Customer Reviews for

Criminal

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Karin Slaughter's books come very highly recommended.

I've read everything that Ms Slaughter has written and followed her 'Georgian family' of characters and wait impatiently for the July 2012 latest. Her characters have depth but are human with real emotions that every- one can relate to.

posted by 10600788 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I love Slaughter's Atlanta/Will Trent books, but the way she mak

I love Slaughter's Atlanta/Will Trent books, but the way she makes out women to be in the mid 1970s seems off. She portrays women and their relationships with men as more of a 1950s June Cleaver style. Was it really hard to for a woman in the post-free love era of the l...
I love Slaughter's Atlanta/Will Trent books, but the way she makes out women to be in the mid 1970s seems off. She portrays women and their relationships with men as more of a 1950s June Cleaver style. Was it really hard to for a woman in the post-free love era of the late 60s to get a prescription for the pill or get a credit card on her own? It also seemed odd that a working woman (Amanda) in her mid-20s with her own place and money would still be under her dad's thumb so much.

Also, did Kitty have some sort of Stockholm Syndrome thing going on with Hank? Did he literally keep her tied up? I wondered how Hank was connected to Jane. I know he wanted Ulster to get rid of Lucy and he used Kitty to have leverage with his boss, but I felt I missed something. Why does Slaughter frequently have warped 'Christians' as her bad guys?

posted by bassjules on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Karin Slaughter's books come very highly recommended.

    I've read everything that Ms Slaughter has written and followed her
    'Georgian family' of characters and wait impatiently for the July 2012
    latest.
    Her characters have depth but are human with real emotions that every-
    one can relate to.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    Very entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I love Slaughter's Atlanta/Will Trent books, but the way she mak

    I love Slaughter's Atlanta/Will Trent books, but the way she makes out women to be in the mid 1970s seems off. She portrays women and their relationships with men as more of a 1950s June Cleaver style. Was it really hard to for a woman in the post-free love era of the late 60s to get a prescription for the pill or get a credit card on her own? It also seemed odd that a working woman (Amanda) in her mid-20s with her own place and money would still be under her dad's thumb so much.

    Also, did Kitty have some sort of Stockholm Syndrome thing going on with Hank? Did he literally keep her tied up? I wondered how Hank was connected to Jane. I know he wanted Ulster to get rid of Lucy and he used Kitty to have leverage with his boss, but I felt I missed something. Why does Slaughter frequently have warped 'Christians' as her bad guys?

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Karin Slaughter. In particular I like the Wil

    I am a huge fan of Karin Slaughter. In particular I like the Will Trent series. However, this book was in my opinion awful. It has potential and in some ways was excellent. The hardest part for me was the flashbacks going to 1975. It would have been believable if it were supposed to be 1955. You kept picturing the Donna Reed / June Cleaver housewives instead of what the world was like by mid 70's. I also don't picture Amanda and Evelyn allowing men to treat them like that and then suddenly change and become the tough as nails no nonsense ladies they are. Just doesn't jibe for me.
    Also, I think the torture in this book was a bit over the top. I am not sure that it is even possible to do what supposedly was done to these victims.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was fortunate enough to win a copy of this on Goodreads before

    I was fortunate enough to win a copy of this on Goodreads before it came out. I LOVED this book , it has a little bit of everything in it. The way Karin writes is amazing. The characters were so believable. The story draws you right in. I couldn't put this book down. This is the first book I've read by her but I will most definitely be reading more. so happy to have found such a great author. You will love this book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    The quality of Karin Slaughter's Criminal stands out right from

    The quality of Karin Slaughter's Criminal stands out right from the opening chapter. It is intelligently and skillfully written with a power of description that bring out the scenes and plot in a vivid manner. She gave the readers this extra touch of revealing the characters through action. It brings to mind the story of Clement in Flash of the Sun. All in all, Criminal is a very enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    What a great book. I loved learning more about Will Trent andt A

    What a great book. I loved learning more about Will Trent andt Amanda Wagner. Women owe such a debt to the women who blazed the way in so many work places and the women who suffered at the hands of the old boys club of police departments should be sainted. The flashbacks to 1974 were fascinating. I think we all forget there was a time before DNA solved cases, forget how racist it was even 35 yrs ago, how certain parts of society were and still are considered throw away people. This story fills in so many blanks in the Will Trent series. So much fascinating background info. (So glad Sara is finding a life & love in Atlanta!) Even if this is your first book in the series you can easily jump in and I promise you...you will get hooked to the series. I couldn't put this book down. Had to finish it and it was one of Slaughter's best!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Amazing as always!

    She has done it again in this amazing account of how things came to be. Allowing us the reader to walk in Amanda and Evelyns footsteps as they change their future for not only themselves but for all women of their time. In addition to all that we see Will at his lowest. You can't help but feel his pain and torment as he struggles with all that is going on around him. His helplessness and agony are truely painful. Karin has a way of writing that is truely extraordinary! Thank you for creating such real characters, to love and want what's best for them is a true testament to your writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    Better than the reviews, a truly edge of your seat story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    I have read all Karin S.'s books and lov them all. BUT when Jef

    I have read all Karin S.'s books and lov them all. BUT when Jeffery was killed I was heart broke & felt I'd never read 1 of Karin's books in furture I liked as well as theones w/ Jeffery. Karin made me a tell a lie. When I finished Criminal [2 days] I looked @ my husband saying, 'that is the best book I have read in Years!' He read it 1st, when he finished I asked between 1-10 how good? He said 15. Karin is so great at her craft and cannot wait til I'm spending $$$ on her next book. I read @ least 1 book a week sometimes 2, so saying best I read in yrs. says alot. NOW WAITING ON LEE CHILDS NEW JACK REACHER novel!!!! Tom Cruise SOOOO not Jack Reacher. In my mind it is Timothy Olyphant Margie Estelle

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Just Exceptional!! Found out about Miss Slaughter while looking

    Just Exceptional!!
    Found out about Miss Slaughter while looking for something exceptional to read .. in a week I read 3 of her books, ending with Criminal just today. Not enough I could say about how great she is in her writing. I am a fan of Linda Fairstein. Now I am a fan of Miss Laughter too. Love her books the characters Ev and Amanda had me laughing while commuting in NY. Cant wait for her next one 2013.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    First time

    This is my first Karin Slaughter book, y'all, thanks to a friend's recommendation! Loved it from start to surprising finish!! I lived just outside of ATL in the 70's and was in my early 20's. Karin nailed the descriptions & brought back some good memories....even though she didn't mention the Sans Souci lounge or Alex Cooley's Electric Ballroom. :) So now I've got to go shop for another Slaughter book!! Thanks for a great read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Save your money-go to the library!

    It was just okay for me. Too much flip flopping back and forth from 1975 to present day. Hard to keep up with, not an easy read. She made women cops out to be scared to breathe in 1975-didn't really care for that. The characters weren't as likeable as they were in past books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I LOVED this book! I have read all of Ms. Slaughter's books and

    I LOVED this book! I have read all of Ms. Slaughter's books and every time I start a new one, I feel like I'm catching up on old friends. I love her style of writing and this one just took that one step further. I really enjoy Sara and Will Trent and this was great to get to find out more detail of Will's past to better understand him. The story is a suspensful one, I buzzed thru this book because I couldn't put it down. Can't wait for the next one....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Recommended

    Great read - haven't read this author before but it was a page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Fantastic. I could not put it down! A MUST READ!!

    Fantastic read! You will not be able to put it down until your done!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Karin Slaughter at her best!!! I've been an avid reader of Kar

    Karin Slaughter at her best!!!
    I've been an avid reader of Karin Slaughter novels for years. I'm constantly surprised at how she raises the bar with each of her novels. 'Criminal' was, in a word, outstanding. Slaughter weaves between past and present without making the reader feel confused or disoriented. The story line remains relevant no matter which character is the moment's focus. Prominent characters Sara Linton, Amanda Wagner and Will Trent are all well-developed in this and previous stories so you honestly care what happens to them. It will pull you in from the very beginning and keep you turning pages through to the very end. Ms. Slaughter has a knack for leaving me staring at the end of the book with my mouth open wishing there were just a few more pages. 'Criminal' was one of Karin Slaughters best novels; highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Fourth book not going in order.

    Yes the it was hard for women at this time, in the south nursing did not pay,physicians had a god complex and in the er black men got roughly handled as well as women by HW patrol for drunkeness and diabetes, small hospital saw a lot of that... not so white gentlemen. I was so young and spoke up too much skinny little white girl. Black nurses were rare. I can only imagine law enforcement. I like this woman and how she writes . I am slowing down and switching to lighter fare for awhile, too much truth and violence to be had underneath the fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Disappointing.

    I got to about the 200 page and I couldnt read any more. Most time I buy books i have to read them entirely but i cant pull myself to finish it. there are too many characters and too much back and forth between them. I had to go back to the beginning of the chapters multiple times so i could remember who they were talking about. i could tell the author was trying to build up to something because it was so boring and so much anticipation that just wasnt interesting. frankly, i dont care how this book ends because its not interesting at all. or close to thrilling or a mystery. I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ANOTHER EXCEPTIONAL READ BY KARIN SLAUGHTER!! I have been readi

    ANOTHER EXCEPTIONAL READ BY KARIN SLAUGHTER!!

    I have been reading this author's books for several years and she always leaves me desperately wanting more. I HATE that there is usually a year or better between books in this series!!! It makes me insane!!

    Anyway, about the book. If you have followed the characters in this series since before Will and Amanda entered the picture, you will be happy to see where Slaughter has made the relationship between Will and Sarah grow even more. I love that she has taken her time in developing this relationship over the last four books. It has been wonderful watching it grow. You can read this book without having read the others, but I recommend reading the others first so you can see how the characters have really evolved throughout this series. I also like very much (unlike some of the other people that have left negative comments) the element of going back and fourth from the past to the present to link two stories (another reason to read the other stories first). Slaughter does do a pretty good job of filling a reader in on past story lines, but it is always better to get the whole story line. Slaughter's books are not for the faint of heart. She is very graphic in her descriptions and does a fabulous job of making the story (though extreme) seem realistic. We hope that no one like her villain ever comes across our path, but I sure like to read her books with the lights on. Way to go Karin!!! Once again, I am now patiently waiting for the next installment. (By the way, LOVED the short story that just came out about Will and his job in the toilets -- HAHAHA!! Great way for anyone who hasn't followed the series to get an idea of just what kind of guy Will is).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10