Customer Reviews for

Criminal Minded

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs a part 2

i think that this book needs a part 2 find out what happens with lucky what happens with Zion and the case and if he or lamien flips on each other the missing witness

posted by 3072678 on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grimey not gritty

I don't get it. Did I read a different book than the other reviewers? This story was long and pointless. I have read other books by Tracy Brown; and, this was by far her worst effort. I'm really not feeling this trend with authors that refuse to have a happy ending. It ...
I don't get it. Did I read a different book than the other reviewers? This story was long and pointless. I have read other books by Tracy Brown; and, this was by far her worst effort. I'm really not feeling this trend with authors that refuse to have a happy ending. It doesn't make the tales more edgy or authentic to not do so. I get it life is tough but I read to escape and want my happy ending. I like believing that happy endings are possible even for those born with a bad hand.

Anyway, what was the point to this story? I'm not saying that there aren't people who say they love you who look for opportunities to hurt you out of jealousy, BUT, no one put Curtis in jail but Curtis. Lamin tried to prevent Curtis from facing his beef with Joshua alone. He visited Curtis in jail? He had Curtis' back when he was released from jail? Okay so you want to make him resent his cousin's success. Why not make him have an affair with Lucky or Dream? Let him be Jordan's biological father. How about making him steal Lamin's money from the safe and use it to become a major kingpin who has more financial success than Zion? Why not shoe the reader more of what Curtis went through while he was jail that turned him into someone that would betray his family?

Zion was loyal to his friend (Lamin) and gave him 100% even when it hurt him to do so. Why make Lamin turn his back on Zion in front of their employees? Zion is the man who took Lamin and TAUGHT him the drug game, killed for Lamin, gave him his cut when he was laying on his ass recuperating, a silent partner in his business, Olivia's man and father to Adiva, his best friend. All that was needed was a conversation to come to an understanding. That was just ridiculous.

The author should have showed more street action, not just say he was a drug dealer who became a kingpin. Why not see Zion and Lamin conduct business? Why not see Zion and Olivia conduct business?

Why did Papa die? I'm not saying people don't die; but why did he die before Nadia? What was the rationale?

Lucky was mad at Lamin for cheating on her; but, didn't she cheat on Jalil with Lamin? To not have them find each other again when their love was pure wasn't cool.

Lamin proposes to the other woman on the same day that he proposed to the love of his life. Who does that? His character was just inconsistent for me. In the beginning he was smarter than he was in the end. How could he not see Curtis brewing? How could he not know that Dream was a nightmare? How is he in the same industry and not hear that she was trifling, especially after their first conversation.

I just can't figure out what was the point. This story was a hard read; it just went on and on and on looking for a direction that it never found. There were missed opportunities for better outcomes and storylines. I definitely don't recommend this book. But Tracy Brown is so talented; I will not hesitate to buy her next books. This one just didn't do it for me. Skip it.

posted by INSULTED on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Grimey not gritty

    I don't get it. Did I read a different book than the other reviewers? This story was long and pointless. I have read other books by Tracy Brown; and, this was by far her worst effort. I'm really not feeling this trend with authors that refuse to have a happy ending. It doesn't make the tales more edgy or authentic to not do so. I get it life is tough but I read to escape and want my happy ending. I like believing that happy endings are possible even for those born with a bad hand.

    Anyway, what was the point to this story? I'm not saying that there aren't people who say they love you who look for opportunities to hurt you out of jealousy, BUT, no one put Curtis in jail but Curtis. Lamin tried to prevent Curtis from facing his beef with Joshua alone. He visited Curtis in jail? He had Curtis' back when he was released from jail? Okay so you want to make him resent his cousin's success. Why not make him have an affair with Lucky or Dream? Let him be Jordan's biological father. How about making him steal Lamin's money from the safe and use it to become a major kingpin who has more financial success than Zion? Why not shoe the reader more of what Curtis went through while he was jail that turned him into someone that would betray his family?

    Zion was loyal to his friend (Lamin) and gave him 100% even when it hurt him to do so. Why make Lamin turn his back on Zion in front of their employees? Zion is the man who took Lamin and TAUGHT him the drug game, killed for Lamin, gave him his cut when he was laying on his ass recuperating, a silent partner in his business, Olivia's man and father to Adiva, his best friend. All that was needed was a conversation to come to an understanding. That was just ridiculous.

    The author should have showed more street action, not just say he was a drug dealer who became a kingpin. Why not see Zion and Lamin conduct business? Why not see Zion and Olivia conduct business?

    Why did Papa die? I'm not saying people don't die; but why did he die before Nadia? What was the rationale?

    Lucky was mad at Lamin for cheating on her; but, didn't she cheat on Jalil with Lamin? To not have them find each other again when their love was pure wasn't cool.

    Lamin proposes to the other woman on the same day that he proposed to the love of his life. Who does that? His character was just inconsistent for me. In the beginning he was smarter than he was in the end. How could he not see Curtis brewing? How could he not know that Dream was a nightmare? How is he in the same industry and not hear that she was trifling, especially after their first conversation.

    I just can't figure out what was the point. This story was a hard read; it just went on and on and on looking for a direction that it never found. There were missed opportunities for better outcomes and storylines. I definitely don't recommend this book. But Tracy Brown is so talented; I will not hesitate to buy her next books. This one just didn't do it for me. Skip it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Needs a part 2

    i think that this book needs a part 2 find out what happens with lucky what happens with Zion and the case and if he or lamien flips on each other the missing witness

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Great Book

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Very good read

    I enjoyed this book. It was a quick read, which held my interest. A good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    one of the best books i've read

    this book is one of the best i read it a couple times and its one of the best books u have wroten u inspire me with ur words of writting love this book , keep the books comming :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Can you say page turner??????

    This book was excellent!! I love Tracy Brown's books....I'm hooked and I want more of Lucky and Lamin....I could not put this book down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    Your biggest fan

    a must read you will not be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    On Fire!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was the bomb. Loved every minute of it. Seriously a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Very well written and a really good story. Tracy Brown makes you really feel each character and you just get sucked into their lives. I never write reviews but I had to because I love this book so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Great Book

    This was an interesting book from the beginning till the end. I was glad Olivia finally was able to have a relationship w/Zion. It seemed as if he really cared for her. Lucky moved on w/her life and it was for the better. A great book filled w/drama and love as well as mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!

    This book is really good. The characters were different and a refreshing change from all those other book. I thought black was good, this book is even better, I can't wait for her next book. I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    One word( SERIOUS)

    This book to me is so unbelievable good. I could't put it down.I mean I was so touch by reading this book.I read a lot of books, but this was my first time reading one of tracy brown books.So now i have to get all of her books.She really gets down.This is a must read book, I'm telling ya'll now, ya better get it you won't regret it BELIEVE ME.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2