BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crimson Wind (Horngate Witches Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Sooooooo good!

    I love Max and was rooting for her throughout the entire novel. The sexual tension between her &Alexander was palpable & adds to the overall sense of urgency that rides through the entire installment. The cliffhanger ending was a sweet bit of torture. Makes me glad I have the next book to dive right into! I look forward to Max's next adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book! Excellent World Building!

    Crimson Wind is Diana Pharaoh Francis' book revolving around the character of Max, Shadowblade Prime for the Horngate Witches. If you have not yet read Bitter Night, most of what you need to know about the Shadowblades and Sunspears you'll pick up quickly enough - but you should definitely start the series in order. This book revolves around a war started in the climax of Bitter Night where a group of near-omnipotent divine beings are attempting to bring magic back to the world in full force. An act that would leave most of the humans on the planet dead or at the whim of the magical beings - that includes Max's family who have thought she had been murdered and was dead for the last thirty years.

    Bitter Night showed us how the Shadowblades and Sunspears worked. It explained how the witches would make them and what limitations a standard witch guard had. It also introduced us to Max, Giselle (her witch and former college roommate) and a variety of other magically inclined people that were locked in a dysfunctional set of relationships that would put the day time television of the 90's to shame. Seriously, if you thought your family reunions were uncomfortable.

    This second book takes us along with Max as she lets down the guard she has had up for 30 years and allows herself to see the people she is fiercely loyal to for what they are - her family. The whole ride with her is mixed with battles of nearly impossible odds, prophesies that nobody wants to see come true, the starting of an apocalypse and some amazing world building. Seriously, I may never look at a mountain range the same way again.

    A fast read full of excitement, action and sexual tension this is another example of the urban fantasy I love to read. Characters are powerful, but not all powerful and can be knocked for a loop by the simplest of things, like a reunion with a family they thought was lost - or one they didn't know was there. I hate to start my reviews here setting the bar too high, but I would rank this one within the four and a half to five star range. Worth the money and time so much that I even bought a spare and gave it away as a holiday present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due

    This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

    My Initial Reaction...
    Bitter Night was so refreshingly different and yet I was still shocked by how unique a plot Francis managed to weave inCrimson Wind. I was forced to put this book down by restraints like sleep, eating, and work - but I really didn't want to! Needless to say a must-read!

    The Characters...
    I continue to love Max. She's such a complex character, full of anger and so tough - yet somehow vulnerable and loving. In Crimson Wind she has a lot to deal with and somehow she's still trying to save everyone! And I mean everyone - every complete stranger, totally clueless about what's happening that she comes across is lucky to have met Max, because she just can't leave them to die. She has a huge heart despite being a hard-ass, and it just makes her so lovable.

    I, unlike most the people around him, have no doubts about Alexander. He's such a great character - clearly very loyal to those he cares about and tough as hell. He's also so stubborn - perhaps too much, I know I wanted to shake him a couple times! But I guess you don't get to being a Shadowblade prime without being stubborn and least that relates to a stubborn determination to stand by Max, no matter what. I loved seeing their relationship develop in Crimson Wind - they're on a road trip for most of it, so there's a lot of development - but since disaster keeps striking at it seems to do around Max, it doesn't progress as far as I (and they) would have liked. Next book hopefully!

    There's not a lot of interaction with the characters we met inBitter Night, but we meet a lot of new characters and it seems we're going to see a good deal of them in future books. I'm really excited for what all these new people will mean as the story progresses.

    The Story...
    Crimson Wind picks up just a little after the end of Bitter Night, with the Coven trying to recover from the attacks that left them barely standing.  Not to mention that tensions are high and the new additions are receiving mixed reviews from the coven, except Alexander. His reviews are unanimous distrust, since he alone hasn't been added to the coven and he alone could challenge the beloved Max for Prime. And Max has her debt to Scooter looming in her dreams, quite literally and painfully. Facing what he wants from her starts the countdown clock as Max races to save the lives of those she loves and a few others she's never met as the Guardians amp up their attacks.

    Overall a really great, exciting, and unexpected plot. It's heavy on the fantasy and action elements, and perhaps seems even more so because so much of the fantasy elements are ones I've never read before. Although definitely not a romantic or erotic book, the relationship between Max and Alexander continues to develop and delight with sexual tension ready to burst at the seams.

    Concluding Sentiments...
    Even better than Bitter Night, which isn't an easy feat. Crimson Wind leaves you hanging at the end and desperate for the next. (I finished at 2am and immediately started the next one even though I was way past my bed time). I'd recommend having the next book handy before you reach the end of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book

    I love this book if u love sassy, respected main character this is the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Russet

    Russet, the fox, walks in and sniffs arouns. She smells cats and heds towrd the scent.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Training hollow

    Training hollow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Loved+it.+Didn%27t+like+the+way+it+ended+though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Crimson Wind

    I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Bitter Night) prior to reading this installment.

    The title of this book could not have been more perfect. The story starts off at an accelerated pace, however, it did take a little bit before all the scenes coalesced into one electrifying picture.

    Max is not your usual heroine; she is fierce and deadly right to her core. She is tough and wicked, but is also selfless and protective of those weaker than herself. And she certainly believes in paying-it-forward.

    The world building depictions were illustrated in such magnificent detail, that It was easy to imagine the wild and vibrant colors of magic. The flow of the story was well written and moved fluidly, never feeling rushed; and the story is packed full of hot delicious sexual tension.

    As exaggerated as this sounds, this book was so compellingly, I was completely consumed by it and hardly ever put it down. I really enjoyed traveling along with Max on her twisted-adventurous mission and was actually sad when the story ended.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy fans and also look forward to reading the next book Shadow City due out late 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting urban (and mountainous) fantasy

    The Guardians of the Earth declare war on humanity. Witches are warned that neutrality is unacceptable as you are with them or the enemy. Giselle is the witch who enslaved Max years ago by turning her into her personal Shadowblade. They reach a tense agreement in these troubled times. As part of that deal, Giselle gives bitter Max permission to bring her human family to Horngate so they can remain safe from the Guardians. Max has not seen her family in three decades ever since Giselle enslaved her.

    Max knows the trek to her family will be dangerous. Her new Shadowblade ally Alexander has her back, but that may not be enough as he offers much more and she wants what he covets. However besides the Guardians stalking enemies, Giselle sold her rights to Max's life to the powerful Scooter, who impatiently demands she come to him immediately.

    The second Horngate Witches urban (and mountainous) fantasy (see Bitter Night) is an exciting thriller as Max remains raging with fury towards Giselle who betrayed her friendship years ago, but for the sake of Horngate and her family, knows she must set aside her acrimony. Danger seems everywhere as the Guardians release the forces of nature. With an incredible ending to an action-packed tale, readers will clamor for the third book in Diana Pharaoh Francis' excellent epic saga.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4