering intricate insights into the mind of a genius who is capable of the most heinous crime a human can commit. The book is one I would recommend everyone read at least once in their lifetime, if they have the patience to press through somewhat difficult yet adaptable Russian names such as Zossimov, Koch, and Razumikhin, which can add to the confusion of the plot at times, and the energy to push through this fairly lengthy book. If you have the capacity to take on the self-inflicted wound that is a Dostoevsky book, by all means, conquer the mountain of a read, as although this book was the most difficult I have read, it is easily my favorite book. Because I have never read any of Dostoevsky's books other than "Crime and Punishment" and I quite honestly cannot even begin to recall books to compare to this paramount novel, I cannot recommend any books from my own experience. However, I can say that "Notes from the Underground" would be the next logical progression from this book, as it dives into existentialism, the psychological concept which Dostoevsky is most notorious for coining and developing. "Crime and Punishment" is a deep book that is worthy of any respectable reader's collection and time, due to its psychological complexity and captivating intellectual nature.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Deep

    This is a deep book. Deep in a typical Russian way. It is a comprehensive and accurate analyzation/documentation of a criminal's mind, which at the same time is the mind of a moral genius. There is no good or evil side, no black and white, as the Russians say: only grey.
    By the way, our protagonist is a stunning pretty boy, so as his best friend.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is he bitshat crazy? Is he superman? Is everyone bitshat crazy? Or is everyone and no one superman?

    A must-read. Even if you think that this will just be some boring, ridiculously long book that people only read because they have to, you will hate that you have to put it down to eat, sleep, and do real work. Be sure to read it before you have to, because it would be terrible to have to skim over parts because you are being made to finish it within a certain time frame.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Psychological thriller!

    Yes, the release of Crime and Punishment heralded the rise of the modern crime novel, but this book delves far beyond the shallow case-solving inanity of the typical "whodunit?" Dostoevsky, a master of the psychology of the human mind, portrays his characters perfectly, as real human beings, neither idealized nor vilified. Raskolnikov, the protagonist, murders an old woman and her sister, but in spite of his heinous crime, I really saw his humanity throughout the book as his psyche just tortures him to death. In fact, Dostoevsky is so good at crafting dynamic characters that he makes Svidrigailov seem more repulsive than Raskolnikov when, in reality, Svidrigailov has probably not committed any comparable crime. The story focuses mostly on the mental perturbations of Raskolnikov as he struggles with himself, practically becoming insane in the process. However, Dostoevsky fills his book with a delightfully varied cast of colorful characters to incorporate differing psychological aspects of, you guessed it, crime and punishment. I don't want to reveal too much in this review--suffice it to say that this is a superb literary achievement that you simply must own and read over and over again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Crime and Punishment

    This was a very good book! Although it was long, I found myself unable to put it down; worth the buy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Crime and punishment

    This book was a really good book, it was recommended to me by all my English teachers and i don't know a single person who hasn't read it. Its a great thriller which involves critical thinking. The details used are hard and gruesome which makes a dark tone and mood for a good detective novel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Summer Homework a Pleasant Surprise!

    Wow! This book was so good! I had to read it over the summmer, and I loved it. Everyone complained 'oh, how horrible, he's Russian!' Well, even though I worry about how to pronounce his characters names, I loved this book! Everyone should read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Wonderful Story

    I recently decided to put myself through a classics program on my own. So many of the classics were not required in school. This is the second classic in my program and it was outstanding. For me, the first 50 or so pages were pretty dry, but after that it came alive. The story is great and the insight into St. Petersburg and Russian culture are interesting. It is a long read, but well worth it. Don't let the size of the book intimidate you!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    relating in a bad way

    The characters in this book remind you of the worst things in yourself. Raskolnikov, a romantic plagued by his mind, and Svidrigailov, the life swallowing debaucher. A mirror to those who think too much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book made me think. It was philosophical and though at time

    This book made me think. It was philosophical and though at times I wanted to punch Rodya, I liked the book. And now I have a different outlook on life. Thanks to AP Literature and Composition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic

    I've read this many times, and will probably read it many times more. Dostoevsky is one of my favorite authors for delving into the psyche of his characters in detail, sometimes flawed detail. It's a must read, and one that I hope the young adults out there are fascinated with, as I was so long ago...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    True Russian classic

    This is a great book. There are few books that better portray a deranged criminal mind. Dostoevsky does such a good job of character development that the charactrers really feel real to the reader. This book can seem a little long and boring at times, but overall I feel that it was worth reading. It really does give me a better understanding of the darker side of the human psyche.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a great story

    An old lady and her sister are brutally murdered with an ax. A smart<BR/>detective starts investigation. Who did it?<BR/><BR/>Just kidding...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Great book, great read

    I love to read books that introduce me to something new. Crime and Punishment was not only a great story, but also served as a window into russian culture (something I knew next to nothing about. I highly recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Must-Read

    I think everyone should read this. It really makes you think about things in a different light. I read it a long time ago, but I plan to read it again. When I do, I will give a more thorough review while it's fresh in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Everyone should read Crime and Punishment. It's lengthy & &q

    Everyone should read Crime and Punishment. It's lengthy &amp; &quot;intellectual&quot; without being an incredibly difficult read, and one gets accustomed to the Russian names. It intensifies as it progresses, making it almost impossible to put down. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Zayn

    Sits down crying alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Dylan

    She knocks on the door.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Taylia

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12