Customer Reviews for

The Crimson Sword

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    I read epic fantasy to be entertained. this was 4 star entertain

    I read epic fantasy to be entertained. this was 4 star entertainmant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Wow

    This author reels you in with descriptions that make you feel like you're a part of his world then keeps your pulse up with action that just won't stop. This book is a thrill ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good reading

    I like this book though the author portraits elves as cannibals. I love Tolkien elves and I can't see then as low as he portrait them in this book.<BR/>But overall it was a very entertaining book. The story was well done and easy to follow. I like the personality of the characters and the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    A Must Read

    Eldon is a refreshing new voice in fantasy who weaves a very gripping tale. His talent for description puts the reader right alongside the compelling characters. If you like Salvatore and Jordan and are looking for a story that will not only have you turning pages long into the night, but MOVE you, then this is a must read. It should be on everyone's bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Impossible to get into

    I have tried three times now to start this book. I simply canNOT get into it. I purchased it because Terry Brooks (I guess) read it and gave it a decent review. But seriously now, did he really read it? Also, was his review supposed to make his fans happy or for this particular upstart author? I know that it is difficult for authors to get a toehold in this business, but my advice, begin a book with a chapter that really captivates the reader, and sucks them in, so that by the time they get to the *yawn* parts, it is still fresh in their memory, and keeps them intrigued, and ready to go through anything to get to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Brilliant!

    The Crimson Sword was simply amazing. I was able to finish this book quite quickly, It was simply too difficult to put the book down. Though the first chapter starts out fairly slow, I urge you to read this book. It is worth it! The characters captured my heart. I would re-read this book any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    An Excellent Debut Novel!!!

    Nothing but praise for Eldon Thompson's debut 'The Crimson Sword'. It is an excellent book with intriguing plot-lines and characters. It was so good that I couldn't put it down until I had finished it. Without a doubt, Eldon will emerge as one of the top fantasy authors if he keeps up the good work. With characters like Jarom(A.K.A. Torin) and the evil and devious Shadow I promise that you will like this book(IF you have ANY brains at all).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    VERY good book. =)

    I read this some time ago, and my opinion has continually been that this is an awesome book. I would HIGHLY recommend it -- Eldon is an awesome writer, and I hope his success equals his ability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    Crimson Sword

    After an evil king is killed, his long lost heir is catapulted into destiny. Jarom never knew he was a prince, but once he learn that fact, he finds himself on a quest to recover a magical sword that will keep the Queen of Demons from replacing the Age of Man with the Age of Demons. With intrepid companions to help him, the prince fights all manner of evil and monsters to save his world, claim his throne and win his true love. The author uses all the classic imagery that hallmarks this particular genre. Description on a grand scale and able writing almost make up for the shallow characterization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Appealing fantasy

    The island continent of Pentania, in the kingdom of Alson is ruled by King Sorl, a man steeped in debauchery and without a care for his subjects. One day the king is found dead; his son who he had banished for trying to kill him before succeeded this time and has become the new monarch. The new king is also a wizard allied with the forces of darkness............................ The queen travels to the village of Diln and informs Jarom that he is the son she gave up at birth to protect him and let him grow up as a man worthy to rule. When she returns to the castle, the wizard kills her while Jarom and his friend Allion seek help; on the trek, they encounter an Entient (an avatar of the gods who watches out for and guides humanity) who drops a book and before their eyes the writing disappears. Jarome sees a map where THE CRIMSON SWORD is located beneath the buried Elven city. He finds it and becomes the rallying point of those who oppose the Demon Queen who wants to destroy mankind. Jarom fights her minions and her dragon spawn who also wants to see the end of man on earth...................... Although this is book one of the Legend of Asahiel trilogy, it is a stand alone epic fantasy that leaves the audience feeling as if they have completed a thrilling journey. Most if not all the threads are woven together into a colorful tapestry that make up THE CRIMSON SWORD. The characters are well developed and the quest they undertake compares favorably to The Lord of the Rings (can Peter Jackson be far behind?). ....................... Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1