Customer Reviews for

Crimson Frost (Mythos Academy Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gwen Frost, is a Gypsy girl, that attends Mythos Academy. Crimso

    Gwen Frost, is a Gypsy girl, that attends Mythos Academy. Crimson Frost takes place right after Gwen accidently gives the power to Vivan (another Gypsy) the power to release Loki. Devastated by their failure but facing the future, life must go on... Until the Protectorate, the Parthenon’s police force, charges Gwen with releasing Loki and killing the students that where slaughtered by the Reapers (Loki’s minions). 

    In a blink of an eye Gwen becomes the most hated person at Mythos Academy, everyone has lost someone to the Reapers and to believe that Gwen is one of them causes all kinds of threats and attacks. Her core group of friends and the leading staff at Mythos knows the truth, but the persecution that Gwen endures is heart breaking. Can she prove her innocence before it’s too late? Will she ever be accepted back in with her peers? Will she have the strength to defeat Loki and the Reapers?

    I loved Crimson Frost! I stayed up into the wee-hours with this book because I did not put it down. I found Gwen and her friends marvelous, strong, brave and they still fought for the jerks who pretty ruthlessly tormented Gwen. I found myself so emotional attached to the characters, I cried… often. A must read! 5 Stars

    This ARC copy of Crimson Frost was given to me by Netgalley and Kensington Publishing Corp. in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date: December 24, 2012

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Caint wait

    Caint wait for it to come out im so excited for it i read the first 4 books and they were amazing!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Brillantly Written

    Hang on to your hats boys and girls, this one has alot of twist and turns. The story justs keeps getting better and better. I really appreciate the written artistry here. Gwen Frost's personality is well portrade from the story's perspective. The reader is allowed to really get inside Nike's Champion and witness the life of Gwen Frost's adventures. And likewise, each character is completly discribed thru the writtings. It's like watching a movie, you can see and pratically hear it all. I loved this story and am axiously awaiting for the next challange. A hero's work is never done?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    RE cant wait

    I know right!!!!i cant wait this long!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     In this fourth installment in the Mythos Academy Series we once

     In this fourth installment in the Mythos Academy Series we once again accompany Gwen Frost into the world at Mythos Academy.  If you aren't familiar with the series, Mythos Academy is a boarding school and college for the descendants of ancient warriors like Spartans, Valkyries, Romans, Vikings, Bogatyrs, and other magically gifted people, such as Gwen Frost, who is a Gypsy.  Basically, it is a school for warrior whiz kids.  Mythos Academy is located in North Carolina, Cypress Mountain to be exact, high above the city of Asheville.  The story is highly rooted in Greek Mythology with a modern day twist.  Gwen Frost is the main character, and as stated above, she is a Gypsy.  Gypsies are those who have been gifted with magic by the gods.  Gwen has been chosen by the Greek goddess, Nike, who is the goddess of victory, and Nike is where Gwen's magic comes from.  Gwen has the gift of psychometry magic, the ability to know an object's history just by touching it.  Gwen is also Nike's Champion.  A Champion is the one who a god or goddess chooses in the mortal realm to represent them, and act on their behalf.  Gwen's mom and grandmother were Nike's Champions before her.  As Nike's Champion, Gwen has been chosen to battle the Reapers, who serve the evil god Loki.  
    In the previous installment, the evil god Loki, who is the Norse god of chaos, had been freed, and Gwen finds herself being blamed for what happened.  After finally getting the guy she has crushed on forever, Logan Quinn, she now she finds herself unjustly accused of this heinous crime.  What is even worse is that everyone believes she did it, all but a few of her closest friends, who know the real truth.  With the help of Logan, her friends, some of her trusted instructors at the school, and eventually the new student who is assigned to protect her, they embark upon the quest to find out the truth behind what is going on and try to clear Gwen’s name, which isn’t an easy task, especially when you have a whole evil army against you. 




    Crimson Frost is filled with excitement, mystery, Greek mythology, kick-butt battle scenes, and yes, it even has some romance.  Gwen’s love interest, Logan Quinn, is a Spartan, and Spartans happen to be the fiercest of the warriors, and believe me, Logan is one hot warrior.  I was impressed with the way he stood up and fought for Gwen, especially since her main accuser is his father.  We also get to find out what is going on with all of Gwen’s old friends, and get to know Alexei, The Bogatyr who is her guard, and who also becomes a good friend to her.  The book is jam-packed with action.  There are some intense battles with the Reapers, and even Gwen’s arch nemesis.  There are twists and turns at ever corner that keep you guessing, and just when you think you have it figured out, the author takes you somewhere you weren't expecting.  I loved the story line, the pace was fast and kept your attention from beginning to end, and the characters are great.  I loved them, and I even loved to hate the evil ones.  The ending is intense, and leaves you looking forward to the next book in the series, which I can’t wait to read.  If you love Greek mythology and YA urban fantasy with some romance mixed in, then you are in for a treat with Crimson Frost.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've been pleased with this series for the most part. I like th

    I've been pleased with this series for the most part. I like the cast of characters, especially Gwen and Logan. But, sometimes it can get repetitive. This really was no exception to that, although it took a little bit of a different direction it seems like.

    Gwen's really gone through a lot in this series, but in this book she takes a beating. She's publicly humiliated and branded a traitor. Thankfully she knows her own worth and her friends never falter in their belief in her. But to become a social piranha is hard for anybody. When everyone moves their desk away from you in class or leaves nasty messages on your dorm-room door, it's hard to keep your chin up. But, she truly believes that there is no way they can find her guilty of what they are accusing her of. Until she discovers who is behind it. And the plot thickens.

    I was amazed that people in such high authority could made such bold accusations the way they did with so little to go on. With Gwen's story public knowledge long before our accuser shows up, I was surprised they bought it. It really bugged me. I was happy to see that Logan repeatedly stood up to his dad when it came to Gwen. Their relationship is so strange at times that I was afraid he would back down from him.

    I really loved the surprise accuser and the whole part with the asp. The ending was interesting as well. Logan's background makes so much sense now and it's extremely sad. Especially when the story ends the way it does. I get why he did what he did, but he needs to move on.

    I'm starting to wonder what direction this story is going to take. I see no real clear ending. I'm not sure how many books this series is planning on reaching, but I want to see something happen. I feel we are at that point in the series! I enjoyed the book of course and will continue on with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Valerie  Book provided by: NetGalley Review origina

    Reviewed by: Valerie 
    Book provided by: NetGalley
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    Oh, how happy I was while reading this book…but it didn’t last! I’ve been reading this series since it was first published and waiting for the main characters, Gwen and Logan, to get together and it finally happened..sort of.




    Gwen has been an interesting character from the very first book. As she matures and grows more and more comfortable with her role as Nike’s Champion, I find myself rooting for her to the point that I’m tense when she’s involved in a fight and I hurt when she hurts. The world building that Estep has created in so rich in details and her writing draws you in from the first page. Besides characters that you really care about, the pacing of the books is perfect and never lags. There is always something going on, either solving mysteries or fighting battles.




    Logan, hot spartan boy, defends Gwen when she is arrested, going so far as to rally her friends to protect her around the campus. I totally love Logan. He’s still warring with his feelings regarding his mom and sister’s death and his dad’s indifference to him yet he never stops trying to be a better person. After waiting for him to make the moves on Gwen in the last three books, I felt the tenderness of their romance and it was sweet.




    Then, I promptly had my heart ripped out which is exactly what the author intended. These characters are so loyal that they always do what is RIGHT to the hurting each other if it’s required. Sigh.




    Besides the main characters, Estep has also created secondary characters that you know and love such as Gwen’s steadfast friends, her Grandmother, her talking sword, Vic, and a playful wolfpup, Nyx.




    Warning: Mature references, fighting scenes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. Crimson Frost is my favorite book in the series, so far. Th

    Wow. Crimson Frost is my favorite book in the series, so far. This novel is action-packed and full of romance and nonstop suspense. I could not put it down! Gwen grew a ton as a character over the arc of this story, and some new characters (and mythological types) were introduced. This is one book that will not disappoint!

    Gwen was fantastic in this book. The poor girl can't catch a break, and this time she's facing the death penalty. Thankfully, she was much smarter in this book than she was the last one. She really stood on her own and took care of herself (and everyone else) in this installment. I really like how her character is progressing, and I can't wait to see how much stronger she gets in the next book. Logan was super sweet in this novel. I now love him even more, if that's possible. Daphne, Carson, Oliver, Grandma Frost, Vic, Metis, Nickamedes, and Coach Ajaxx were also great additions to the story, as usual. I also really liked the new characters we got introduced to... even the bad guys. They were interesting. No cookie-cutter characters from Estep, that's for sure. 

    Crimson Frost was fast-paced, but nothing felt rushed. The plot was extremely intense. The problems started within the first few pages and continued until the end of the novel. Some of the issues were solved during the course of the book, but others got added. It didn't really end on a cliffhanger, but the ending left an opening for Midnight Frost, which comes out in August of 2013 (I can't wait!). I would go into more detail here, but I don't want to spoil it for anyone. Let me just say that you will not be able to put this book down. 

    Overall, I'd recommend this series to anyone who loves YA mythology-inspired/supernatural books. For those of you who have already read the previous books in the series, you cannot miss this novel. It's the best one yet. I, personally, can't wait to see what Gwen and co. get into next. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Jennifer Estep's books are some of the best out there. I'm never

    Jennifer Estep's books are some of the best out there. I'm never disappointed in a single word that she writes. Crimson Frost is probably her most emotional roller coaster of this series. And if you are a reader like me, you'll definitely experience everything Gwen has to go through in this one and see how much Gwen has grown. I can't wait for the next and I pray the story will continue on with more books. When you fall in love with a story and its characters its hard to let them go. I'm so not ready. WTG, Jennifer! Keep up the awesomeness!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    OMG!!!

    Really Logan? I understand the situation but come on! TT.TT

    This book is a must read, throughtout the story I was on the edge of my seat. Frustration and anger plused through me during most of it but at the ending I was relieved yet sad. Jennifer Estep has done it again. Cant wait for Midnight Frost!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I spent the first half of this book in utter frustration. I was

    I spent the first half of this book in utter frustration. I was still a little bit ticked by the end of “Dark Frost” and the new events that Gwen is thrown into in “Crimson Frost,” made me seethe. In the midst of her long over due fist date with her Spartan warrior and hero of a boyfriend Logan, Gwen is arrested. The first half of this book reads like a Salem witch trial. The adults and students are basically yelling “witch!” at Gwen and blaming her for Loki’s escape.

    The charges against Gwen are pretty much the worst charges that can be brought against a member of the Pantheon. She’s basically charged with treason and called a Reaper. The students of Mythos and even some of the professors turn against her and she becomes worse than the “gypsy girl,” she is now the face of every Reaper who killed a family member or friend of the kids at Mythos. A good chunk of this book is pretty bleak as the threat of execution hangs over Gwen’s head.

    I really enjoyed the fact that the characters seem to have matured. Daphne, Carson, Oliver and Logan stand beside Gwen through out her trial. They refuse to let the other students attack her and they never doubt her innocence for a moment. Even when it becomes clear that her allies will be placed under suspicion, her gang of warriors stay strong at her side. These kids have been through a lot together and it is great that Estep uses that to her advantage. They’re still teenagers and have teenage angst, but they know when to put that aside and they are capable of deciding which battles are worth fighting.

    Logan and Gwen finally acknowledge their relationship and are determined to try. There are obstacles, big and strong, thrown at them in this book, but at this point it is clear that these two are meant to be. I really hope that they can get to a place where Logan and Gwen can be constant. They have proven that they will stand together in a crisis; it’s time to see them together in every situation. I was glad not to hate Logan at all this book. He’s finally decided to become a grown up in his relationship with Gwen. I was relieved to see that his childish behavior did not continue into this installment.

    I found the climatic scene in “Dark Frost” to be absolutely ridiculous. I opened “Crimson Frost,” expecting the worst and was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this book. Loki and the Reapers are finally developing into truly twisted and over zealous villains. The first few books were small time and now we’re finally meeting the true forces behind Loki’s army. I found the Reaper’s plans to be horrifying, horrible and awful. The idea of Loki’s transformation is very interesting and if the Reapers succeed it will be catastrophic for Gwen and the good guys. I’m glad that the Reapers have proven to be formidable. In the first three installments, I thought they were lucky, because they had the element of surprise. The pantheon was expecting them and still it’s surprising the steps they take and what their goals are.

    I am excited to see what else will happen with Gwen. In earlier books we learn that she is destined to kill Loki. Gwen has achieved and survived so much, it still seems impossible that she could be strong enough to defeat the god of chaos. I am really excited to see where this stories leads and experiencing Gwen grow into the killer of gods.

    Recommended for fans of Mythos Academy. Everyone else should read the first few books beginning with “Touch of Frost.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Love this series! Can't wait until next week!

    Love this series! Can't wait until next week!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    Gwen Frost was given the job of taking down Loki.  Things got mi

    Gwen Frost was given the job of taking down Loki.  Things got mixed up though when Loki was let go.  Everyone thought Gwen did it.  She was trying to prove her innocence when more problems arose.  Being arrested and held for trial, Gwen wasn't sure what else could go wrong.  The students at Mythos made every day difficult for Gwen. Her friends however, stood beside her all the way. Gwen's goal was to find the person who let Loki out. With some help, she knows she can do this.




        Fantastic! This book is truly a great fantasy.  I love that it includes Gods and Goddesses, as well as other typical fantasy things.  I was highly impressed with the Beyond the Story part.  It tied everything together and let you know where they were heading. Well written and characters you'll enjoy from the beginning. This is one you need to read.




        I found no issues.




         I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it grabs you from page one.  Copy given by the author for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Bramblefall

    She puts her whole weight on him, holding him down. "BloodClan will be feared." She pulled him to MidSummer Night result 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Mintfur

    Or fangpaw? So whats this herb? Pushe it toward. They were small and black

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Froststar

    Ok thanks she said and licks his ear and padds away to the camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Mythos series

    Enjoy the subject matter but the author is much too repetitive in each book segue. Becomes boring to read the same descriptions of characters from book to book. Only giving 3 stars because of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Randall

    Wts for Emma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review I read the last b

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review
    I read the last book Dark Frost and was excited when I was sent the fourth book in this series, Crimson Frost. First off, the covers for this series are very cool and definitely make you want to read them. In this book, Gwen is accused of killing a bunch of people, but she is innocent. However, nobody believes her and everyone at school is bullying her. Even her protector, Alexei, is standing around letting it happen. Logan, her Spartan boyfriend, seems to be the only who cares, besides the grumpy librarian, Nickamedes, who wrote the report saying Gwen was innocent.
    “’I have a name,’ I snapped. ‘It’s Gwen, Gwen Frost. Obviously, you know it since you announces it to the whole coffee shop.’”
    There is so much action in this book with Gwen, Logan, Oliver, and Daphne back in action, using their special gifts to save Gwen from being blamed for something she didn’t do. This book was so exciting with constant action and drama that it was hard to stop reading. It’s hard to not like Gwen and feel sorry for her at the same time. Finally, anyone who can talk to statues and have them respond back is pretty cool.
    This book was provided in exchange for an honest review*
    *You can view the original review at City Book Review and Musing With Crayolakym

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Mike

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5