Customer Reviews for

Crime and Punishment

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Translation is All

I tried reading the Garnett translation that has been a sort of standard for years. However, I found it far too smooth, to like what an English teacher dictates for writing complete, complex, long sentences. That might be okay for another author, but Dostoevsky? Absol...
I tried reading the Garnett translation that has been a sort of standard for years. However, I found it far too smooth, to like what an English teacher dictates for writing complete, complex, long sentences. That might be okay for another author, but Dostoevsky? Absolutely no! He wrote with passion. With anger. With joy. With tenderness. With deliberate fragments.

Indeed, he was the father of the modern novel. Holden Caulfield owes everything to Dostoevsky, and so does Virginia Woolf.

The only translation of this that captures the original is Pevear and Volokhonsky's. Unfortunately, B&N does not have that available for NOOK, so I dug out my physical copy and, awkward as it is compared to an e-book, I'm engrossed in it. (BTW, I believe Kindle has the P & V translation available. It has all their other translations that I've looked at.)

posted by Brainylainy on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Same reviews? Even for different releases?

I want this book and would even pay for a better format (less typos etc.) But how can I tell ? All the same reviews appear with each offered edition. Same complaints, reported problems. No help at all.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Translation is All

    I tried reading the Garnett translation that has been a sort of standard for years. However, I found it far too smooth, to like what an English teacher dictates for writing complete, complex, long sentences. That might be okay for another author, but Dostoevsky? Absolutely no! He wrote with passion. With anger. With joy. With tenderness. With deliberate fragments.

    Indeed, he was the father of the modern novel. Holden Caulfield owes everything to Dostoevsky, and so does Virginia Woolf.

    The only translation of this that captures the original is Pevear and Volokhonsky's. Unfortunately, B&N does not have that available for NOOK, so I dug out my physical copy and, awkward as it is compared to an e-book, I'm engrossed in it. (BTW, I believe Kindle has the P & V translation available. It has all their other translations that I've looked at.)

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Same reviews? Even for different releases?

    I want this book and would even pay for a better format (less typos etc.) But how can I tell ? All the same reviews appear with each offered edition. Same complaints, reported problems. No help at all.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    not a good version

    Too many errors in the spelling. Many words missing letters or have symbols instead of letters. It makes it very difficult to read in a smooth manner.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    Don't download this one

    I was looking forward to reading this as a free book for my Nook, but it was filled with so many typos it was like reading the book in the original Russian. I don't know if all the free books are like this, but I spent too much time trying to decipher this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    In Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoyevsky establishes a c

    In Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoyevsky establishes a character who believed a crime could be justified if you were superior enough. This work is ineffective in proving the point that Raskolnikov was superior to the others because he himself wasn’t able to deal with the guilt of the murder. Dostoyesky sets up Raskolnikov’s character to commit murder for money but later on he tries to justify with the concept of for the common good and superiority but it becomes ineffective when Raskolnikov is unable to carry on his daily functions and move on with his life. Raskolnikov tried to convince that he himself was superior. However, he was able to commit the crime but what he wasn’t able to do was to live with the guilt that accompanied it. It wasn’t simply guilt in itself he even became physically sick. He began to favor the thought of prison instead of the thought of remaining in the emotional state in which he was in. When even others tried to converse with him, his emotional state became even more intense where he would push his loved ones away due to his thought that they would find out. With the emotional state becoming worse each passing day and his guilt overflowing in his mind, he almost confesses to being the murderer to Zametov when he met him at the café. One could say that he was in fact imprisoned at this point; he was a prisoner to his own guilt. This causes Raskolnikov to isolate himself from those he held close and at that point Razumikhim realizes that he was in fact involved in the murders. After enduring a desire of solitude from everyone and anything, he finally confides his secret in the woman he loves, Sonia. Raskolnikov was unable to be superior because he wasn’t able to continue on with his motives of stealing money and provide himself with an education which was his true motive. He is unable to live up to Napoleon who is described in the book with justification of killing people for the better good of the people. The author tries to compare Raskolnikov to Napolean but is ineffective in having Raskolnikov live up to that level. The work is ineffective in portraying the superiority quality but it is effective in describing the human psychology. When explaining the attitudes of the ordinary people the author is able to effectively describe the guilt of a crime eating the conscience away. He accurately describes Raskolnikov as the ordinary man instead of the man of superiority. Raskolnikov allows himself to feel guilty of the murder and it affects himself but it also affects the people around him. The guilty conscience is a common occurrence that could occur in someone else too and the author describes the “ordinary” folks this way as well. The author describes the ordinary people through Raskolnikov’s article by saying they are unable to go through actions that would be better for the society; he says the ordinary folk are always obedient to society ways. Even though Raskolnikov attempts to break off by committing a murder he falls back into the ordinary category when he lets the guilty conscience ruin his life. The author is ineffective when it comes to making Raskolnikov appear as a superior being but is effective in portraying Raskolnikov’s character as an ordinary being.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Astonishing

    I picked up the greatest piece of literature that ever graced my hands. People's parents who read this book thought it tasteless but this book is incredible. It places you in the shoes of a man suffers from the crime he did and you will feel sympathy for a murderer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Kasey

    This is an amazing book. Though I read it just this past summer at the age of 13, I am also an advanced reader for my age and found Crime and Punishment to be one of my favorite books. I love how Dostoyevsky presents Raskolnikov's psychological views on Extraordinary and ordinary men. Five Stars easily. I recommend this book to anybody looking for a truly great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    interesting

    Finished this in about three weeks. Unlike war and peace, which took five months...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Captivating

    A terrific read of a classic thriller that I couldn't put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Despite the fact that this translation was not nearly as beautif

    Despite the fact that this translation was not nearly as beautiful as the original, simply the over-all idea and story of Fyodor's Crime and Punishment  remains brilliant. This review might lack quite a bit of information, but it is something in which simply must be read, nonetheless!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Captivating & unique! Love the murder perspective!

    I read this awhile ago, so this review is based on my memory of the book. Even after all this time, I think this story transcends time and can appeal to anyone. It is well written, from a first person perspective, giving the readers access to what goes on in the mind of a murderer. You don't know what to feel about him as his conscience is already punishing him quite well. So sometimes, parts of the book can seem repetitive. The main character is "ordinary" and this is perfect because "ordinary" everyday people can find themselves in a similiar situation; it's plausible. You learn of his reasons to lead him to this act of murder, so how do you judge him? This novel really challenges your sense of morality, ethnics, etc. presenting you with shades of grey, reality so to speak. I think this story is wonderful and memorable, definitely worth the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    crime and punishment

    a really nice translation and a good size

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    You must suffer!

    Recently I became ensconced in Russian literature--and I suggest others start with David McDuff's translation of 'Crime and Punishment.' While the book is often lauded as a tale of an anti-hero, Raskolnikov, who likens himself with such unmoral people as Napoleon--a category of people Raskolnikov considers 'extraordinary'--that is just the tip of the ice berg. I found that aside from the question of the context of murders' acceptance(wars versus common murders), 'Crime & Punishment' has a theme of counterproductive pride. I don't want to ruin it for those who've yet to read this classic, but after reading it, you will agree. Another reason to read this book is the theme of the hunter becoming the hunted, because, alas, once the hunter stops hunting, he himslef becomes hunted. Porfiry Petrovich is that hunter, a damn good detective character: cunning, cynical, calculating. Give this book a try, you won't be sorry, if you like Russian literature. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Well, I read it, but I think others who have read it know more a

    Well, I read it, but I think others who have read it know more about it than me. I think I dozed off, unfortunate to say. I was hoping to really get into such a monumental title. Someone pointed out to me that the names being Russian, it makes it harder to follow them in the story. That much is true, much harder than Chekhov, who I follow with ease. So I don’t have much to say about this one except that it seemed a bit more dull than how gripping I think it should have been.

    A product I would recommend is Sirens of Morning Light by Benjamin Anderson, a quest for a man in Iowa to regain his identity, which becomes entangled with people who claim to have known him when he discovers he is a scientific experiment. The characters remain identifiable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    the long russian names

    I couldn't get past all the long Russian names

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8