Customer Reviews for

The Crimson Petal and the White

Average Rating 4
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I loved this book. I would read it again.

posted by ImmortalBeloved on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What happened?

I couldn't put this book down -- it captivated me from the beginning through all 833 pages. The descriptions of Victorian London were mesmerizing, and the descriptions of the characters beautifully drawn. I grew to love some of the people, dislike some of the others, ...
I couldn't put this book down -- it captivated me from the beginning through all 833 pages. The descriptions of Victorian London were mesmerizing, and the descriptions of the characters beautifully drawn. I grew to love some of the people, dislike some of the others, and really care what happened to them. Then suddenly -- poof! It's over, and I feel like I've been cheated. I have no idea what happened to anyone. There really was no ending.

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    What happened?

    I couldn't put this book down -- it captivated me from the beginning through all 833 pages. The descriptions of Victorian London were mesmerizing, and the descriptions of the characters beautifully drawn. I grew to love some of the people, dislike some of the others, and really care what happened to them. Then suddenly -- poof! It's over, and I feel like I've been cheated. I have no idea what happened to anyone. There really was no ending.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    a dissapointing end

    the book started out very interesting, but i got bogged down after 400 pages. i kept reading simply because i wanted to find out whether Sugar published her book or not. the plot became sketchy midway thru. the begining was great as he presents the story written in the 3rd party. this book all goes to show ,I could have written and been on the bestseller list.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Keeps going and going... and then???

    This book is 830 pages long. It is full of impressive language and descriptions, which give the author potential to be classic. I don't believe that Mr. Faber is as good writer as he thinks himself to be, or as well as reviewers believe him to be. I've never read Charles Dickens, but Faber has been compared to Dickens in several reviews, and I can safely say that if I tried to read Dickens, would be agony if he really is anything like Faber. The language pumps the reader up with anticipation for an extraordinary story, but fails miserably to deliver anything but disappointment and the feeling of being cheated when the last page is read. Cheated out of time, and possibly money if the reader purchased the book. The characters are deep, though at times extremely peculiar human beings. Faber did a good job in developing the characters, I can say that much in his defense, but he certainly didn't set up a very good story to correspond with the deep characters and their development(s). It seems to me that Faber did a lot of research and paid great attention to detail in the process of writing this colossal book (colossal in size and effort only), but unfortunately couldn't create a story to make its size necessary. The least he could've done was give the reader the satisfaction of an ending; even if it was an open-ended one. He is definitely unique in that he believes an ending is unnecessary for stories. If you have hours and weeks to spare of your time, read this book, for the language is impressive as I mentioned before, and the characters are worth knowing. But if it's plot and the satisfaction of an ending you're looking for... move onto the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    Lukewarm read

    This opus is set in Victorian England and is awash with a sundry of dramatic elements which make a book of this caliber a very interesting read. However, Faber's drawn out albeit vivid description is overwhelming--leaving the reader to be inundated by a sea of carelessly strewn adjectives. The ending also leaves something to be desired, it ends abruptly leaving the reader to wonder at the fate of the characters Faber has taken so long to create. In summation, Faber's book is nothing short of compelling in the way which he intricately weaves the lives of his vivid characters. However, for those who wish to see a plot unravel at a more quickened place, alas, this novel is not for you! In short, A worthy effort by a modern day Charles Dickens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    unanswered questions

    I have mixed feelings about this book. Although I looked forward to taking time away from everyday life to read this book and thought about it a lot after reading it, it left me with so many unanswered questions... What happened to Agnes? I was waiting to hear what Sugar told her to do and the author kept teasing me that she may still be alive. Where can a prostitue turned governess, who has no references and is at large, hide in Victorian London with the privliged little girl she abducted? Is she planning to raise her by herself with the leftover money she aquired from Mr. Rackham? Why the need to have such detailed descripions of Henry Rackham Jr.(who rather bored me) when his character, I found, was not very important to the story? Even though the end disappointed me (I was almost angry by it), I still enjoyed the book. Maybe the person penning the movie will think up of a more creative ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    Good Book but not for everyone

    It took a while to get into this book, but after the first 100 pages or so the characters started becoming real to me. It is astonishing how women were treated back then. I read a lot and recommend books to my friends but this one is not a simple read. Almost 900 pages and it took a week to finish but I was determined. The ending could have been a lot better, but you come to your own conclusion as to how everyone ends up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Terrible ending

    The book was excellent up until the last page. What a disappointment! You get so involved in the different characters, then eight-hundred some odd pages later, it just ends. I feel as if the storie is unfinished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    A Real Page-Turner But Ultimately Disappointing

    Although I was hooked on this book from the very first page and found Mr. Faber's device of speaking directly to the reader, delightful, I felt, nonetheless, somewhat cheated by the ending. What happens to the central characters? Too much is left to the imagination. Surely some hints could have been provided.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    3/4 of this book is wonderful

    About 3/4's of the way through this novel, there is a major shift in the focus of the main character and the demise of a major character. At this point, MY focus was lost. Although the book was finished, it was with great disappointment that it was found there is no 'end' to the story. A sequel is all that can be expected to tie-up all the loose strings and, seeing that this novel took twenty years to write, that anticipated sequel may be too long a wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Disappointing ending

    The wring is superb, but he didn't finish the story. I was disappointed. Overall the writing reminded me of Nathaniel West.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    A surprisingly good read

    I bought this book for no reason other than that it sounded as though it could be worth reading and I was not disappointed. The research must have been sound - so many details that could have been manipulated to end in a "hum hah", predictable novel but did not. . . . . . particularly the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Unexpected Ending

    Very talented writer - provides a liberal education - will keep this as a reference book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    tries to hard

    the narration is hard to follow at 1st and often distract you in the begining and once you catch up its to far gone to fully find the true genius in work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    long winded

    I bought this book based on reader review, I must have missed something.The story itself was good,as well as the characters, but it seemed monotonous and long winded. I would suggest reading a few pages in the bookstore before buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Dickens? I think not.

    I am not sorry I read it. I am sorry about bodily fluids, orifices and repetitive chamber pot exercises. Enough is enough. The characters were well developed, the scenes realitistic and vivid, the end was abrupt, predictable and rather lame. If you want a description of an arrogant, cruel, selfish and self-serving male, this is the book to read. If you want less 'potty mouth' and descriptions of Victorian prostitution, read 'Slammerkin' and the 'Dress Lodger' both are well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    The writing is skillful

    Shabby and glum, this book takes you to the old days and old ways of London, 19th century. The writing is skillful, the story line more than acceptable, but the seediness is ruesome and soon becomes the crux rather than the story itself. We'll give 'em 3 stars for authorship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2