BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crimes against Nature: How George W. Bush and His Corporate Pals Are Plundering the Country and Hijacking Our Democracy

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Definitely Recommended

    Very good book, especially if you're interested in environmental issues.

    Very detailed in regard to what was done or better yet, lack thereof, during W's administration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    If you need to know more about bushes negative, then here's ur hitchhikers guide to the Galaxy

    I wouldn't say that this was one of my favorite books, but i really opened my eyes to what exactly bushes negatives really were. I would say usually that once i picked this book up i had trouble puttintg it down, but for this one i just had trouble picking it up. One majore thing that i didnt't find favor in is just how much he bashes on our lst president bush. I know that he wasn't the best, but really do we need a book basically listing off all of them. There could be a book for every presidents faults and negatives but is it really neccasary? For example, how president Borak Obama has a smokeing proble, or how FDR was a freak some could say. Im sure that Robert F. Kennedy has some of his own faults. I know he is against Bushes administration and all his lies, but i just don't think that he needs to really list and then reuse them in this 200 page book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book as an assignment for my English IV class. At first I was skeptical about this book because it is non-fiction but once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. I learned a lot from reading this book and now I can't believe that George W. Bush was elected President twice. There were many disturbing facts about how the Bush administration has been destroying the environment. Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Goodness Gracious!!!

    Let's say that there are cookie crumbs next to the cookie jar and your child has a chocolate smudge on his face -- you ask your child if he ate a cookie and he replies, 'NO! I didn't eat a cookie right at this second' - That is entirely true. Half truths and dancing are in fact not factual. --------- This book is obviously politically motivated - no doubt. Smart people do not need such half truths called truths by an author who is not entirely honest. For example Under Bush, this big bad political machine leader who is committing crimes of all natures, is the same one who had more EPA closers and fines in his first two years in office than Clinton did in his entire eight years in office. It doesn't mention what much of what the author seemingly purposely omitted, (which is not really credible) for example Bush's ranch is one of the most ecologically sound properties in Texas - producing his own natural energy, recycling water, energy (in more than one fashion), etc. and has been doing so for decades. --------- It doesn't mention that Ted Kennedy owns five oil drilling sites in five states here in the US and charges the same amount of money as imported oil or that each site is on land swindled from Black American families.. or that his profits are in a Fiji bank - safe from taxes... (is that criminal?). No mention of the liberal fanatical spokeswomen, Barbara Striesand, (who is charged thousands again for yet another last concert - criminal), and her all out attack on wasteful use of energy is the same who has an air conditioning unit in her excitedly large barn or that she pays in excess of 20K for the watering of her grounds, (not recycled) --------- His corporate allegations are missing major components as well, like the factual evidences from his opposition. --------- All in all it is yet another deception that Americans do not need to read or believe in. Better to check out the individual facts of cases you are interested in, the government records that are online for energy, conservation business, oil etc., that contain factual information over the course of decades. There is no 'United' in United States with this type of author making sure that there is not. To say this is a book that both parties should read is very misleading, as if it would give some insight that would benefit both. It is a political bashing job, nothing more, nothing credible, nothing worth your read (unless you are one of the few who thrive on the attacking party fights and political discord)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Anti-American Rhetoric

    This book offers minimal contributions to the understanding of crime in America. The authors main objective is to bash Republicans rather than provide further knowledge into the complex world of white-collar/corporate crime. This book is opinionated, biased, and loutish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Legitimate reasons to buy this book

    Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.¿s book, Crimes Against Nature, is a highly respectable account of current environmental problems that are being ignored by the Bush administration. Although this is written from a notably Liberal standpoint, it has the capacity to be enjoyed by and teach a lesson to Republicans as well. It serves the general purpose of informing our society of many important and neglected issues that are affecting and therefore harming the environment. Through the aspects of content, organization, and word selection this book is a reputable choice for anyone who has an interest in our environment. The content and topics discussed in this book are serious, real, and somewhat complicated. The book covers a wide range from dealing with the U.S. Forest Service to many EPA issues. While Kennedy confronts the issues head on, he also explains them precisely. It seems that every abbreviated term is clarified and every major issue is supported with established credibility. The subjects are also presented in an approachable and understandable matter. For example, when trying to explain the importance and historical significance of our natural resources, Kennedy relates it to the Roman Empire (Kennedy 20). I also like how Kennedy compares and contrasts current problems to their origin. He makes note of the September 11th issue and the conditions with the Clean Air Act. The reflection made it easier to understand and relate to that horrific day, rather than just bringing up a random air sampling. The one problem I had with the content of this book was that the viewpoint was truly biased. Although it was expected and I agreed with it for the most part, Kennedy really only portrayed the Liberal view point. It did not criticize the Bush administration too bad to the point where that became the main focus of the book, so that was appreciated and made for more enjoyable reading. However, I suppose it may have been more controversial or interesting to hear two well described opinions. The next analysis is Kennedy¿s organization of his book. I found that the introduction and conclusion of this novel were legitimate, concise, and well covered. The introduction prepared the reader for what to expect. It made reference to topics that would be critiqued. Kennedy also made his point of view very clear and his intentions for this book. He stated that this book was written for a purpose and it is clear to see his point through out the writings. His conclusion was also essential to the book and well written. It was very conclusive in terms of summarizing many topics and opinions. He also gave light to a new generation, by giving hope to what America¿s environment could possibly become. I think another positive aspect of Kennedy¿s book is the well supported facts and statistics that are documented throughout the book. In fact, for almost every political organization or point that is made about an environmental issue, there is a statistic to back it up. The same compliment follows for the quotes. As to my knowledge, Kennedy seems to interview and cite notable and knowledgeable people who are well educated in their individual fields of study. It is also more credible, because all of the sources are easily located and documented at the end of the book. The only critical point I have about his organization of the book is the length. I feel that some of the information could have been easily condensed. The main part of the book lists many organizations that are followed with a reputable attack against Bush¿s environmental tactics. While all this information was somewhat beneficial and made a point, I find it questionable how much was essential. I feel that some of the information was a little repetitive and could have been left out, while still making the same strong point. My final aspect is the word selections within this book. As previously mentioned, this book touches on some deep and intellectually chall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    A Very Enlightening Book!

    While reading this book(and I am still reading it), I kept thinking how the people of the United States have been throroughly duped. Any person in the United States who truly cares about this wonderful country with its freedom and democracy, should read this treatise on the threat of the environment. This includes not only our cities and towns, but our beautiful national, state,and county parks. I have been recommending this book to all my friends because I am so disgusted with the condition and state of affairs of the leadership of the current administration. There is no pride nor glory to be taken in what is being done to this nation. These people have no conscience. I am ashamed to have them leading our country. Thank you Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. for extending my enlightment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Definite must read for anyone involved in politics or any American!

    This book opened up my eyes to so much that I never even thought about. I used to be pro Bush, but even before I read this book I was criticizing him on many issues, RFK jr. has tought me so much about protecting the enviornment, and how Bush's Administration was doing the opposite. Anyone who is suspicious should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Thank God for Bobby Kennedy

    This is such an informative book. Finally someone has the courage to stand up and tell the world the real story of what is happening with our environment and the Bush admin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    You Must Read this Book

    I Recomend that everyone read this book. It will totally open your eyes to George W. Bush and what he has not done for our environment. Robert F. Kennedy Jr. is one of the most passionate environmentalists of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Buy this book by the dozens - everyone you know needs to read it.

    Written so that we can truly see what's happening... I cannot imagine a better book to give a 'Blind Bushie'! If a person cannot see this Administration for what it is after this book -- there's truly no hope for them. This heavily documented book shows HOW perverse and dangerous this Bush II's Presidency is to the American Way of Life. Our land, water, air, economy, reputation, free trade and democracy are all being undermined. While the author initially concentrates on environmental issues, he then introduces the reader to how this Presidency is wrecking our Democracy and our country's defenses against terrorists. Not quite dispassionate (who can be with this subject?!), but very, very clear!! ...and very, very factual! He draws a strong picture of the deceit used to shove tons of money out to the very wealthy few at the expense of every taxpayer. As an added bonus, this book is written so that nearly ANY person (at different levels of intelligence) can pick it up and understand it. It's full of meat for the skeptic, but clearly written for the feeble. That's quite a feat and I'm in awe of Kennedy's ability to do it so consistently. Thank you -- I'm buying this book by the dozens to send out to the blind people that I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    Where is our democracy being taken?

    Americans - Republicans, Democrates and any other strip should read this horror story. Secrecy in government is not acceptable in a democracy. Another four years with W can be tragic. I voted for him once, but never again! This is an eye opening book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    One Of the Most Important Books Of Our Time

    If this book doesn't open your eyes, nothing will. It is absolutely shocking what is happening behind the scenes, the degradation by this Administration of our environmental protections created over the last thirty years. Do not wait, do not walk, run to the book store to get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Crimes against Nature -it opened my eyes !!

    Coming from Germany we had the same problem 30 years ago, only in a smaller scale. Since then Germany managed the enviromental problems pretty good, but that happened only through media and critical citizens. I live in the US now again 4 years and I was asking myself- why does nobody complain about the pollution in air, soil and water-and do something about it. Now I know. The best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1